Customer Reviews for

NOOK HD+ Tablet Slate 32GB

Average Rating 4
( 1452 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(795)

4 Star

(247)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(105)

1 Star

(193)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1085 out of 1114 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+! The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, an...
I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, and it's one of the lightest 'tablets' on the market. But one thing needs to be clear, the Nook HD+ is an e-reader FIRST, tablet second, and it behaves that way. If you are purchasing this device expecting a full-featured Android OS, look elsewhere.

Lack of apps seems to be a major concern with some buyers, which isn't something that I've been bothered with since I'm not a huge app user. Angry Birds, Evernote, Hulu Plus and Open Explorer are my apps of choice, but it all depends on what YOU plan on using this device for. I can access my e-mail easily and the stock web browser does its job. Don't like the browser? No problem, hit up the app store and get the Dolphin browser or any of the countless other options available.

The Nook HD+ really shines for a few reasons. It's one of the only devices in its class with expandable memory, and due to its 'Retina-like' display, the screen is really super-sharp and the colors pop, perfect for, well, reading. Another reason is customer service. Because Barnes & Noble has actual brick and mortar stores, if you are having problems with your Nook, you don't have to call a customer service number, you can bring your device to your local Barnes & Noble and a Nook specialist is always on staff to help. Also, since it's one of the lightest devices in its class, it's easy and comfortable to hold with one hand. And while some people may say the build (specifically the back of the device) is 'plastic-ey', I find it stylish, plus it keeps it light and separates it from the endless black rectangles that now flood the tablet market.

I'm very happy with my Nook HD+, and those little extra features like being able to take it into a B&N store and be able to read ANY book for free on the device (even items that they don't actually have in stock) is a cool plus. I recommend it for any avid reader who wants a bit of color!

posted by KrissyD on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

423 out of 607 people found this review helpful.

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organ...
I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organize your stuff. Well, you can CREATE them, but the Nook doesn't DISPLAY them. This has been problem for a while and they still haven't fixed it. ?!?!?!?!?

They also advertise the HD+ as being GREAT FOR FAMILIES because you can set up different users. So your spouse or kids can have their own accounts and their own books. I thought this would help because of the no-folders thing. Well, my daughter wanted an original Nancy Drew book (#8 in the series). Fine. But it didn't appear search results when we searched in her account. But it DID show up when we searched on my account. ?? Someone flagged most of the older Nancy Drew books as being adult content. Okay, fine. I removed the "kids only" restriction in her account. It STILL didn't appear in the search results. I called the store. They told me to just make an adult account for her. Err. This kind of defeats the purpose of setting up an account that will suggest the kinds of books she likes to read. Not to mention if she's an "adult" they can collect all her information aggressively.

And when I read the ten-page privacy policy, it said that they collect information on kids under 13, "so you should tell your kids not to write anything personally identifiable if they're using our online apps." Eek!

And don't even get me started on some ebooks being more expensive than actual books.

posted by 16676992 on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Purchased one  at 229.00 and 8 days later went on sale huge savi

    Purchased one  at 229.00 and 8 days later went on sale huge saving and  no returns after you
    HAve opened sucks I could have got the top one for 179.00.  

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    It was MUCH better before B&N put all that Google junk on it

    It was MUCH better before B&N put all that Google junk on it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I really like the hardware of the Nook HD+. It is a nice weight

    I really like the hardware of the Nook HD+. It is a nice weight and feel for the size, and the screen is nice.
    However, the OS out-of-the-box is pretty jittery. Its nowhere nearly as smooth as Jellybean on my Nexus 4 phone. Its great that they now allow Google Play and everything, but I really hope that they get an official Jellybean 4.2 update for the HD+ so that we get some of that Project Butter love. It would really make the experience so much nicer.
    At least there is the option of using Cyanogenmod, even if it voids the warranty. I'd think it'd be in B&N's interest to release an official version, though, to keep us in the B&N and Nook ecosystem.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    I can't say that I'm happy that I chose the Nook HD+ over an iPa

    I can't say that I'm happy that I chose the Nook HD+ over an iPad. I was very excited about all the hoopla that was being touted over this device, but quickly realized it was nothing more than a larger NookCoor with better resolution. While the most recent 2.1.0 update Was made and now includes Google Chrome and Google Play, one great feature went away...the ability to view flash Supported content. What a let down. Sure the screen is now far responsive. And sure the apps now seem to be endless. But what good is a device when you really can't view the web like you really ought too? For that I would've gone with the iPad.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Is the nook HD (future) going to have a camera? That's the only

    Is the nook HD (future) going to have a camera? That's the only reason why I haven't gotten one yet. But looking at the Ipad

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    USE CAUTION when doing business with Barnes and Noble...they DO

    USE CAUTION when doing business with Barnes and Noble...they DO NOT stand behind their products....their customer service is extremely unprofessional. My Husband bought me a Nook color 23 months ago...bought the extended 2 year warranty...the charger went out...should be covered under the warranty...Barnes and Noble cannot find my information, nor will they supply the receipt of the purchase from 5/7/2011. I will NEVER, EVER, EVER by a high dollar product from this company again - I knew I should have got a Kindle!!! Who loses your warranty! There certainly took the $47 for it!! How convenient. The Nook is wonderful...the company....not so much

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    . If you are a teen wanting the brand new HD+ Nook i recommend n

    . If you are a teen wanting the brand new HD+ Nook i recommend not getting this item. This item is meant for kids and parents. If you are not aloud to have a web browser like me then you are forced into making a kids account. Being a kid makes it so you have books from ages ten andunder everything in the store will be for kids. Just because you are not alowwed to have a web browser. I called Barnes and Noble to address this problem and they were very nica about it but the problem is still the same. They made a kid profile and an adult. So if you happen to be a teen thats not alowwed to have a web browser then this is not the nook for you.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    I love the Nook HD+. However, it stopped working after 14 months

    I love the Nook HD+. However, it stopped working after 14 months. Two months past warranty and B&N couldn't help me. I am still working with it trying to get it to work. I'm not giving up. I do recommend this to the customers. It is a wonderful reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    The screen and resolution is great. However, it is not user fri

    The screen and resolution is great. However, it is not user friendly - especially for a left handed person. I am constantly hitting the arrow at the left bottom and losing everything. It is hard to play a game in the car as it is too sensitive to the car movement and won't respond consistently. Not as easy to use as my previous Nook - really disapponted in this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    My son's Nook HD shut down during use. We charged it for severa

    My son's Nook HD shut down during use. We charged it for several days & it would not turn on. We researched trouble shooting suggestions on the web, all of which did not work. I then resorted to calling B&N. Unfortunately I did not have the serial # on first call to them so had to speak to two different representatives regarding the issue. I tried troubleshooting advice the first rep. gave me to no avail,hence the need for the serial number. Bottom line, I am getting the Nook HD replaced!!! Yaay to B&N for that. Issues: customer service. Both reps could use more training on customer service skills. They handled the situation. Period. The first one sounded like she was not fully awake or maybe had been out late last night. The second rep. sounded like he just needed the biggest cup of coffee in the world! Yes, my Nook HD is being replaced. I am happy for that. Do I feel like I am a valued customer according to the two reps I spoke to? No, I feel like I was an inconvenience into their day. B&N, more Customer Service training please.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    i would give it a five star but there are a few things that nook

    i would give it a five star but there are a few things that nook hd plus dont have that my nook color has
    u can not watch movies or live TV if it needs adobe flash
    there is no flash 11.2 in Google play like one person clams,
     there is on my nook color i could watch TV and videos that required adobe flash  easy,and in the user manual
     it say'es up to 10 hours of batter life for reading books i have tried it with wif disabled and enabled
    disabled the best u get is 2 hours enabled wif it will last less then an hour
    of course that is what they claimed with my nook color to and it didn't last no longer then an hour with wif disabled
    so i guess when i bought the nook hd + i got an extra houre of battery life i just wish they would not lie about the battery life
    it is still a a good tablet hopefully in an version updat they will fix the issue about no adobe flash player
    i have had my nook color that my son bought me for mothers day 7 years ago and it is still going strong
    i just hope the nook hd + last as long as my nook color
       

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    I think it's good for magazines because half the time I don't en

    I think it's good for magazines because half the time I don't end up reading them, so this is cheaper. I like it for reference books, such as dictionaries, but I prefer to hold a book in my hand than my nook. I prefer the look and feel of paper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    My wife and I bought this for our 11 year old son.  At first, th

    My wife and I bought this for our 11 year old son.  At first, the Nook HD+ was the best tablet he had right out the box.  His only drawback from other devices is the the battery life which doesn't last long and at times he can't play with it while its charging.  

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I love my Nook HD+ (32gb) but would LOVE to know what B&N is

    I love my Nook HD+ (32gb) but would LOVE to know what B&N is going to do to keep it up to date.  
    Will they be releasing future Android update or not.  If not I can't recommend purchase; support for 
    the product is part of the purchase; it they are not going to future releases then it  would be better to
    purchase a Nexus or Fire HD.  I think the Nook has a better screen is fells better in the hand then
    either the Nexus or Fire), but they are likely to be better supported in the future.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I enjoy my nook hd+. It is great for magazines. The help guides

    I enjoy my nook hd+. It is great for magazines. The help guides not all that great for the set up. The in-store help at least where I live was not so great and the online chat was even worse. So if you buy and will need support then you may want to rethink because support is not there. But the device is pretty good and for what I paid for it I was not expecting a whole lot to begin with. It was a worth while purchase.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    I enjoy my Nook HD+ , however I am VERY disappointed that I cann

    I enjoy my Nook HD+ , however I am VERY disappointed that I cannot access a lot of the games I previously purchased from Barnes and Noble with my old Nook.  Apparently they are not available in HD....no one warned me before my purchase.  Also it is very sensitive and the screen will change on me in the middle of something  and it takes time to get back where I was.  Perhaps it needs more perfecting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Very nice display but it doesn't have any cameras or GPS and the

    Very nice display but it doesn't have any cameras or GPS and the sound is mediocre. There is only one grill on the back for the speaker so even if there are 2 speakers in the grill enclosure there is no separation of the sound. Headsets don't make the sound any better. If you're an audiophile or if you're fussy about sound when watching a movie I would not buy this. The excellent display does make it a good reader however.

    Performance for me was very good. I like to stream videos off my network and output the sound to a bluetooth speaker while I am working out on my treadmill, most of my devices like my phone and another tablet stutter but the HD plus does this pretty well.

    A neat feature that might influence you to purchase this is that it's one of the only tablets to support the SDXC 64gb microcard so you can expand the storage on the Plus to a huge 90gb.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    I love my Nook HD + and have had it for a week.  Just tonight wh

    I love my Nook HD + and have had it for a week.  Just tonight while reading, the pages were jumping ahead and I wasn't touching anything.  If that wasn't happening, the menu screen at the bottom would randomly pop up.  Is this a problem with other users?  I may have to get a replacement.  I just bought it so I'm a little upset.  Just shut it down so I will try and turn it on tomorrow and see if I encounter the same problem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Not flash capable! They also cannot play most of the games that

    Not flash capable! They also cannot play most of the games that are available to android phones. Great for a reader or a note taking unit. Good for e-mail.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    The HD+ screen is impressive. Sound is much better than my Nook

    The HD+ screen is impressive. Sound is much better than my Nook Tablet. Battery life is better too.

    Disappointed in the Profiles. My wife and I both have B&N Nook accounts. The profile feature will only display the books owned by the primary profile. These books are displayed in both adult profiles. My wife's books are not visible in her profile. The profile will allow her own email account. Why not her own B&N account?

    The limits on the profiles really soured an otherwise excellent product experience - hence 3 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6