Customer Reviews for

NOOK HD+ Tablet Slate 32GB

Average Rating 4
( 1453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(795)

4 Star

(248)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(105)

1 Star

(193)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1085 out of 1114 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+! The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, an...
I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, and it's one of the lightest 'tablets' on the market. But one thing needs to be clear, the Nook HD+ is an e-reader FIRST, tablet second, and it behaves that way. If you are purchasing this device expecting a full-featured Android OS, look elsewhere.

Lack of apps seems to be a major concern with some buyers, which isn't something that I've been bothered with since I'm not a huge app user. Angry Birds, Evernote, Hulu Plus and Open Explorer are my apps of choice, but it all depends on what YOU plan on using this device for. I can access my e-mail easily and the stock web browser does its job. Don't like the browser? No problem, hit up the app store and get the Dolphin browser or any of the countless other options available.

The Nook HD+ really shines for a few reasons. It's one of the only devices in its class with expandable memory, and due to its 'Retina-like' display, the screen is really super-sharp and the colors pop, perfect for, well, reading. Another reason is customer service. Because Barnes & Noble has actual brick and mortar stores, if you are having problems with your Nook, you don't have to call a customer service number, you can bring your device to your local Barnes & Noble and a Nook specialist is always on staff to help. Also, since it's one of the lightest devices in its class, it's easy and comfortable to hold with one hand. And while some people may say the build (specifically the back of the device) is 'plastic-ey', I find it stylish, plus it keeps it light and separates it from the endless black rectangles that now flood the tablet market.

I'm very happy with my Nook HD+, and those little extra features like being able to take it into a B&N store and be able to read ANY book for free on the device (even items that they don't actually have in stock) is a cool plus. I recommend it for any avid reader who wants a bit of color!

posted by KrissyD on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

423 out of 607 people found this review helpful.

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organ...
I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organize your stuff. Well, you can CREATE them, but the Nook doesn't DISPLAY them. This has been problem for a while and they still haven't fixed it. ?!?!?!?!?

They also advertise the HD+ as being GREAT FOR FAMILIES because you can set up different users. So your spouse or kids can have their own accounts and their own books. I thought this would help because of the no-folders thing. Well, my daughter wanted an original Nancy Drew book (#8 in the series). Fine. But it didn't appear search results when we searched in her account. But it DID show up when we searched on my account. ?? Someone flagged most of the older Nancy Drew books as being adult content. Okay, fine. I removed the "kids only" restriction in her account. It STILL didn't appear in the search results. I called the store. They told me to just make an adult account for her. Err. This kind of defeats the purpose of setting up an account that will suggest the kinds of books she likes to read. Not to mention if she's an "adult" they can collect all her information aggressively.

And when I read the ten-page privacy policy, it said that they collect information on kids under 13, "so you should tell your kids not to write anything personally identifiable if they're using our online apps." Eek!

And don't even get me started on some ebooks being more expensive than actual books.

posted by 16676992 on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 248 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    I just recently purchased the Nook HD+. I have a NOOK Color, bu

    I just recently purchased the Nook HD+. I have a NOOK Color, but its days are numbered, as I've had it for a few years, so I knew it was time to purchase a new reader. I wasn't in the market for a tablet, as I mainly wanted something that would have good graphics and allow me to read many books. I've never been a Kindle fan, so I stuck with the Nook. The setup was a breeze, as it walks you through everything on the screen. I was able to get my screen protector on with no problems. The trick to this is doing it in the bathroom after you've let the hot water run for a few minutes so the steam keeps the dust and lint away. Then peel only the top portion of the protector and place on the top of the screen and pull down the protector while peeling the rest of the film off. No lint, perfect alignment. Was a breeze. However, because I had to exchange my first NOOK HD+ for another one due to the border of the unit coming "unglued" from the screen, I rated this product with 4 stars. The edge was lifting off, and seeing as I had not owned this product for more than 2 days, I immediately brought it back to the store and had them exchange it. The one I have now looks better. I'm hoping to get much use out of this device and can't wait to use it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    I like my nook very much. I have begun reading again and take it

    I like my nook very much. I have begun reading again and take it everywhere with me. I enjoy the movies and webbing the internet. I do wish that the company would work faster to incorparete all the app from nook tablet to the hd+.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    The Nook HD+ is great but why are there so many "waste of t

    The Nook HD+ is great but why are there so many "waste of time" apps? When are the real apps such as Pocket Universe, Hurricane Tracker, and Linkedin going to show up? Otherwise, it's great for reading magazines, books, and surfing the internet.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    I love the HD+ but they need some games for grownups all of the

    I love the HD+ but they need some games for grownups all of the games seem to be for kids. They could charge just like all the other sites. Or let us go to other sites for them. They color is great. It is so light and easy to carry.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    I got the Nook HD+ because I loved my original Nook E-Reader so

    I got the Nook HD+ because I loved my original Nook E-Reader so much. I'm very happy with it and do recommend it for a user similar to myself. That is someone who primarily wants an E-Reader but enjoys the convenience of access to FaceBook and E-mail especially when traveling and the occasional game. I was not looking for anything with a camera .. I have a camera. However, I am disappointed that I cannot load my photos directly to my Nook from my camera's SD card. Photos have to be loaded from your computer. That is a downer for me as I did not realize it at the time of purchase. My 2nd point of disappointment is that you can not use the reader in the sunlight so luckily I still have my original Nook and use it to read when at the beach, cruising or anytime I want to read outside. Of course then I can't use my Nook HD+ so all the features of that devise becomes moot. If they could get the screen where you could see it outside and added a full size SD card slot I'd be in heaven and it would definitely earn 5 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    I love my Nook.   I hear all kinds of rave reviews about Amazon

    I love my Nook.  
    I hear all kinds of rave reviews about Amazon Kindle, which I have  I have
    through a friend who has one, but I love my Nook more than I do the Kindle.  

    The Nook HD+ is more user friendly, and I have found Apps that have allowed me
     to print from my Nook,  create office documents, and watch TV from it.  I have
    even found a blue tooth key board that makes it easier to input text.
    I don't need a lot of extras, so this is perfect for me.      Lauren

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    I really like my Nook HD+. I owned a 3G Kindle for many years,

    I really like my Nook HD+. I owned a 3G Kindle for many years, and liked it very much. Bought a Nook HD+ mostly because it was on sale and I happen to be at a store where someone was asking a lot of questions about it and I liked the answers, plus I liked the screen, plus someone had told me that if I had a tablet I could put all my ukulele music on it, so I wouldn't have to schlepp the heavy binder and music stand.
    I've had the Nook HD+ for a couple of weeks, and it's everything I'd hoped it would be. Its large screen is very easy to read, I love the color, I have all my music loaded on it, and have some books on it that I have gotten for free from B&N. Hooray for Free Nook Fridays!! I also bought a cover that, while it makes the Nook heavier, also allows me to protect it and it serves as a stand, so I can put it on the table or on my knees, and read hands-free.

    I didn't think I'd use the browser much, and I haven't, but lots of times it has been convenient for me to use when I was reading and needed to look something up and didn't feel like getting the laptop or going to the desktop; the Chrome browser works great and the access is fast (since it's my Wi-Fi).
    The one app I really needed was Songbook for my music and it was available and I was able to load it, so I'm happy. I've also gotten a couple of games, for free, on Free Fridays. Bottom line, it a very good product and have no qualms recommending it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    recieved as a gift-now it's almost replaced my desktop-great rad

    recieved as a gift-now it's almost replaced my desktop-great radio features-plus able to use to stream netflix and youtube-thank u for the product

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I recently purchased the Nook HD+. I would have given it 5 star

    I recently purchased the Nook HD+. I would have given it 5 stars if instead of version 2.1.0 was upgraded to 2.2. I have found a few android apps won't run on the 2.1. The particular one I wanted to run was the Cox TV Connect. Hope they upgrade to 2.2 soon. Outside of that, it's a great value. I love the way it sounds and the picture quality. I have the simple touch also which is much better for reading outside in the sun and reading in general due to light weight, however, if you're looking for good value and good tablet the Nook HD+ is great for internet, movies, music and games. If they upgrade to a higher version, it'll be great for t.v.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Stunning HD Display and Hardware Build! Though the software suck

    Stunning HD Display and Hardware Build!
    Though the software sucks a bit, and speakers are weak.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Upgraded from a Nook Color.  The HD+ is great but it doesn't sup

    Upgraded from a Nook Color.  The HD+ is great but it doesn't support my most favorite app - SCRABBLE - so I still have to use my Nook Color for that which is disappointing.  I tried to re-buy it on the Google store but it doesn't format correctly.  Other than that it's been great so far and I can't wait to watch movies on it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I love my nook hd + ,  this is actually my second nook product ,

    I love my nook hd + ,  this is actually my second nook product , I love the display, new features, the movies on netflix are outstanding , I could of gotten the ipad for 50% more but when i saw the nook i feel in love with it ,and besides let's face it with apple your paying for the name. the  parental controls are great and i like that you can set separate profiles . cant wait to spend my $50 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    If you're looking for a book reader that does a little extra, as

    If you're looking for a book reader that does a little extra, as I was, this is a good choice. Excellent picture, clear fonts that can be resized for ease of reading, apps that can add entertainment and convenience value, plus availability of apps that let you borrow ebooks from your local library. I've had a couple of freezing problems, but a quick reboot that only takes a few seconds solves the problem. It is an excellent choice for a book reader. For those who are disappointed that it doesn't do everything a regular tablet does, remember it's designed to be a book reader, not a tablet. It does its' job very well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    The thing I love most is that I can go online and see a page wit

    The thing I love most is that I can go online and see a page without having to make it larger.  Movies, I can watch movies or tv.  Music too.

    The one thing it's missing is camera capability.  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    This is a great light machine. Only negative is that you cannot

    This is a great light machine. Only negative is that you cannot get itunes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    I love my nook hd+ but if you are expecting 9 or 10 hours of rea

    I love my nook hd+ but if you are expecting 9 or 10 hours of reading time don't hold your breath I usually get about 5 or maybe 6 hours   before  I have to plug it in to charge

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    Amazing technical and warranty support. I have had hardware issu

    Amazing technical and warranty support. I have had hardware issues quickly resolved. Have stood by my Nooks (have owned 4-- First Edition, Simple Touch, Color and HD+). All have been wonderful readers and  fully supported. The HD+ is a versatile tablet that does everything I need it to do with the assistance of the Google Play store. With th exception that a camera would be appreciated, it is a flawless machine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    The Hd+ is my first tablet.  Pros=dual core processor, great ba

    The Hd+ is my first tablet. 

    Pros=dual core processor, great battery life, awesome reading expierience

    Cons=the tablet has no cam. It gets really hot sometimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    The nook does everything i need it to do  web, email, books

    The nook does everything i need it to do  web, email, books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    I love my Nook HD+, in fact I think I might be hooked on it!  Th

    I love my Nook HD+, in fact I think I might be hooked on it!  This little wonder does everything I was using my computer for and more.  I am on it every day so it does need to be charged almost every day.  I did run into a snag when I left it charge overnight.  It froze at 99% and I had to reboot, loosing everything, hence the 4 star rather than 5.  I just make sure to unplug when it's fully charged, don't leave charging an excessive amount past 100%.  When I looked on line for this problem, it seemed that was the problem others were having also.  Other than that, it's been great.  I bought the HDMI cable to attach to the TV to watch movies, got a screaming deal at Target on clearance.  Worked great, like I was watching from DVD.  It doesn't have a camera, but there is no reason I wanted one on my tablet.  I have the old Kindle 2 which I still prefer for reading, as it is more like paper, and better outside.  However, since I received the Nook, I haven't been reading!  To addicted to my Nook HD+!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 248 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13