BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 4
( 2462 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1319)

4 Star

(494)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(128)

1 Star

(344)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

401 out of 422 people found this review helpful.

iPad owners: this is a great secondary lightweight eReader for outdoors

I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to c...
I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to carry a super-lightweight device. If you've been waiting for a simple yet elegant, highly functional eReader, this one is a winner. Minus one star for shorter-than-advertised standby battery life (about one month instead of two, which is still pretty darn good).

posted by wb38 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

240 out of 326 people found this review helpful.

Good system, but caution for those that transfer from 1st Gen Nook

I just received this as a gift. I already had the 1st Gen Nook with tons of content already on it. The transferring of content from one device to other is complicated and will cause hours of work to transfer and put content back into the proper places.

posted by pattybones on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 344 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Purchasing books

    If you don't have a credit card, don't bother. Gift card requires credit card to purchase. Credit card required to purchase free items.

    217 out of 534 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    All-around Disappointment

    At first, I loved it. Conceptually, the Nook was just what I needed: lightweight, easy to read, uncomplicated. But it was a short-lived romance. Within weeks the screen became unresponsive or, even worse, would operate on its own, flitting between screens, jumping ahead or back without even a look from me much less a touch. I've been stuck on the same book for months--not because I'm a particularly slow reader but because the Nook won't close it or open anything else. (It's a good book, but a girl has to move on.) The customer service reps were condescending and unhelpful. I love the "ma'am-you-have-to-plug-in-the-charger" guidance I received (really?). So, my advice to potential buyers: if you are going to buy it, which I'd suggest you don't, buy it at a store, record the name of the person who sells it to you, stand next to the person while he or she starts the Nook and ensures that it operates. Go back to the store the second it stops doing what you want, which won't be long. Stand next to the person who sold it and stay there until he or she gets your Nook working again, which may take a good chunk of your day. Thank the person politely for at least trying because you know he or she is working to get through school and needs the job and is not the creator of the Nook. Then go back home and order your Kindle.

    176 out of 468 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    BEWARE: NOT COMPATIBLE WITH FIOS ROUTER AND TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

    Like another reviewer, I purchased a nook which stopped accessing my home wireless within three days after installing the update to 1.1.0. Customer service told me to return it and I received a replacement which had the same problem within 24 hours, and so I was advised to return that one, too. So, like the other reviewer, I then received a "certified pre-owned" nook to replace the previous brand-new defective ones (neither of which lasted more than three days). BN refused to refund my money and instead stuck me with a device that is not compatible with my Verizon Fios router and is therefore worthless to me. I intend to sell it and purchase a Kindle 3G (3G is FREE - NO monthly subscription!) which will not depend on wireless at all. Bye-bye, BN! You've lost a long-time customer!

    133 out of 237 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    The device is great. The tech support however are clueless

    Purchased one of these for my cousin who is an avid reader. I wanted to preload some books on it for her so that she could get started right away. I created an account for her, as required. (I knew she didn't have one already) and did the "buy as gift" from my account. The book didn't show up though. So I called tech support. They repeatedly insisted for two days that a credit card was required on her account for the books to appear on her nook. No one in tech support told us anything about her having to "accept" the gift from her e-mail. So while this might have been a 4 or 5 star review, Tech Support, for being clueless and unhelpful drops it to a 1. We didn't find out about the "accept" requirement until after we gave her the gift, and she added her credit card to the account (which it turns out probably was not a requirement as tech support insisted). So while the gift could have been so much better, technical support, or truly a lack thereof, ruined the experience for me. I'm not saying I won't get one for myself, but I definitely won't depend on the official technical support channels, seeing as they don't know how their own product works.

    64 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Read Reviews

    I wish I would have read the reviews before I purchased. Nothing but problems. Ghosting screen, battery problems, frozen screens. Customer service is a disgrace. In the process of trying to get a replacement (3rd attempt) Customer service appears unsure of their product but very good at transferring to another rep.

    49 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Do Not Buy!!

    I am now on my third replacement for a Nook that I bought in August. The first one completely died. The second one would not connect to my Wi-Fi and now the third one is having the same problem. Both connected when I initially set them up but after the software upgrade they would not connect. I called the support number and was told that since the update of the software to version 1.1, they have been having problems with Wi-Fi connectivity. I was told to contact my ISP provider, because it could be a problem with my router, but of course it was not. I was then told to deregister the device and see if that works. It did not. Their answer is to send me another Simple Touch so I can have the same problems.

    44 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Lousy customer service

    The technicians can't transfer a phone number. They make you input information, then repeat it verbally.

    Stupid people.

    35 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Junk

    As a librarian, I can not and do not recommend this product to my patrons. The product itself is faulty, and the customer service and return policies are very poor.

    My mother loved her Nook Color so much, she offered to buy me either the Color or the Touch. I went with the Touch, thought something simpler would be nice, since I work around computers all day. I was wrong. Within the first 20 days, my Nook started to devour battery power. I was told when I bought it I had 30 days to return it for a new one, but apparently, they changed that. I was offered a refurbished product to replace a brand new one, which I thought was really cheap of them, and not good customer service. Then, I was told it was a software issue, and would be resolved soon, so I held on to my Nook. One software update and two other fixes later, and it STILL drains the battery by the minute, lasting only about 8 hours, instead of the promised 2 months. I was told to call the warrenty dept, but that was a wasted call - they only repeated what had already been said, and also pointed out I'd now had the unit for 90 days. Well, yes I did, but it didn't work MOST of that time, and I only kept it because they kept saying it would be fixed! And yes, the wifi was OFF, it's rarely on, actually.

    33 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Lacking extra features such as highlighting and Sudoku

    I own a first edition 3G nook, and I absolutely love it. I am seen everywhere with it in my hand. I recently bought a new nook Simple Touch, and I was disappointed by the lack of features. I found the touch pad a bonus, but there were no highlight or notes options, there was no 3G, and there were no games, such as Sudoku or Chess. I also enjoyed the option to browse the internet, even if it was a bit slow. However, the only thing that seems to remain of my beloved first edition nook is the reading function, the library, and the book shelves, and even those seem more difficult to organize. Please, please, bring back a version like the first edition nook!

    32 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Memory deception

    I have purchased one of every nook. I also purchase a lot of books. I bought an SD card to store excess books so I could have all my books on one Nook. Now I find out the SD card cannot store excess book files. Books can only be stored on the main Nook memory and not on a SD card. This little tid-bit is not provided to you when you purchase the SD card.

    29 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    If you have Mac or going overseas, don't get kindle

    It looks great, the touch screen is great, but all of the technical issues make it a DO NOT BUY. The screen has frozen several times, requiring a hard reset. Removing the back voids warranty, but overseas you don't have a choice. In addition, the software for the Mac is still being tested. Maybe someday it will be better, but not today.

    Get a kindle if going overseas or if you have a Mac.

    27 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Dont trust the Free Shipping

    I bought the basic Kindle for my daughters Birthday, 5 days before her birthday i decided that she'd prefer the Nook, SO i immediately went online and bought it while i RMAd the Kindle. Thinking it would be late by at most one or two days. Its a 10 days now. And i realize that their UPS shipping is really USPS who have not delivered nor updated the tracking for over a week. My Daughter is very disappointed. I contacted customer support twice and they just repeat the information that i have access to. NO help what so ever, and they have the gall to send me a customer survey!!

    24 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    buyer beware

    Just ordered a 3rd replacement. The first Nook Simple Touch would not connect to wireless wi-fi, the second had ghosts of prior page, and poor text clarity, and now have requested a 3rd...sure hope 3's a charm, but am now nervous as to whether I will get a new Nook, or a pre-owned one as another reviewer experienced...

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    This thing sucks!! The touch screen freezes up all the time

    Nothing tells you how to un-freeze it unless you pay somebody. Completely frustrating!!!

    23 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Junk

    Returned, piece of junk. Crappy interface and poor customer service. People in the stores know nothing at all.

    23 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Can't even ship it on time

    Acknowledged to ship on 11/30, 1-3 day shipping time per membership. On 12/2 I received an email stating that it had just shipped and would arrive on 12/6. Missed the birthday. Turns out they knew it would ship late, per customer service. A message telling me so would have allowed me to make other arrangements. Would give negative rating if possible.

    21 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    It WIPE OUT ALL MY NOTES - sheesh

    nook simple touch.. brand new device -- NEVER UPDATED the software -- heck it's only 10 days old - removed all my notes... thanks guys...

    19 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    What on earth makes this work?

    Merry Christmas to all! My husband purchased this for my present and I have been super frustrated all day getting it to work. Apparently I have to provide a credit card number in order to go online. Sometimes the screen indicates that I am connected by WI-FI and at times it indicates that it is not available. Scouring for clear-cut instructions on the web with my Mac has added more confusion because I have been unable to locate one site that clarifies this issue, i.e. credit card info. Registering was time consuming, sometimes the screen simply freezes, scrolling is easy but often neither up- down & right to left swiping functions. I am entering a GRINCH mood and I think I will eat some burned toast to feel better. Hope you have better luck with this thing than I have.

    16 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Of all the electronics, this is the worst to date for manueverability and more...

    Including laptops, printers, scanners, DVD recorders, phones and more - this stinks. Want a detailed user guide? If so, you'll have to print your own PDF - 120 pages worth!

    Touch it and it may work - then perhaps not...

    This was a gift bought for the girlfriendat her request - I'll stick to reading e-books on my laptop!

    14 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    horrible product

    worthless with anything worthwhile. No zoom on PDF files. Books are just as expensive as bought new. etc. etc.

    12 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 344 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18