Customer Reviews for

NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 4
( 2462 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1319)

4 Star

(494)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(128)

1 Star

(344)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

401 out of 422 people found this review helpful.

iPad owners: this is a great secondary lightweight eReader for outdoors

I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to c...
I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to carry a super-lightweight device. If you've been waiting for a simple yet elegant, highly functional eReader, this one is a winner. Minus one star for shorter-than-advertised standby battery life (about one month instead of two, which is still pretty darn good).

posted by wb38 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

240 out of 326 people found this review helpful.

Good system, but caution for those that transfer from 1st Gen Nook

I just received this as a gift. I already had the 1st Gen Nook with tons of content already on it. The transferring of content from one device to other is complicated and will cause hours of work to transfer and put content back into the proper places.

posted by pattybones on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 344 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 18
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    NOOK NOW SOLD WITH LESS! In August 2011, I purchased a Nook fo

    NOOK NOW SOLD WITH LESS!

    In August 2011, I purchased a Nook for my wife and she instantly loved
    it! In fact we all loved it! So this year they purchased a Nook of
    the same model for me for Father's day.

    Imagine everyone's dissapointment when upon opening the box it was
    found that it no longer had a wall charging unit adapter for the USB
    cable!

    Upon closer examination, we found the box had a crudely placed sticker
    that informed the purchaser of the contents: Nook, USB cable. ("Wall
    charger" was stickered over...silly us for not reading a small sticker
    on an identical box that previously supplied the indentical Nook with
    a wall charger.)

    The instructions stated the previously supplied wall charger can now
    be purchased as an "optional accessary". Considering that Nooks use
    electricity, wall sockets still are more prevalent that USB ports, and
    not everyone carts around a laptop with them all day long, I do not
    consider that an "optional" accessory.

    Tomorrow, my wife will be returning the nook to the store where it was
    purchased. She will inform the manager that he now has an option:
    provide the required wall charger for free or provide a full refund.

    In the age of the internet, I cannot believe that a company like B&N
    would be so stupid as to think they can successfully cheat their
    customers' in such a heavy handed way without it being Twittered,
    emailed, blogged all over the Internet.

    You should be ashamed of yourselves B&NIISSimple Touch

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Nook owners

    Kindle is so much better. Extremely dissapointed swihed to kindle after 1 week.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    BROKEN WIFI

    Cannot even get past the starting screen steps because it wont connect to my home router. Router is perfectly fine, the nook is the problem and apparently A LOT of other people are having the same problem. Customer service was completely useless. I have been working at fixing the problem for hours and nothing is working.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    This product sucks

    After sending back my Nook 1st generation which I had for over a year and a half, I was excited to find out I was getting a nook simple touch. After receiving the product I am remaining a loyal customer to Nook 1st edition. I was sent a Nook simple touch that was certified pre-owned. This product can no way be compared to Nook 1st generation which is 100 times better than this one. First off this device doesn't even have the same apps or functions as Nook 1st generation. This is no longer a music player which I loved, there are no games and you can't even connect to internet because the dang Wifi connection doesn't work all the time. This product may be sleek in style but is no comparison to Nook 1st generation. It may be cute, faster and has a longer battery life, but it is hard to use and not even on the same level as nook 1st edition. If this was the nook they were selling when I bought mine originally, I would not have wasted my money it.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    DOESN'T WORK WITH VERIZON WIFI!

    I wish I had read other reviews... I've spent A LOT of time trying to connect my new "Simple" Touch to my home WiFi. I've connected 2 IPods, an IPad, an older Nook, to my network. This new Nook just is not connecting. I've read other reviews that this started with a software version 1.1 "upgrade." Anyway, it's beyond frustrating. Don't buy it if you use Verizon.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Very Disappointed with quality

    I received the Nook Simpke Touch for a Christmas gift. As an advid reader I couldn't wait to start using it! It was easy to set up and I was reading as soon as the battery was fully charged. Within 36 hours of reading it froze. So I returned the product to the store and received a new replacement. Four days and 40 hours of read time later the new replacement froze! I see others are able to get months of read time use from theirs and I can't even get a week! I use the touch screen to turn the pages and not the buttons of the side. The new replacement I will use just the buttons and see if this makes a difference. Although if it is supposed to be a "touch" screen I do not see why it doesn't last.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Customer service

    Don't expect to get anywhere with customer service with the upcoming holidays -you will never get through on the phone. Never! Tried last year to get help with update. Had gone to the store to load the update -didn't work. Crack staff told me the system was jammed up because of people receiving Nooks for Christmas. Turned around to the person behind me and said "go get a Kindle".

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I cannot even count the amount of times I have had to return my

    I cannot even count the amount of times I have had to return my Nook Simple Touch since last Thanksgiving, when I bought it on Black Friday in-store, because the screen froze. I would not ever buy this item again because they gave me refurbished e-readers as replacements. I recommend you think thrice before buying this item.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    5 NOOKs in 12 months! - BIGGEST WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

    I am currently on my 5th NOOK Simple Touch, and I am having another issue with this replacement. It's the same issue I had 2 NOOKS ago - Battery life!

    The battery is depleting extremely fast. I had a full charge 24 hours ago, and now it's at 67%! I only used it for about an hour yesterday, and yes...the wireless option was turned off.

    I am tired of being given a "New" NOOK (ie. certified pre-owned - what a joke!). I am tired of having to replace my NOOK every couple of months because it's apparently a poorly made product.

    BN now wants me to ship my defective NOOK back to them within 14 days of them shipping out a NEW NOOK to me. They want me to print up a shipping label and spend the time to walk across town to the Post Office to ship the defective NOOK back to them. And to top it all off, they want my credit card information just in case they don't get it within 14 days! And because my view of this company is SO LOW, I foresee someone misplacing the NOOK I send them and having my CC charged as a result!

    I asked if I could simply exchange my NOOK at one of their stores (there's one just down the street from where I work). The "Customer Service" rep. said that wouldn't be possible (actually it IS possible. I exchanged one of my defective NOOKS 4 months ago at one of their stores in Arizona while I was on vacation). She said that I would only be given a refurbished NOOK if I went into a store here in NYC! I guess they'd rather inconvenience their customers and not your stores? That makes perfect sense. I guess that this being the 5th NOOK I've had an issue with doesn't matter at all.

    So, I am no longer a NOOK supporter!

    Hello KINDLE! I hear nothing but good things about you!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Got a bad feeling about this one

    I've had my nook simple touch for 3 weeks. I have used it maybe eight times total. The screen has already frozen three times. I have called customer service twice now with the problem. Their solution so far is I just keep calling when the screen freezes. An internet search tells me that I can look forward to many more screen freezes. Guess I got a lemon.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    This product is crap. Mine shorted out less than a year before i

    This product is crap. Mine shorted out less than a year before i got it, it freezes up, and i lost 60+ books when i got my new nook. DONT BUY FROM BARNES AND NOBLE... they screw you over like no other...

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    1 year of usage, strong negative experience

    After 1 year of usage I definitely not recommend it. Being an owner of Kindle 3 (also known as not ideal reader) I think that my opinion is objective enough. Also I recommend to not take seriously all of this reviews started with "..best reader..", etc. Most of that people/magazine editors just play this device couple hours or it is theirs first book reader. So here is the list of problems you will get in practice:
    0. Impossible to use device before registering. To register you have to connect it to wi-fi. For previous firmware version it was impossible to connect with number of wi-fi routers/AP including my own TP-LINK TL-WA901ND (many others have been reported).
    1. Absolutely inconvenient book storage/sorting system:
    - logical and intuitive tree folders structure is not supported at all;
    - it is impossible to delete a book using device API, to achieve this you have to connect it to PC (!!?) and delete it as file in external drive file system;
    - "shelves" that can be used to facilitate the access to collection can not be controlled from PC. In combination with poor Nook API it makes this feature extremely inconvenient. For instance your book collection consists of ~20 authors with ~50 book of each. Flat list of this book consist of 200 pages, so it is practically impossible to scroll it to book you need. You have to organize it as "shelves" for easiest access. To add book to shelve you need to mark a check box in flat list of books that are sorted by book's title (!!?), not an author name. Just imagine how much time does it take to scroll 200 pages and find a book of selected author also taking into account that each 4-th touch on check box is recognized as page scroll gesture with random direction. And this operation have to be repeated for each author. It is really terrible;
    - library view shows couple pages of BN's advertised books that can not be deleted or hidden (that is especially bothering for not English speaking users);
    3. Sleep mode is not activated sometimes and battery exhausted unpredictable. So if not used it may stay charged couple months or 3 days. It may be problem while travelling and to be sure you have to remember to switch it off completely.
    4. Touch screen is unreliable: each 4-th touch on check box is recognized as page scroll gesture with random direction.
    5. Hardware buttons sticks sometime with scrolling by hundreds of pages.
    6. There is no "back" button that allows to return back along the chain of UI actions.
    5. No side-loading via wi-fi (books from PC have to be uploaded using USB cable).
    6. English only virtual keyboard.

    Sometimes I think that I want to kill this Chinese engineer who invent this device (remembering that we had a border conflict with China in 1969 :))

    Also about BN itself. They provide unprofessional support. Previous automatic firmware update broke wi-fi and I mistakenly decided to ask support (it was a mistake, I had to read forums first, there was hundreds of claims about this update). Support suggested to hard reset the device and as result I had got the completely locked device because it did not work without registration that had to be made via wi-fi but (of course) wi-fi was not working. After that they suggested me to ask the AP manufacturer support or find nearest BN store (in ~3000 miles in my case :). And all of this after hundreds of claims about not working wi-fi for this update.

    I have to write more, but text l

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    missing pages

    My daughter bought 5 books, all have less than 150 pages with big font. If we bought the actual paperback books, they have over 150 pages with small font. That does not make sense. Just sent an email to customer service. Will see how fast they get back to me. If no response, we will be returning this nook and getting a kindle...

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No clear instructions

    Instruction sheet should say in bold writing "Unlike the Kindle, Nook does no have a built in WiFi system" You must find an available WiFi location to get started. Second, there is no simple menu available to perform various actions that can be called up by a button always displayed on the screen. I fell for the ads but so far, I'm ready to return it. In essence, it is NOT USER FRIENDLY. Rates 1 out of 5.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Not reliable

    The reader is fine, when it works. Lots of problems with it from the beginning. Then I bought a lot of Nook Books now I have a nook which is frozen meaning the only way I can read the books is on my computer. So I talked online with a service rep. Couldn't fix it, didn't even try. What she tried to do was sell me an immediate replacement which I wouldn't be charged for when they received the one I had within two weeks provided the problem was covered by the warranty. Your much better off to buy a small lap top which you can usually take back to the people you bought it from without sending it to the home office. Oh by the way the extended warranty only is the basic warranty extended. So don't buy it.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    DO NOT BUY IT! GET A KINDLE

    Mine is defective, the touch screen doesn't work, it refuses to connect to wifi (both at my home location and at starbucks, when my ipad connects to both just fine) and the screen flashes pretty much constantly, even when it should be just showing a book. The store told me it is working as designed! So, obviously it is designed to be an expensive paperweight.
    I will be asking for the receipt from the person who got it for me and returning it, which is too bad because I really wanted one of these.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I want to tell people to avoid this product at all costs. I boug

    I want to tell people to avoid this product at all costs. I bought a Nook Simple Touch a few weeks ago and
    had issues with the battery losing charge really quickly (approx. 10% power per day). So I shipped it back and 
    received a new one which worked much better until this morning when I went to turn it on and it refused to turn on.
    After about trying this for 20 minutes I wanted to see if plugging it in to a wall outlet would help it. It did, but the 
    battery was at 75% power when it was 100% the previous day. So this is going where all e-readers belong: IN MY TRASH CAN!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Myhusband boght it for me for Christmas and it was a sate of mon

    Myhusband boght it for me for Christmas and it was a sate of money  I learned how to check books out from the Wa Anytime library and requested several holds.  However, even though my 24 yer-old son tried to help me with this and researched your troubleshooting site, I was never able to open any of the books, even though thry showed up on my Nook.  I do not live in a city where I have access to your store and I have to say I am not interested in buying books from you.  And I am very disappointed.es/cl

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I am an avid reader and read multiple books a week so I got and

    I am an avid reader and read multiple books a week so I got and e-reader. Just recently I upgraded to a Nook Simple Touch , which was a huge mistake. This product is a waste of money and the customer service needs alot of help, since they obviously could not help me. I wish I had my old 1st Gen nook. I have only had the simple touch for 4 months and it would probably entertain me more as a frisby than it does as a nook. Accessing the e-book store is near inpossible unless you are in the store or by some miracle close to your router. I would tell anyone who wants one that unless you don't mind the nook skipping pages and/or chapters at a time then this product is not for them. There is also the issue of trying to see the book covers when trying to purchase the books, might was well just stare at a gray blob, for that is pretty much what you will see. I wish I had saved my money and my 1st Gen Nook. I will be switching to a Kindle. Barnes and Noble can now kiss all the money I was spending on nookbooks...Goodbye.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    WiFi but no web browser or games!

    The nook touch once had a built in web browser, but through updates it was taken away. I warn you that although you buy the product today, barnes and nobles can remotely update the device against your will. I advise the Kindle touch over the nook touch because kindle has a web browser.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 344 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 18