Customer Reviews for

NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 4
( 2462 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1319)

4 Star

(494)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(128)

1 Star

(344)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

401 out of 422 people found this review helpful.

iPad owners: this is a great secondary lightweight eReader for outdoors

I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to c...
I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to carry a super-lightweight device. If you've been waiting for a simple yet elegant, highly functional eReader, this one is a winner. Minus one star for shorter-than-advertised standby battery life (about one month instead of two, which is still pretty darn good).

posted by wb38 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

240 out of 326 people found this review helpful.

Good system, but caution for those that transfer from 1st Gen Nook

I just received this as a gift. I already had the 1st Gen Nook with tons of content already on it. The transferring of content from one device to other is complicated and will cause hours of work to transfer and put content back into the proper places.

posted by pattybones on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 344 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    While the hardware product is good the service from B&N is a

    While the hardware product is good the service from B&N is absolutely terrible. They sell the Nook happily enough but won't sell their eBooks outside of the US (hellloooo!!!!!!). This is a company that can't see the future, has no global ambitions, has no explanation for their marketing strategy except that "it's B&N's policy" (duh!!!), and are sure to lose out in the war on eReaders/Tablets as they are holding themselves back in a global marketplace and therefore face certain extinction once things become a bit more competitive than they are now. With the proliferation of eReaders and Tablets I would give them about 6 months. I'm heading over to Amazon now to get the globally-sold and well-supported Kindle. Bye Bye B&N...maybe you should take your rose-tinted US glasses off now.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    i will never, ever purchase a nook or a kindle because i believe

    i will never, ever purchase a nook or a kindle because i believe that people should read boks the old-fashioned way. i'm old fashioned in regards to lot of things, such as men being a gentleman when it comes to women!

    5 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    kEEPS FREEZING DONT BUY GET A KINDLE BAD PRODUCT. extremely POOR

    kEEPS FREEZING DONT BUY GET A KINDLE BAD PRODUCT. extremely POOR CUSTOMER SERVCE YOU WILL BE ON THE PHONE FOREVER NOT AN EXAGGERATION. POOR POOR POOR HORRIBLE .

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Very disappointed

    This device is very dark screened, with no way to lighten or brighten it. You need a credit card to log into the store, even to get free books. This was a gift for my minor son, and every time he uses it, he will be on the internet: NOT COOL. I am seriously considering returning it.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    did not like the x rated ad for books that runs across bottom of

    did not like the x rated ad for books that runs across bottom of screen shocked when my child brought it over to show me the naked people on cover of book locked in an embrace that you cant turn off it runs on home page until they change it at barnes and noble bad setup for reader suitable for kids

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    It will become 5 stars if people outside the U.S. can purchase N

    It will become 5 stars if people outside the U.S. can purchase Nook e-book!
    I have the reader, but I can't buy any e-book from BN.
    I'm very upset about this...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Hard on the Eyes

    I wanted to like the Nook. I was so excited to receive it, and so disappointed after using it. The problem is that the Nook is really hard on the eyes. I noticed it immediately. After about a half hour, my eyes started to feel extremely fatigued, and scratchy, as ones eyes do after a really long computer session. I was reading the Nook in bed. Perhaps a break would help. I put down the Nook and took up a paperback novel. I read the whole book within a week or two, and had no problems with reading the book in bed for hours at a time. Back to the Nook. Another shot at reading text, and again, within a half hour, my eyes were sore. So, I guess for me, I'll stick with paperback books. A few other things about the Nook: 1) The type font sizes are not very useful. If I am trying to read a PDF, for example, the entire page on one screen shows the teeniest type. I hit the next highest font, and it's way too large. Corny, clownish large. 2) Hardly any type fits on the Nook screen. So you are constantly turning pages, and because when you turn it pages there is a subtle flash, this is even harder on the eyes. 3) Unlike a real book, there are no headers, footers, gutters, or any of the other niceties that orient a reader. Just a measly page number on the bottom, e.g., " 3 of 206". And if you want to have just a bit more type on the screen, you have to go without margins, so you miss out on the visual relaxation that margins (or white space in a book) provide. 4) There are no typographical niceties, no kerning, no thought about letter spacing and word spacing, no dropped initial caps, no interesting fonts or chapter titles . . . in short, none of the typographical details that make reading a fine-tuned book so pleasurable. I didn't expect this in the Nook, of course, but wow, I found that I really missed it. It just feels junky and childish to read this way, with so little pleasure in the way the word appears. I wish I could have given a good review, but I guess I'll be using the Nook only sparingly. For sustained and pleasurable reading, I will stick with the paper book.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Hate it!!!!!

    It frose on lock screen!!!! It dose not let me trn it of!!!! DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!! Buy a kindle.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    neutral to minus so far.

    The first time I tried to purchase and and transfer a book to my Nook I was unable to. My husband who is tech savvy could not either. He called tech support, went thru what he did and the technician cut him off during the call. I am very disappointed that this is not a process that is not easy for persons of any tech level to use.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Awesome, Easy to learn quickly, Responsive to touch, Fast

    This is the perfect reader. It can read ePub files; it has wifi. I am glad I went with this one.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    No stars. Be warned, potential B&N customer: if you have a d

    No stars. Be warned, potential B&N customer: if you have a defective brand-new, just-delivered Nook device, you're likely headed for Customer Service hell. Be prepared to meet with an army of know-nothing, apparently deceptive incompetents. Any merits of B&N's Nook products are offset by the company's Customer Service from hell. Today, trying to resolve the problem of having just received a Nook Simple Touch lemon, I've been lied to, hung up on, and received no help at all. The return call, promised by a supervisor  at around six this evening, never came. So, around 4 hours later, I called back and spoke to another  supervisor, identifying myself and asking for help. This call was disconnected on B&N's side, and that supervisor never called me back or emailed me to provide service. I've also been advised that I'll have to wait quite a while for a replacement Nook, though I live in Manhattan and the site promises same-day Manhattan delivery.  I'd read reviews on the B&N site and, I believe, on Amazon as well, about  B&N's horrific so-called Customer Service. I can see now, from experience, that the horror stories are true. So if you buy a Nook from B&N and get a lemon, as can happen with any e-device, you're going to find yourself quite alone with your problem. Whatever the merits of the Kindle, I know from experience that Amazon Customer Service lives up to its name.  B&N Customer Service is essentially an insult to customers. I don't work for either company. I'm just a customer with a brand-new defective Nook Simple Touch, and I can't get any help from B&N. So if you look at the numbers and see that Kindles far outsell Nooks, B&N's misnamed Customer Service is likely at least part of the reason. 

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    They just don't work. I've gone through 2 in the last year and n

    They just don't work. I've gone through 2 in the last year and not because I'm hard on them, but because the screen will flicker,freeze or 
    go blank. I Love Barns & Noble but there is only so much frustration I can Handle at one time from the Nook simple touch. While I am
    getting a Nook HD+  I am not going to stand for some of the crap I had with the Nook Simple Touch, second something goes wrong I
    am returning it and sending in an order for the Kindle 
                                                                                                                         ----- Sincerely, one almost lost Costumer 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    I hate the nook. No, more precisely, I LOATHE it. Got it as a

    I hate the nook. No, more precisely, I LOATHE it. Got it as a misguided gift, tried it, found it terribly annoying. Will not use it, except perhaps as a paperweight. To make things better, my local B&N first informed me I could turn the hated device in for store credit (you know, to buy REAL books) but then later renigged on that statement. In all, a pukey experience.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    I loved my Nook SImple Touch until the day it started freezing i

    I loved my Nook SImple Touch until the day it started freezing in the middle of reading a book. Frozen solid, can't turn it off, can't park it, have to plug it into the charger even though the battery is charged. Called BN Customer non-care. 1st guy nice, trouble shot the device and said if it didn't fix the problem to call back for a replacement. Called Sunday 1/21. Got a stupid girl who had a heavy accent and a very bad headset. I kept telling her I couldn't understand what she was saying. Finally just told her I want a new Nook Simple Touch. She said (I think) that an email would be sent to me to print and take to the store for an exchange. Nothing as of 10:00 Tuesday AND customer non-care is CLOSED! CLOSED? Enjoy your Nook reader but pray it never breaks. Based on customer non-care, this device gets one star. What really annoys me is that I had bought a Nook Tablet before this one broke. So I may be stuck with another lemon for all I know.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    I wouldn't even give this device one star. I bought 3 of the Si

    I wouldn't even give this device one star. I bought 3 of the Simple Touchs for my 3 children and we have had nothing but problems. It goes into sleep mode and won't wake up. This has happened on 2 of the 3 devices I bought. We have exchanged them 3 times. Not worth the money spent. Next time I would buy the Kindle. Not happy with my purchase. They work for about 3 days before they freeze and are totally useless. I wouldn't pay $10 for this device. WOULD NOT RECCOMEND!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    My daughter purchased a nook simple touch less than a year ago.

    My daughter purchased a nook simple touch less than a year ago. In the first 3 weeks we had to send it back to barnes and noble for repairs. It took another month to get a new one from barnes and noble (i was told her claim was overlooked). When we finally got her second new simple touch she ordered books and had no problems until last week when she was reading and the simple touch updated. When the update was finished the nook restarted and she lost most of her books and the books she didn't loose she can't read because when she turns the pages it skips about a hundred pages. Today she purchased a nook simpletouch glow and when she registered it her books were already on the new nook but only 3. I called nook tonight and was told there was nothing they could do to help me because her account shows she only purchased 3 books. I explained that the books are on the older nook but when she tries to open them it gives her error message. I also explained that all books were on her account until the update 6 days ago. I was told there was nothing they could do to help me. Now my daughter has 2 nooks that are useless to her. One we will return tomorrow for a refund and the other is still under warranty but barnes and noble would not make a claim to for repairs. Don't waste your money like my 15 year old daughter did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    I would buy a Kindle. Nook Simple touch keeps freezing up on me

    I would buy a Kindle. Nook Simple touch keeps freezing up on me. B&N is willing to replace, but how many do I have to go through, before it doesn't freeze up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I received the Nook first edition last year for my birthday. On

    I received the Nook first edition last year for my birthday. One month before the warranty expired, it stopped working and displayed long black lines on the screen. I sent it back to Barnes and Noble for evaluation. Two weeks later I called B&N, they didn't contact me as promised, and asked for an update. I was told the Nook was defective and would be replaced. If I wanted to upgrade it would be an additional $99. I accepted an even trade and waited for my Nook to be shipped. Fast forward many phone calls over 3 1/2 months to when I finally reach a support person again. This time I was told that my device was out of warranty and would not be replaced. Luckily, I saved all emails and shipping labels to confirm that I had returned it before the expiration. I spoke with a lovely lady who upgraded to the simple touch for free and included a $25 B&N gift card for my trouble. I have had it for one week, used it four times, and it has stopped working. I called for support and am again getting a replacement. I honestly feel that three new devices in one year is excessive. I won't hold my breath that this device will be any more effective. Such a shame! I think I'll ask Santa for a Kindle!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I have had my NOOK Simple Touch for a year and a half now withou

    I have had my NOOK Simple Touch for a year and a half now without an issue until the last update it ran caused a gray discoloration right in the middle of my screen. I spoke with their customer services reps who told me that the I "was just the unfortunate one to get a faulty NOOK" and then informed me that it was no longer on warranty so there was nothing they could do for me. I had full intentions of buying another NOOK for a family member this Christmas and am now going to have to find a different E-Reader. I am so disappointed with Barnes and Noble's customer services I am hesitant to ever purchase anything from them again and will now reluctantly have to do my purchasing with Amazon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Short battery - less than 30 hours, less than one month. No powe

    Short battery - less than 30 hours, less than one month.
    No power adapter, had to change PC power settings so would stay on for several hours to charge Nook.
    Can't read while charging.
    Lot of mis-spellings, as if books were scanned and scanner did not get a clear picture.
    Willo not buy any more Nook books unless that is the only option.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 344 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 18