Customer Reviews for

NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 4
( 2462 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1319)

4 Star

(494)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(128)

1 Star

(344)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

401 out of 422 people found this review helpful.

iPad owners: this is a great secondary lightweight eReader for outdoors

I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to c...
I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to carry a super-lightweight device. If you've been waiting for a simple yet elegant, highly functional eReader, this one is a winner. Minus one star for shorter-than-advertised standby battery life (about one month instead of two, which is still pretty darn good).

posted by wb38 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

240 out of 326 people found this review helpful.

Good system, but caution for those that transfer from 1st Gen Nook

I just received this as a gift. I already had the 1st Gen Nook with tons of content already on it. The transferring of content from one device to other is complicated and will cause hours of work to transfer and put content back into the proper places.

posted by pattybones on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Good reader, tech issues

    I bought the Nook Simple Touch. It can't connect to my Apple Airport wifi - 3 calls to tech support - many setting changes - no help. I can connect at public wifi, McDonald's, etc.
    I chose the Nook partly because I have DRM-free epub books. The Nook can't read some of the epub's, but my computer can read them and my iPod touch 2gen can read them.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Mine has a lot of problems...

    I got the Nook Simple Touch becuase I love to read. I though it would be something simple to carry around, and read whenever I choose to. For the most part I loved it, I thought that the size was wonderful and the e-ink was great. My problems with mine were that it kept restarting by itself for no reason, and mine froze while trying to update itself. All in all I am very diapointed in it, and am thinking about returning it. This is a lot of hassle for just wanting to read.. Not sure if I want to return it or not.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Lacks note-taking/highlight/bookmarking exporting functionality

    The device is a good ebook reader, unfortunately it lacks a very important functionality for people who like to highlight, and take notes on their text (esp. non-fiction material). While Nook will allow you to highlight/bookmark and add notes, there is no way to export these notes for future use. Kindle device, for example, creates 'Myclippings.txt' file. So, even when the book is inadvertently deleted, copies of the annotations and bookmarks are still on the Kindle in straight-text format for your use.

    Even more frustrating, if you accidental let your Nook go dead, all your work (highlights, notes...) will be lost.

    This is an unfortunate oversight by the developers to the otherwise nice e-reader.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Hopeful but Disappointed

    After a lot of research, I decided on the Nook Simple Touch. This is my first e-reader but I'm very disappointed and will take it back tomorrow for the following reasons. The screen is too dark and there's no way to make it brighter. All the ads say that an E Ink screen is just like a book, but this one is sure not. When comparing this Nook side by side with a book, the Nook is definitely darker with a greenish cast. Plus, the reflection is frustrating. Books don't reflect. This Nook is certainly harder to read than a book. Also, it seemed to be slower than I thought it should be, plus it froze up so I had to just turn it off and put it back in the box. I like the concept of an e-reader and I was hopeful this would work well for me, but I am disappointed in it. Maybe when I have more money to spend I'll look into the more expensive tablets and see if they work better.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    False Advertising on Memory Space

    I got my nook today and began putting everything on my 1st generation onto the simple touch. I thought it would all fit but it didn't. The nook tells me I only have 236MB available for storage. Lesson learned: do the math or talk to someone first. When they say 1GB for content it doesn't mean your content/ books, it means their content. Once you do the math 2GB- 1GB = 1GB- 750 MB = 250MB.

    Now I have to go buy a memory card.

    Is it just me or does it seem wrong that the previous generation nook had more storage space? I'm not sure that size and battery life make up for that when you don't intend to budget an extra 20-30 bucks for a memory card.

    If this issue were addressed this reader would have gotten five stars. I am debating on returning it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Watch Out - In time for Christmas?

    Ordered the Nook for my son on Dec. 12. Got an email on Dec. 13th that "Demands have exceeded expectations" Now it won't be shipped until Dec. 19th. That is pushing it! I called Customer Service they said they up shipping and it would arrive on Dec. 22....if it actually ships on the 19th! My thought... don't make promises you can not keep.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a huge disappointment, the screen becomes unresponsive or w

    What a huge disappointment, the screen becomes unresponsive or will just flip pages on its on. Often the screen will not unlock or the touch screen will not work. Very disappointed will not be purchasing anymore books for my Nook will be getting a Kindle. This is frustrating to say the least. I don't know if certain ones are having this issue or what but this is very frustrating, B&N I hope you fix this issue before you lose more customers. I don't expect to have something for 2 months and then have problems with it. Super disappointed in you B&N.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    So disappointing

    I love this little reader-it's so light and easy to hold and easy on the eyes-but the Barnes and Noble interface just leaves me more and more frustrated all the time. I chose the Nook Simple Touch for several reasons-the eInk touch screen, the size, the variety of file-types it supports and because I'm really not into the whole Masters of the Universe-thing that Amazon has going on.

    Unfortunately, it's just such a pain the the butt to get the books I buy onto the Nook that I'm about ready to give in and get the Kindle Touch. From what I can tell the main reason it's so difficult is because they made it so the Nook Simple Touch cannot connect to Wi-Fi that has WEP security. I'm going to say that again and if I'm wrong-be my guest-smack me down. but this is what the salesperson at my local Barnes and Noble told me - after I bought it.

    **He said B&N thinks that the security of WEP Wi-Fi is too low so B&N made it so you cannot access the web with your Nook Simple Touch via Wi-Fi that has WEP security.

    At the time, I thought--wow, how very big brother of them to look out for me like that--even though seems like I should be able to use whatever Wi-Fi I want-especially the one I pay for--AND--there's no problem accessing the web on my Nook Color via WEP Wi-Fi but hey-who am I to say?

    So the inability of the Nook S.T. to connect to the internet combined with a really PINA interface between the B&N online store, trying to get the book onto my PC then into my Nook for PC app, then transferring it to my Nook S.T. It is really frustrating when I know from experience that the Kindle interface is so smooth and effortless. I mean, it's no secret why Amazon has the Masters of the Universe-thing going on--they'e really good at doing what they do and making it effortless.

    So-I give the Nook Simple Touch two stars because once I get the book on it, it works wonderfully. Mine has amazing battery life, great readable screen, light, easy to hold, and fits in my purse (which is quite small). Unfortunately, I'm probably going to switch to the Kindle soon.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Internet Connection

    when i received the nook simple touch i soon found out that there was a way to reach the internet and go on facebook and other websites. after the update was uploaded i was unable to do this again. I do not appreciate this at all.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Great reader when it works. Mine worked well for about 9 mos. Th

    Great reader when it works. Mine worked well for about 9 mos. Then started changing pages on it's own and freezing. It finally quit working after about a year, right after it was out of warranty. Cutomer service is abysmal. I give it two stars because I really liked the reading experience when it worked. It's the reliability that is poor and customer sevice that is worse. They like to play the "let me put you on hold while I consult another resource or to speak with my supervisor" game Guess what? No one else ever comes on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    i bought my first nook in april, 2011, first generation, which w

    i bought my first nook in april, 2011, first generation, which worked wonderfully. I ended up trading up for the simple touch in january, 2012, which was fine too..for 6 months. They it became unresponsive, taking upto 10 min to restart. I then went to a BN store and the guy just offered me another one..didn't even bother to fix it. Well, 2 months later, the second one started acting up and I cannot get anyone to fix it!!! I calledthe number, who took 20 minutes to say what is to be done, but did nothing. The customer service in the store gave me a number to call and sent me on my way. I love my nook but can't seem to get any help. thinking of switching to a kindle.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    somewhat disapointed

    I was unable to read books in the store more than one hour. After that I was unable to finish reading the book that I had started. I either had to buy the book or "start" reading another book. Why read in the store if you cannot finish the book?

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Could be a lot better

    The PDF handling of the Simple Touch is pretty horrible. If the Kobo and Kindle can handle things like pan & zoom and landscape mode, why can't the Nook? Why B&N did not pay attention to the critisms of the original Nook is beyond me. We have been asking for these features since the very beginning and B&N refuses to listen. This should be an easy fix.

    Getting the MicroSD in and out can be tricky. Oh, and B&N used what appears to be grease paint to put the serial number on the device and it wipes right off when you are putting the MicroSD card in and out.

    Unless you know the trick keystrokes, you cannot find the MAC address without first registering the Nook, but if you have a MAC address control list, you can't access the network to register unless you know the MAC address. Catch-22. How hard would it have been to print the MAC on the device or box somewhere like many other products do? Or make it so that you can stop the automatic registration process to get to the MAC address? Again, this should be an easy fix.

    Hopefully the B&N product people read this and pay attention this time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Customer Service

    I like this product. It replaced a first edition Nook that stopped working.
    My only "ax to grind" is the lousy customer service. It over a month to get my replacement. I had called several times to follow the status of my request and I got a different answer every time I called. I finally asked for a supervisor.I talked to her and within 3 business days, I received my new unit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    jury is still out

    I purchased the nook right after Christmas,at first I could not get it to open,got that worked out.But the main situation I see is the battery life,very short,I've had to recharge it 4 times so far,and after about 2 hours of reading daily.So much for long term use.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    NOT FOR READING AT NIGHT OR IN DARK!!!

    I got this for Christmas by my boyfriend because I love to read and don't like to carry around a lot of books. However I also like to read in bed and he can't sleep because of the light being on. So I was a bit disappointed when I realized that it is not back-lit and does not allow you to read in the dark! I also do not like the fact that even with a gift card I had to input my credit card info before I could purchase a book to read on it! If you're not looking to read in the dark it serves it's purpose.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    ITS OKAY---thought it would be better

    i got the Nook Simple Touch for Christmas, and thought is was nice, until i started to mess around with it. the screen is not really bright so it was hard to see. whenever i tried to search something when connected with WiFi, it would redirect me back to the nooks homepage. very disappointed with that factor, but it's pretty good if you want to read. also, in order to read books even if free, u have to set up a credit card--didn't like that. overall i would not buy it again unless its just for reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Not for reading in the dark. Disappointing. Not back-lit like computer screen

    If you like to read in bed, or live in a place where there are frequent power failures (Vermont) this is NOT the ereader for you. I was given this as a gift by someone who thought the screen was back-lit like a computer screen so that the reader could use it in a darkened room without the need for a book light. Expect to have to buy a book light to use with it since the screen is not illuminated from within. Beware of the Nook light, it requires two expensive batteries to operate; it does not jack directly into the Nook and use its power.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Recently bought a Nook Simple Touch and find it bug-gy. I keep

    Recently bought a Nook Simple Touch and find it bug-gy. I keep getting error messages even though I have just used the activity that I supposedly cannot do. I successfully repeat the activity, and the error message stays on the screen. Also, I find it really frustrating that, if I make a spelling mistake while entering a search term, I have to go all the way back to the home page and start the process again. Hitting the back key just wipes everything out. Sometimes it is hard to get the Nook to do the activity I request (the button doesn't activate after repeated touches), and sometimes the Nook will jump to another page simply because my finger came within a half inch of the screen. Some functions are very sluggish. I really don't trust this machine much and doubt that I will spend very much on books out of fear that I will lose access to them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    it's great when it works. but it sure locks up alot.

    it's great when it works. but it sure locks up alot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7