BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 4
( 2462 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1319)

4 Star

(494)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(128)

1 Star

(344)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

401 out of 422 people found this review helpful.

iPad owners: this is a great secondary lightweight eReader for outdoors

I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to c...
I was never a big fan of plain eInk eReaders, but this device won me over with its touch interface, compact form factor, and extremely crisp text. Though I still use NOOK for iPad, I definitely use this device when outdoors or when I'm traveling or when I only want to carry a super-lightweight device. If you've been waiting for a simple yet elegant, highly functional eReader, this one is a winner. Minus one star for shorter-than-advertised standby battery life (about one month instead of two, which is still pretty darn good).

posted by wb38 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

240 out of 326 people found this review helpful.

Good system, but caution for those that transfer from 1st Gen Nook

I just received this as a gift. I already had the 1st Gen Nook with tons of content already on it. The transferring of content from one device to other is complicated and will cause hours of work to transfer and put content back into the proper places.

posted by pattybones on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 128 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    At first I loved my 1st generation nook, but then it stopped wor

    At first I loved my 1st generation nook, but then it stopped working. Luckily I paid for the extended warranty, so B&N sent a NOOK Simple Touch as a replacement. Within less than a year it has gone out. But B&N customer support is telling me that the replacement does not come with a year long manufacturer's warranty and are trying to make me pay for a replacement. I've gone through 2 nooks, and they have both died on me, why would I buy a 3rd. Ridiculous. B&N just loss a customer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    the simple nook when it works is great. unfortunately my batter

    the simple nook when it works is great. unfortunately my battery was never as fantastic as advertised and had a screen defect with hardly any use. my nook was covered under the one year warranty, but as others have noted i was provided a pre-owned nook as a replacement. this was never explained when i initially bought my nook, and i did ask what the policy was prior to purchasing. my new pre-owned nook does not like to be turned off, and initially wouldn't let me sign in. i hope barnes and nobles reconsiders their policy of replacements for defective nooks. needless to say, i will not be buying any futures nooks unless things change.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Bought a Nook Simple Touch reader last week, and noticed immedia

    Bought a Nook Simple Touch reader last week, and noticed immediately that the available internal memory was only 237 mb out of a supposed 2.0 GB total. I know that it has to use some of the memory for the operating system and some documents they load at the factory, but this seems to be quite a bit less available that what the specs indicate. I took it to the local store, where the gentleman at the service desk was very polite and helpful, and was also confused at the numbers. He then called the tech support number, and things began to unravel very quickly. He could not get through to the person to explain the meaning of the numbers, so they asked to speak to me. I took the phone and after a couple of minutes realized the person on the other end had absolutely no idea what she was doing. It was like speaking to a lamp post, and I finally told her to just forget it; I didn't really have a issue with the reader, just a question. The reader itself seems to be working ok, but it you purchase one, better hope you don't have to deal with their tech support crew, or it looks like you will be disappointed. The 2-star rating is due to the combination of the reader being good, but the support being poor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    LIKE IT BUT POOR QUALITY

    The good.....

    Battery life
    Size
    Features
    In general if it always worked fine, I would love it

    The bad.....
    The first one had to return it since it was draining the battery even when not used
    The second one did not even get to use it because the power button was loose
    The third one had to return after a couple months of light use because the screen would malfunction, will not respond, or lost calibration and did not recognize the right command

    BY THE WAY, THE REPLACEMENT YOU GET IS A REFURBISHED ONE!!!!!

    In summary, this is my last try....after this selling on eBay and moving to the competition....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Do not buy!

    I have this and have found a major flaw with pre-ordered books. You can not access them without unregistering your device and then re-regeristing it. That is not acceptable, and no one will answer why this happens, I only learned how to get my books after reading what other people had to do to get their books. I will not be using this device any more, until the problem is fixed and since it is still an issue with even the newest devices here, it does not seem like anyone plans to fix it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Just OK

    I purchased the Simple Touch because it was cheaper than the Kindle. I do like reading on my Nook but I am not impressed with the process of getting books transferred from the computer. I feel the Nook process is tedious at best. I find it best to buy my books directly from my Nook to avoid the hassle of moving them. I have family members who own the Kindle and they do not have these problems. So, some days I wish I had gone that direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    OK

    For Christmas I recently got the Nook simple touch. Yes, it is a very good e reader, if you have a credit card! Even with a gift card, they require a credit card number! And what if they are hacked? So I have been unable to purchase any book. True it would be good if I could buy a book! Total ripoff!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    I can't link any social integration account. It comes a blank sc

    I can't link any social integration account. It comes a blank screen. The screen is too dark or gray (Whatever you say)Except all of these is good. Great navigation panel, great infrared touchscreen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Wonderful for outdoor use. Simple usage. Dealing with the settin

    Wonderful for outdoor use. Simple usage. Dealing with the settings are pretty simple. I had no problem connecting to any wi-fi. Screen is pretty good in means of sensitivity and response.
    However, when it comes to underlining the books and taking notes, it is an isolation. You cannot transfer anything to any other device. Such a disappointment for people who take a lot of notes, like myself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    I am confused and just a little miffed. I own a Nook Color and

    I am confused and just a little miffed. I own a Nook Color and my husband own a Nook Tablet (both first generation) and have been happy with each device. Our experience has not been
    so great with the new and improved Nook Simple Touch. Over the last 11 months we have bought three (3) Simple Touches as gifts. Two of the three had power adapters in the box with the unit when the gifts were opened. The third did not support staff at the store insisted we had to buy the power adapter (just as the online specs states). when we got the adapter home it wouldn't work with the device. It took replacing the entire device with a completely different machine before electricity from an outlet would power the device. It was also a very unpleasant experience dealing with the staff at the Barnes and Noble store, due to their lack of knowledge of what you needed to have. They were condescending and treated me like I was an idiot. They said my purchase receipt was too old in order for me to exchange the defective device even though the gift receipt that I got with the device didn't expire for another month. After arguing with two sales clerks and a manager, I finally got a device that worked. If only one third of the devices are delivered with a power adapters and if only a third of the devices will even work with an AC adapter there is clearly something wrong with the technology, packaging and marketing. After this experience I am seriously considering dumping my Nooks on Craig's List and switching to the Kindle Fire.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Placed order on the 9th, scheduled for delivery on the 18th. Th

    Placed order on the 9th, scheduled for delivery on the 18th. That's cray nowadays

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Feels cheap, all the buttons feel cheap, I inserted a SD card an

    Feels cheap, all the buttons feel cheap, I inserted a SD card and it would not lock into place. Bought this for a friend and am embarrassed
    to give it to him. I own an originale Kindle whis has is of much better quality 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    I got this from my parents for getting all a's after seventh gra

    I got this from my parents for getting all a's after seventh grade. At first, it was really amazing, but after a few months of having it, I began to have some trouble. I had already added my sister to my nook friends list, but then one day, i found that my messages wouldn't go through, and that my nook friend requests weren't going through. I went to Barnes and Noble to get help, but they didn't know what was wrong with it. Overall, it's good for reading, and browsing the shop, but it doesn't work very well for anything else.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    GREAT PRODUCT IF YOU ONLY WANT TO READ INDOORS TAKE IT OUTSIDE A

    GREAT PRODUCT IF YOU ONLY WANT TO READ INDOORS TAKE IT OUTSIDE AND IT OVERHEATS IN MINUTES I think the how to use books were useless I have had it a few months and have finally figured everything out or so I thought, it was working fine last night when I turned it off. Have spent all day trying to figure out how to get the wifi back on no luck so far well my husband didn't need dinner anyway!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Like others, I loved my Nook Simple Touch. Until it stopped work

    Like others, I loved my Nook Simple Touch. Until it stopped working. 

    The nook worked fine for several months, I had 100's of books on it, and was using it every day with no problems. Then I set the nook down. Work was getting busy and I just did not have time to read (its bad when you get that busy). Anyways, the nook sat for a few months. I come back to read before bed one night, power up the nook, and the screen is unresponsive. I cant even unlock it. After about 30 minutes of struggling, I finally manage to gain access to the unit, read a book, and put it away.  A few days later I come back, and the same thing happens. I go to the Nook forums. Nothing. Hard resets wont help, the screen just seems to have given up. I finally get it working again, but now when I try to select a book from the library, it opens a book that is not even on the screen I am looking at! I just now gave up and broke the d### thing over my knee. Did you know the battery is only held in place with scotch tape? So much for Nook.
    I would go back and try another nook if I knew they had beefed up the software, but it looks like nothing has changed. I am not sure I want to try the kindle either. Oh well.  

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    I juts bought this and opened it up. The screen flickers and the

    I juts bought this and opened it up. The screen flickers and the touch screen already stopped working. Taking it to a store tomorrow. Hopefully I can get it fix or a new one. I was so excited for this. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    yesterdaay I purchased Nook Simple touch followed all instructio

    yesterdaay I purchased Nook Simple touch followed all instructions, charged it up spent most of the evening
    trying to register it
    and today the last hour
    all I getis choose a net work
    to use have I purchased rubbish?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    I had a nook for about 24 hours. It's kept freezing and the page

    I had a nook for about 24 hours. It's kept freezing and the pages wouldn't turn. So I returned it and bought  a kindle instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Great for reading, although there are occasional ghosting issues

    Great for reading, although there are occasional ghosting issues with the text. But doing anything else is extremely frustrating if you've used other readers. I'm a long-term Kindle user and everything besides reading is just simpler with the Kindle. One thing in particular is setting up Shelves to organize your books, because you have to go through ALL of your books to set up every Shelf, and if you add a couple of new ones, you still have to go through them all to find that new one - heaven help you if the book is Zorro - because you can only sort them by title when you're shelving. Also if you want to side load books, you can't do it wirelessly. And you can't delete books from the device, at least not sideloaded books, unless you connect to the computer via USB. All things that are much simpler on Kindle. But like I said, for simply reading, it's Nice enough.  There are just too many things beyond reading that vex me about it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    My nook quit working shortly after the warranty expired. First t

    My nook quit working shortly after the warranty expired. First the page forward and back
    buttons quit working well, then the on/off button malfunctioned a lot, finally screen froze and made it useless. Called customer support and got the Philippines. Those agents are not helpful at all, and it's impossible to find anyone who is without going into the store. Suffice it to say my next reader will be Kindle.
    Lousy customer service, lousy unit. Loved the free and cheap books, though. But I can get those on kindle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 128 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7