BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight

Average Rating 3
( 775 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(316)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(244)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

307 out of 324 people found this review helpful.

A JOY

I didn't think it was possible to be any happier than I was with my Simple Touch. Truly, all I wanted was to "Read Forever." I never thought about a light. After all, anyplace I could read a real book, I could read my Simple Touch. Yes, I kept the light low if I read wh...
I didn't think it was possible to be any happier than I was with my Simple Touch. Truly, all I wanted was to "Read Forever." I never thought about a light. After all, anyplace I could read a real book, I could read my Simple Touch. Yes, I kept the light low if I read while my husband was sleeping, and yes, there were places too dark for reading, but I didn't question them. Until the SoftGlow came out. Then I knew at once I had to have one. I've had it now four days, and it makes a wonderful thing even more wonderful. The light is perfect—easy on your eyes, easy to use, and, frankly, since you don't use it all the time, the effect on the battery is a non issue.

I waffled over buying an eReader for probably two years, not wanting to give into a technology that could diminish the importance of real books in our culture. I've been a serious reader all my life, loving all the usual things about actual books. But I also realized the positive things a simple, small device that allowed you to carry as many books as you could want around in your purse or pocket could offer. It was Stephen King who tipped the scales. He said two things. One was "Technology is a river, and it's better to swim with it than against it." The other was that a book, an audio tape, or an eReader is only the delivery system; it's the story that matters. After that I was only two days from my B&N store and one of the best purchases I've ever made. The Simple Touch was everything I wanted it to be—and more. The pleasure of holding and using it was completely unexpected. The staff at B&N is been wonderful, and I read even more than I did before. And BTW, I still buy real books, too. There are many I want to own in hardcover and keep on my shelves.

It's nice to swim with the river.

posted by JULIANN1 on May 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

852 out of 892 people found this review helpful.

Like several others giving reviews, I have had the exact same pr

Like several others giving reviews, I have had the exact same problem, with a small "tear" showing up in the back of the screen allowing light to leach through when using the Glow Light. Like others, I have taken exceptional care with the unit and it certainl...
Like several others giving reviews, I have had the exact same problem, with a small "tear" showing up in the back of the screen allowing light to leach through when using the Glow Light. Like others, I have taken exceptional care with the unit and it certainly wasn't abused. It's almost brand new, and my experience with other Nook products (I have owned them all) has been positive and I have purchased about $1,000 in Nook Books in the last year. I took it back to the store, with the receipt, box and everything else it came with, to get a replacement, believing that there would be no problem. First, the store didn't have any in stock, so they couldn't replace it. Then the representative dialed, what apparently is their call center and handed me the phone to deal with him. To say this guy was rude would be a vast understatement. Then he demanded that I give him my credit card information (which of course they already have. How else to they think I buy books?) and told me that it had to be returned to them within 14 days (again, I was standing at the Nook Counter in the store and was leaving it with them to send in, so had no way of controlling how long it took them to send it back to their own support) and then said that if they determined that I was the one that cracked the screen, they would charge my credit card for a new one. Wait, didn't I say several times the screen wasn't cracked, it had a tear from UNDER the screen? To give him credit, he WAS reading from a script, so I guess if that's all you have to go by, that's the kind of answers you get. When I asked questions he became quite agitated and simply reread from the script.

The bottom line is that I spend a lot of money with Barnes and Noble and until this problem had never returned anything to them in my life. My first experience with trying to return something that has the exact same problem as others have talked about here, was met with somebody reading from a script, demanding my credit card and acting like I must have driven over the Nook with my car and expected them to give me a new one.

I left the unit on the counter, with the receipt, and told them to throw it in the trash and walked out. I have talked several other people into buying the Nook instead of the Kindle, but those days are done. Guess I too, like others here, are out $140, but I don't mind paying for good lessons. The lesson is that people go to Barnes and Noble for the product. They leave because of the total lack of support for that product

posted by Skkwyk on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 775 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Afraid to buy one

    I'm afraid to buy one - there seem to be many problems, and everyone is complaining about customer service. It looks like about 25 % of people who wrote a review had a major problem with the device.

    34 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    I LOVED my Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight UNTIL it developed t

    I LOVED my Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight UNTIL it developed the same flaw on the screen that other reviewers have mentioned. Like others, I also, kept my Nook in a protective case and handled it with care, so I was greatly disappointed with this defect. It is quite distracting while trying to read. Although my Kindle is not equipped with the GlowLight type feature, it is clearly a more durable product, and Amazon support is outstanding. I hope that my experience with B&N will resolve in a positive manner, and that this defect will be fixed. So far though, it remains an unresolved issue.

    33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    $$$ Out the Window!

    Turned on my Nook today, and like the other reviewers, was shocked to see a glowing spot in my screen. I took this to the local B & N and was told that there was a hole in the screen. Two clerks could not see any physical damage and another had to take it into a dark area, only to return saying there was a hole. Really??? There are no holes or scratches ON the screen surface (none are visible and none can be felt), and the glow appears to be UNDERNEATH the screen. I have had this device LESS than 6 months and now it is TRASH! No insurance, no replacement. Shame on me for thinking the product would last longer than 5 months! With the number of complaints regarding this problem, one has to think it was a manufacturing defect. I enjoyed using the glowlight feature, but the device is too cheaply made. Would NOT recommend this product to anyone. Expensive mistake!

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Don't buy this! Extremely fragile screen.

    8 weeks ago I upgraded from the Nook Simple Touch to the Nook Simple Touch with Glowlight., I loved the Glowlight function, which was so easy to use and effective. Until a tiny, but insanely distracting, hole appeared in the screen. I have been extremely careful with the Nook, it is always in a case and I haven't taken it out of the house. Why did Barnes and Noble release the product knowing how fragile the screen was? I am so disappointed about this, I love the regular Nook Simple Touch and feel completely tricked into buying something that is completely unusable after 8 weeks.

    31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    I would recommend that no one purchase this device you will be n

    I would recommend that no one purchase this device you will be nothing but disappointed. The original e-ink nook was a superior product. this is a cheap piece of technology that falls short in every way. I am not sure what B&N is doing by the new Nook Simple is now inferior the the Kindle. A complete waste of money and you will find no help with tech support. they don't speak English and don't know about the product. The minute you ask a question they don't know the answer to they place you on hold and never return. An overall horrendous experience.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    I love the idea of being able to read at night but I returned mi

    I love the idea of being able to read at night but I returned mine because of the glowlight, it suddenly died out and so even though it was an e-reader I was still going to be in the hole $40. So if you buy an e-reader go for the SimpleTouch or better yet check out the Kindles.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Second Glowlight, second tear/hole in the screen. This is so f

    Second Glowlight, second tear/hole in the screen. This is so frustrating because the screen is great while it works. I've already bought a bunch of books so I have to stick with the nook but I am giving up on the glowlight. The first one lasted a few months before the hole appeared. This next one lasted only two months. Luckily I bought it at Target and hopefully I can return it without the problems others have had.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    The best e-reader around. The only features I think are missing

    The best e-reader around. The only features I think are missing are dictionaries for other languages than English (I read in Spanish too and I'm trying to start reading in French) and an open browser (it would be useful in order to google certain definitions I can't find in the included dictionary or look for them in Wikipedia). Other than that, I think the light is perfect for reading at any time (this is my first e-reader and I can't believe people have been using e-reader without a built-on light all this time), also its lightness, size and battery life and storage capacity make for a perfect substitute for a physical book. PLEASE BARNES & NOBLE UPGRADE YOUR FIRMWARE TO SUPPORT FOREIGN LANGUAGE DICTIONARIES AND I'LL GIVE YOU THE 5 STARS THIS DEVICE CERTAINLY DESERVES.

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Great upgrade from the nook edition

    I've had the nook with glow light for about two weeks and I love it. It's an upgrade for me from having the nook first edition.Which is big,heavy and bulky. When I opened this box I was amazed at how small it was and light compared to the one I was walking around. Now I able to fit in smaller bags without a problem which I love since I commute to work.

    The glow light is awesome at night or in dark places. It's a great feature to finally have. Don't know why it took so long to come out with. I find the battery life last longer on this nook than the first edition I'm not charging as much as I used to when I read the nook for long period of times. Also, I noticed it loads books seamlessly even when your going through options on the Nook. It was definitely a great upgrade and I love using this little guy!

    The only thing like one reviewer mentioned I don't like that you can't rearrange the home screen to your liken.

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    Glowing hole in screen x2 devices

    I loved this device. It is lightweight, has a great battery, and I used it to read in bed. Unfortunately, the device developed a glowing "hole" in the screen after a few weeks. The B&N store replaced it. After a month the second one did the same thing. The store issued a credit and I purchased the tablet. I don't like the tablet as well. The tablet is heavier and the battery life is only about 5 hours. (Not 11). I am keeping the tablet since it is great to be able to read in the dark without disturbing my hubby.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I have had mine for almost 3 weeks now. It works great, the glo

    I have had mine for almost 3 weeks now. It works great, the glow light is nice. I only regret is that I can't seem to rearrange the home screen to show what I want it to. I may just need to delve deeper into the users manual. Which I will do once I run out of books to read.

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Within approximately forty-eight hours I purchased (and returned

    Within approximately forty-eight hours I purchased (and returned) two defective Nooks. One had a defective Wi-Fi switch, causing the battery to drain within an hour or so; another simply rebooted infinitely, rendering it completely unusable. About three weeks ago I purchased a third (from a different store, in a different area) and was finally happy with the device. Now, however, after treating the device with EXTREME care and only using the glowlight function four or five times, there is one of those infamous holes in my screen, rendering the light irritating and effectively useless. After being a loyal Nook user for years, this might cause me to switch to another devic. Hope B&N will allow me to return the bloody thing...

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    The GlowLight is wonderful , but the screen is too fragile. Yest

    The GlowLight is wonderful , but the screen is too fragile. Yesterday I
    turned on the GlowLight and saw a gloowing pitch in the screen. It had
    never been dropped, thrown or in any other way abused.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    MUST BUY

    You will LOVE the glow light it works perfect!!!!!!! DON'T BUY KINDLE BEWARE OF KINDLE CLIP ON LIGHT. this is so much better because it has the glow light, a power adapter, a built in anti glare screen protector. on kindle it is $183 with all of that but no glow light a clip on light. this is a lot better than the nook simple touch. the glow light makes the look better. THIS IS A MUST BUY. BEWARE OF KINDLE!!!!!!!!!

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    'Tear' in back-lit screen.

    I bought this Nook with glow-light on 8/25/2012. Today I turned it on like normal. Lit up the back-light and noticed a 'tear' in the screen. It's to do with the backlight, as there is no damage or crack in the screen.

    I have ready many reviews and see this is an occurring problem. I stored it in original padded box and never dropped it nor damaged it.

    I would not recommend as I see from 100's of reviews it happens to other purchasers.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Abolutely loved until screen developed hole that back light shin

    Abolutely loved until screen developed hole that back light shines through. Apparently this is a developing problem from the other reviewers that have had the same problem. I had mine a couple months before problem. It is a great product if they can get this fixed.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've had mine almost two weeks now and I absolutely love it! Bei

    I've had mine almost two weeks now and I absolutely love it! Being able to set how bright the glow is great! I've got mine set on a very low setting and it lights up the screen perfectly. I no longer disturb my husband at night with my reading and it doesn't illuminate the entire room like the clip on light I had for my ST.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    I have had my nook for 6 months. I originally got it for book re

    I have had my nook for 6 months. I originally got it for book reports at school, it worked great. This summer though I haven't used it much, but I hadn't charged it in a while. Of course the nook dies, so I plug it in and I get a prompt that it will turn on in 15 mins. After 48 hours it still hasn't turned on.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Everything is great except for the turn on bottom that got loose

    Everything is great except for the turn on bottom that got loose and now rattles. I was getting this horrible noise until I got fed up with it and used tape to hold it down. Great product but they should pay more the Chinese to do a better job.

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Great idea, weak screen - small annoying light producing tear

    Like many of the past reviewers, I have experienced small tear in the screen which produces an annoying bright light through the tear. I also have taken extremely good care of this product, but the screen just scratches too easy. I bought it a padded case to protect the screen, but it ended up getting a small scratch from the tip of my watch while I was reading it (my watch is rubber... it feels pretty soft, but not soft enough to not cause a scratch).

    I previously had the original nook, which I've had since it came out and never had any problems with the screen or the device itself. It's sad that nook released a product with this fragile of a screen, because it seems like it'll be inevitable that the screen will be scratched no matter how careful you are.

    I have had the nook with glow light now since it came out (I was super excited about it, because I love to read in the dark). So it is way past the return period. I hope that every person who has this problem writes a negative review, so that BN can know that there is a big problem with these screens and fix it.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 775 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 39