Customer Reviews for

NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight

Average Rating 3
( 775 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(316)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(244)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

307 out of 324 people found this review helpful.

A JOY

I didn't think it was possible to be any happier than I was with my Simple Touch. Truly, all I wanted was to "Read Forever." I never thought about a light. After all, anyplace I could read a real book, I could read my Simple Touch. Yes, I kept the light low if I read wh...
I didn't think it was possible to be any happier than I was with my Simple Touch. Truly, all I wanted was to "Read Forever." I never thought about a light. After all, anyplace I could read a real book, I could read my Simple Touch. Yes, I kept the light low if I read while my husband was sleeping, and yes, there were places too dark for reading, but I didn't question them. Until the SoftGlow came out. Then I knew at once I had to have one. I've had it now four days, and it makes a wonderful thing even more wonderful. The light is perfect—easy on your eyes, easy to use, and, frankly, since you don't use it all the time, the effect on the battery is a non issue.

I waffled over buying an eReader for probably two years, not wanting to give into a technology that could diminish the importance of real books in our culture. I've been a serious reader all my life, loving all the usual things about actual books. But I also realized the positive things a simple, small device that allowed you to carry as many books as you could want around in your purse or pocket could offer. It was Stephen King who tipped the scales. He said two things. One was "Technology is a river, and it's better to swim with it than against it." The other was that a book, an audio tape, or an eReader is only the delivery system; it's the story that matters. After that I was only two days from my B&N store and one of the best purchases I've ever made. The Simple Touch was everything I wanted it to be—and more. The pleasure of holding and using it was completely unexpected. The staff at B&N is been wonderful, and I read even more than I did before. And BTW, I still buy real books, too. There are many I want to own in hardcover and keep on my shelves.

It's nice to swim with the river.

posted by JULIANN1 on May 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

851 out of 891 people found this review helpful.

Like several others giving reviews, I have had the exact same pr

Like several others giving reviews, I have had the exact same problem, with a small "tear" showing up in the back of the screen allowing light to leach through when using the Glow Light. Like others, I have taken exceptional care with the unit and it certainl...
Like several others giving reviews, I have had the exact same problem, with a small "tear" showing up in the back of the screen allowing light to leach through when using the Glow Light. Like others, I have taken exceptional care with the unit and it certainly wasn't abused. It's almost brand new, and my experience with other Nook products (I have owned them all) has been positive and I have purchased about $1,000 in Nook Books in the last year. I took it back to the store, with the receipt, box and everything else it came with, to get a replacement, believing that there would be no problem. First, the store didn't have any in stock, so they couldn't replace it. Then the representative dialed, what apparently is their call center and handed me the phone to deal with him. To say this guy was rude would be a vast understatement. Then he demanded that I give him my credit card information (which of course they already have. How else to they think I buy books?) and told me that it had to be returned to them within 14 days (again, I was standing at the Nook Counter in the store and was leaving it with them to send in, so had no way of controlling how long it took them to send it back to their own support) and then said that if they determined that I was the one that cracked the screen, they would charge my credit card for a new one. Wait, didn't I say several times the screen wasn't cracked, it had a tear from UNDER the screen? To give him credit, he WAS reading from a script, so I guess if that's all you have to go by, that's the kind of answers you get. When I asked questions he became quite agitated and simply reread from the script.

The bottom line is that I spend a lot of money with Barnes and Noble and until this problem had never returned anything to them in my life. My first experience with trying to return something that has the exact same problem as others have talked about here, was met with somebody reading from a script, demanding my credit card and acting like I must have driven over the Nook with my car and expected them to give me a new one.

I left the unit on the counter, with the receipt, and told them to throw it in the trash and walked out. I have talked several other people into buying the Nook instead of the Kindle, but those days are done. Guess I too, like others here, are out $140, but I don't mind paying for good lessons. The lesson is that people go to Barnes and Noble for the product. They leave because of the total lack of support for that product

posted by Skkwyk on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Love the concept of the glow light

    This is my third nook. The glow should be the "perfect" combination. However, I, too, have had the bright hole/slit at the bottom of my screen (1 1/2inch from bottom and 3/4 inch from side). This happened with the first glow I received so they sent me a replacement. And, now, it has happened with the replacement. Customer service has been great and will send another one. Either of these nooks have not been dropped, punctured, etc. and have been kept in a protective case since I had them. There is evidently a problem in the manufacturing/material that is used. I hope they solve this problem because I plan to not give up on it

    188 out of 195 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Abolutely loved until screen developed hole that back light shin

    Abolutely loved until screen developed hole that back light shines through. Apparently this is a developing problem from the other reviewers that have had the same problem. I had mine a couple months before problem. It is a great product if they can get this fixed.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    I also am still waiting for my Nook with the Glow light. I put m

    I also am still waiting for my Nook with the Glow light. I put my order in 3 weeks ago at my store, they received 20 around May 1st and didn't have enough for the reserved list and don't know when they will get more. It screwed up my Mothers' Day present.

    9 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    I purchased the Nook Glowlight for the novelty of the nightlight

    I purchased the Nook Glowlight for the novelty of the nightlight. I had a Kindle 3G but of course thought the nook would be better ( is the grass always greener?) Big mistake. The Nook screen would freeze when I tried to read in the sun, and, at times, went from1/2 charged to dead for no good reason. Called support and talked to some person with broken english who was zero help other than saying to return to store I purchased it at. I did that and while employees tried to be helpful they sent me home after a reboot. Of course, this didn't help. Returned to store and they had me speak to someone over the phone who asked for credit card info which I had to give out in hearing range of other customers. They did send me a new unit but had only a few days to return the old or be charged. New unit works better but still slow at times with touch screen. The print on the screen also is less than steller and no where as good as my old Kindle 3G. The Amazon online book selection is also far superior including a top 100 paid as well as side by side 100 free selection. If you are considering buying this wait a couple of weeks until the new Amazon reader with a light comes out. My bet is you'll be far happier with the entire package. I really wanted this to work but am disappointed and have gone back to the old Kindle. As someone who owns both, I advise you to wait for the Kindle. thanks

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Screen cracks very easily.

    I was blowing some dust off my nook and bam! A freaking screen crack appeared where I blew. Piece of crap nook.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    The concept of a glowlight is really genius, and I love the erea

    The concept of a glowlight is really genius, and I love the ereader in
    every way (light, weight) but it is extremely fragile. I did not drop
    it, or bang it in any way, in fact I bought every case they had
    available and a "hole" appeared in the screen making it nearly
    impossible to read without being distracted. The manager in the store
    was very helpful and they did replace it, but is this gonna keep
    happening? She told me that this was the first time someone had returned
    one because of this problem. But reading other reviews I find out I'm
    not the only one. And I did check out the floor model which had numerous
    holes. Bottom line, I wouldn't recomend this product to anyone on the
    sole reason that the screen is in a way defective. If I could get my
    money back I would look into another ereader, even though this one was
    exactly what I was looking for, minus the holey screen.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    I've had the same problem 'HOLE on my Nook Glowlight' 3 times. I

    I've had the same problem 'HOLE on my Nook Glowlight' 3 times. I'm on my 4th replacement and it seemed to be doing well until I saw tiny glow on the right side last week which is not bad compared to the others but this morning another hole (glow) came out of the middle of the page! This is a major set-back when trying to read at night. I hope they fix it soon.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Great built in light for reading in the darkness... but

    Well, the first month I had this model I thought it was the best available in the market. Then this famous hole appeared on my screen, way visible when glowlight is on.
    There is also this thing about no support for other languages in the built in dictionary. B&N should update Nook's software more often.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    I love the GlowLight feature and its speedy charging time. Howe

    I love the GlowLight feature and its speedy charging time. However, the delay in between changing pages or transitioning between different components on the device is so slow. Instead of transitioning from one page to another, it flashes back and forth between the two for a half of a second before transitioning. I was going to use my Nook as a replacement for reading books on my Android phone, but the delay is not worth the larger reading screen. If you are someone used to speedy fast technology, the delay is pestering. My device will be going back to the store tomorrow.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    The Battery Doesn't Last as Long as B&N Claims

    I'm on my second NOOK with Glowlight. I'd had the first one approximately a month and charged it twice in that time. The initial charge when I first got it and then a second time. All of a sudden it started losing its charge very quickly. I would charge it 100% and 4 hours later the battery would be at 50% and I hadn't even used it. Customer service the first time wasn't very helpful and I was told that B&N doesn't recognize this as an issue. I contacted customer support a second time two days later and a replacement was sent. Second NOOK and this battery isn't much better. I have to charge every three days, which is a far cry from 1-2 months touted on B&N's website. I haven't had much need to use the glowlight that often and rarely do I use the wireless. I'm not certain if I should call customer support again or not. It it weren't for the battery issues, it would be the perfect e-reader.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    I loved my nook and kept it safe for over a year. Then, one day,

    I loved my nook and kept it safe for over a year. Then, one day, the same stupid tear everyone else has mentioned showed up, rendering the "glowlight" feature completely useless. And because it had been just a few months shy of my one year warranty, they won't replace it. I've owned Nooks for years and so I can't even switch to Kindle because I'll lose hundreds of dollars worth of books I've bought through Barnes and Noble. Overall I am just extremely frustrated and wary to buy another Nook just to have the same problem! I'd like to see Barnes and Noble actually ADDRESS this issue that so many people are having problems with!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    After returning two faulty Nook Glowlights within 2 months, I fi

    After returning two faulty Nook Glowlights within 2 months, I finally got a winner and loved it. I treated it gingerly, including keeping it in a leather case, after reading all the complaints about the tears in the screens. I didn't understand exactly what the tear was all about until I was recently in a store which sold all ereaders and there was one Nook with several holes with light shining through. I was lucky....so I thought until just now. Here is it 8 months later and what do I see when I turn on the light in my Nook? A HOLE!!! I'm livid!!

    The light coming through the hole is soooooooo distracting and can't be avoided since I use my Nook with the light on the majority of the time as I find the grey screen too dark.

    I love all the features of the Nook but will NOT buy another nor will I recommend it to anyone. I can't believe how proudly I showed my Nook to everyone. Now I will show them what NOT to buy. My Nook is obviously beyond the warranty period. I'm furious!!!!!! The first 2 faulty units should have been the message to me. Unfortunately I learned my lesson and will purchase the Kobo Glo which is a far superior unit. For all of you contemplating a Nook GlowLight....DON'T DO IT!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    is anyone from B&N corporate reading the reviews and hearing

    is anyone from B&N corporate reading the reviews and hearing about the poor customer service and inferior product? i have one of the earlier nooks. after 6 months, i discovered the dreaded page turner crack. B&N replace the unit (warranty), but with their "refurbished" prodcut. then, after less than a year, the page turner cracked again on the other side. BN would do NOTHING! it was basically, oh well, can't help you. the refurbished unit should have been covered under the same warranty as a new unit. i love my nook and do a lot of reading on it. i was going to get the newer glowlight version because i only want to use it as a reading device. after reading about the problems with this product and the run around you get trying to get it replaced, i have decided against it. i really wish that BN would step up deliver, but until they change their practices, i just won't purchase another device.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Sure the product is great when it works. I absolutely loved that

    Sure the product is great when it works. I absolutely loved that it had a light and I didnt have to have the big light on in the room while reading at night. I had mine a month and a half and my screen quit working, the product would not power down and the Glow Light just quit working. There was no crack in the screen or anything that I could have done, I was in the middle of reading and the screen just turned into three screens with lines all over it. I have heard numerous complaints about the screens. When I tried to call the customer service to get help with exchanging it, they were experiencing a high volume of calls...wonder why!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    This would have been the best seller list if it wasn't for the b

    This would have been the best seller list if it wasn't for the burn out spot and customer support.
    customer support is a big one for me.  Many products has lost their sales on me for bad support alone.
    B&N, I like your store of books, but a bad product and bad customer support for that product, does not set well with me.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    I just brought the simple touch with the GlowLight, Like several

    I just brought the simple touch with the GlowLight, Like several others giving the reviews. Iam having a problem with the light.. But I have not read what Barnes and & noble is doning to handle this problem. I had a problem with the 1st addition Nook and returnd it 3 time before I have one that I love... but when the GlowLight came out my husband brought this one for me... it is was such a problem retuning thing back to Barnes and Noble.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Battery Issue

    My daughters started to use their Nook w/ Glowlight with a fully charge (100%), only after 10-15 mins of reading w/ the light on you can see the battery meter moved a good 10% or so. If it moves like that, there's no way it will last for a month before the next charge. Other than the battery issue, it a pretty nice hardware with the light. Will see by end of the week where it stands. Might have to return if battery life really sucks.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Screen is ridiculously delicate.  First one was ruined within a

    Screen is ridiculously delicate.  First one was ruined within a month because I had no clue it was so easy to ruin.  Replacement unit I guarded with my life.  Still ended up with very annoying crack in the glowlight that caused migraines from the brightness seeping through.  Continued to use it without the glowlight feature... only to have it completely freeze a few months later.  I'm so done with this nook!  (literally and figuratively, I guess.)  My old one is three years old and currently in use by my daughter who doesn't even use the case.  The thing is still working like a champ while my NST w/ GlowLight has been a mongo pain in the butt.  The only positive?  The battery life.  Loved the battery life!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    My daughter received this product for her birthday. It had tears

    My daughter received this product for her birthday. It had tears in the screen within a week. There doesn't seem to be any place on this site where I can find out how much it is for a repair or a replacement, and after reading similar reviews, I guess it just doesn't seem to be worth calling in to customer service. It's a shame. The glow light idea is wonderful, but the screens are crap and a tear or crack or hole causes a blinding distraction from your reading experience. I would not purchase a Nook again. I'm sticking with my Kindle. Over a year and it's still in perfect condition.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    My first Nook was amazing, however I had an incident with my 3 y

    My first Nook was amazing, however I had an incident with my 3 year old and thus the extra insurance came in handy. Since I got my refurbished version, I have had nothing but trouble. At first it wouldn't allow me to read my prior purchases on my device, and now it won't hold a charge at all. Unfortunately, B & N has also decided that their customer service is also crappy. I wish I had gone with a Kindle (even though I liked my original Nook better than a Kindle) because Amazon's customer service has alwa ys been so much better.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4