Customer Reviews for

NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight

Average Rating 3
( 775 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(316)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(244)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

307 out of 324 people found this review helpful.

A JOY

I didn't think it was possible to be any happier than I was with my Simple Touch. Truly, all I wanted was to "Read Forever." I never thought about a light. After all, anyplace I could read a real book, I could read my Simple Touch. Yes, I kept the light low if I read wh...
I didn't think it was possible to be any happier than I was with my Simple Touch. Truly, all I wanted was to "Read Forever." I never thought about a light. After all, anyplace I could read a real book, I could read my Simple Touch. Yes, I kept the light low if I read while my husband was sleeping, and yes, there were places too dark for reading, but I didn't question them. Until the SoftGlow came out. Then I knew at once I had to have one. I've had it now four days, and it makes a wonderful thing even more wonderful. The light is perfect—easy on your eyes, easy to use, and, frankly, since you don't use it all the time, the effect on the battery is a non issue.

I waffled over buying an eReader for probably two years, not wanting to give into a technology that could diminish the importance of real books in our culture. I've been a serious reader all my life, loving all the usual things about actual books. But I also realized the positive things a simple, small device that allowed you to carry as many books as you could want around in your purse or pocket could offer. It was Stephen King who tipped the scales. He said two things. One was "Technology is a river, and it's better to swim with it than against it." The other was that a book, an audio tape, or an eReader is only the delivery system; it's the story that matters. After that I was only two days from my B&N store and one of the best purchases I've ever made. The Simple Touch was everything I wanted it to be—and more. The pleasure of holding and using it was completely unexpected. The staff at B&N is been wonderful, and I read even more than I did before. And BTW, I still buy real books, too. There are many I want to own in hardcover and keep on my shelves.

It's nice to swim with the river.

posted by JULIANN1 on May 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

852 out of 892 people found this review helpful.

Like several others giving reviews, I have had the exact same pr

Like several others giving reviews, I have had the exact same problem, with a small "tear" showing up in the back of the screen allowing light to leach through when using the Glow Light. Like others, I have taken exceptional care with the unit and it certainl...
Like several others giving reviews, I have had the exact same problem, with a small "tear" showing up in the back of the screen allowing light to leach through when using the Glow Light. Like others, I have taken exceptional care with the unit and it certainly wasn't abused. It's almost brand new, and my experience with other Nook products (I have owned them all) has been positive and I have purchased about $1,000 in Nook Books in the last year. I took it back to the store, with the receipt, box and everything else it came with, to get a replacement, believing that there would be no problem. First, the store didn't have any in stock, so they couldn't replace it. Then the representative dialed, what apparently is their call center and handed me the phone to deal with him. To say this guy was rude would be a vast understatement. Then he demanded that I give him my credit card information (which of course they already have. How else to they think I buy books?) and told me that it had to be returned to them within 14 days (again, I was standing at the Nook Counter in the store and was leaving it with them to send in, so had no way of controlling how long it took them to send it back to their own support) and then said that if they determined that I was the one that cracked the screen, they would charge my credit card for a new one. Wait, didn't I say several times the screen wasn't cracked, it had a tear from UNDER the screen? To give him credit, he WAS reading from a script, so I guess if that's all you have to go by, that's the kind of answers you get. When I asked questions he became quite agitated and simply reread from the script.

The bottom line is that I spend a lot of money with Barnes and Noble and until this problem had never returned anything to them in my life. My first experience with trying to return something that has the exact same problem as others have talked about here, was met with somebody reading from a script, demanding my credit card and acting like I must have driven over the Nook with my car and expected them to give me a new one.

I left the unit on the counter, with the receipt, and told them to throw it in the trash and walked out. I have talked several other people into buying the Nook instead of the Kindle, but those days are done. Guess I too, like others here, are out $140, but I don't mind paying for good lessons. The lesson is that people go to Barnes and Noble for the product. They leave because of the total lack of support for that product

posted by Skkwyk on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    I am very disappointed with your Nook Simple Touch with Glowligh

    I am very disappointed with your Nook Simple Touch with Glowlight!!!!! I bought it in the spring and there's this weird spot underneath the screen that seems to have malfunctioned. When the glowlight is on, it's very distracting. I tried to take it to customer service but was told that they couldn't do anything for me since it was the screen. She said they were very delicate. If I had known just how delicate they were, I would have bought another Kindle. I take care of my things and always have cases for all my gadgets. This really saddens me so much considering how much time I spend in your store. Just thought you should know how delicate your product is.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    I loved the GlowLight function until, mine too, developed a tear

    I loved the GlowLight function until, mine too, developed a tear in the screen. I have not seen any responses from B&N regarding this defect.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    I also have a hole in my screen and I am very careful with my no

    I also have a hole in my screen and I am very careful with my nook. and the battery does not last a month. wish I'd have bought the kindle

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I love the size and light but around the 2 week mark there was a

    I love the size and light but around the 2 week mark there was a tiny crack at the edge of the screen which is now over an inch and seems to creep a little farther every day, I wouldn't have tried to ignore it past the exchange date if I had known it was going to spread and have eye catching bright spots in it. It has always been in a case so I'm not really sure what caused it. I guess over all it seems more delicate than I was expecting. I never buy extended warranties but this is the one time I wish I would have, and definitely recommend it if you buy the glowlight.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    I love the glowlight although it does not light the surface even

    I love the glowlight although it does not light the surface evenly, BUT:
    - No other dictionaries loaded then only English to English.
    - Difficulty loading books via Calibre, everytime I get strange hiccups
    - No other settings then USA only (can not adjust time zone for Europe use.
    Compared to my other reader the SONY PRS-T1:
    - No built in web browser, No other dictionaries, no MP3 playeer, etc. The ideal reader is a PRS-T1 with glow light.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Dislikes:  You have to register a credit card even before buying

    Dislikes:
     You have to register a credit card even before buying a free book.
    No way to borrow books from a library without hooking up to a computer.
    The glow light isn't even, it is brighter on the sides than in the middle.
    The one-button-for-everything is annoying, you have to hold down on it forever to get it to do what you want it to.
    The power button only works if you press from the back, I tried for days working with it trying to turn it off by pushing it from the top.
    After only having had it for a month, there is a tear under the protective screen in the glow light. I babied the thing, it was nothing I did. I will be returning.
    No flap on the USB drive! Dust and dirt is going to get in there, and make charging impossible.
    Touch screen not very responsive, have to tap a few times before it does what I want it to.

    Likes:
     The screen does allow you to read in sunlight and such.
    It does not get hot after hours of usage.
    Long battery life, not 2 months though. Maybe two weeks, using the glowlight and having internet hooked up.
    Has a nice texture, easy to hold, extremely light.


    I was not disappointed in the product until there was a rip in the glowlight, and according to the other reviews it is an on-going problem.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Scratches very easily

    I bought this online and it came in the mail with a scratch on the screen. You can only see it when the glow light is shining through, so if you don't use the glow light, it shouldn't be a big issue. I returned it to the store and they were very good about exchanging it right there for a new one. Now, a few weeks later it has a scratch on it. I must have nicked the screen with my fingernail because when I'm not reading it, it's in the case. I would suggest getting a screen protector for this nook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Thanks everyone for your reviews! I absolutely LOVE my Nook Sim

    Thanks everyone for your reviews! I absolutely LOVE my Nook Simple Touch which survives all forms of abuse and reading marathons without a whimper. However, I have been seriously considering getting the GlowLight version since the only complaint I have is not being able to read in low light situations. The consistent comments about the failures of the GlowLight reader have convinced me to never try it! I'll stick with the little clip-on light for reading in the dark. It's amazing that a company like B&N would continue to offer a product that has angered and disappointed so many loyal customers.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Good product until the darn thing cracks all the time its a must

    Good product until the darn thing cracks all the time its a must have to have the insurance on the device.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Disappointing. The specs state that the Nook can go over a month

    Disappointing. The specs state that the Nook can go over a month using GlowLight before recharging. I read an hour at night with GlowLight and need to recharge every week!.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Yes--it got a tear in the screen in short time. It was not abus

    Yes--it got a tear in the screen in short time. It was not abused.

    I called B&N customer svc and they were very helpful. However--they didn't disclose is that they send you used/refurbished reader. When I got the "new" one, I opted to keep the one with the hole. The used one was truly used, and less crisp. I am disappointed. I only have it for six weeks.

    Otherwise, this is an awesome reader. I love going into the local store and reading while I get coffee at the cafe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    There are lots of neat things about this reader - it is lightwei

    There are lots of neat things about this reader - it is lightweight, clear, easy to use. But after two months, the screen showed a small "rip" and the light showed through. It was under warranty so I called customer service and someone who I could barely understand told me after 1/2 hour of "troubleshooting" that instead of replacing it with a new nook, they would send me a "preowned" nook. I probably would not buy another nook due to the customer service and their refusal to replace the product with a new product.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    The glowing tear appeared on my 3 month old Nook, too. Never mis

    The glowing tear appeared on my 3 month old Nook, too. Never mishandled or dropped. It just appeared when I turned on the glow light one evening. I've learned to ignore it but am not pleased. The backlighting is not as flat and even as I would have liked.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Quite possible the worst customer service I have encountered in

    Quite possible the worst customer service I have encountered in my life.  After Thanksgiving my husband bought  the Nook with glowlight  intending it to be a Christmas gift, but gave it to me the first week of December as I was going to purchase one immediately.  I then had to get a new library card in order to use the current system.  So on or about the 6th of December I registered the Nook and thinking all was well I attempted to use it in bed.  The light was leaking through the page in four areas.  So the next day I phoned customer service.  As a matter of fact I phoned customer service many times that day and was on hold between 30 an 50 minutes each and every time without ever speaking to anyone.  So during my last call while still on hold I tried to do an on-line chat and waited for a rep for over a half hour.  At long last a rep came on line, introduced himself by name and before I had even typed 3 words, indicated that, as I was unresponsive, he was terminating the chat.  I phoned many times in the next few days, each and every time waiting long periods before ever reaching a human.  The human I finally reached, told me  no problem, gave me a return mailing label along with a return number, then indicated my new nook would be arriving soon.  It was here in 4 days.  But it was a refurbished nook.  I did not open it.  Meanwhile, replay my previous experience with trying to contact  someone.  Many hours on hold.  When I finally reached a human this time, I was told my Nook was out of warranty.  I tried and tried and tried  to explain that I had not had the item for even a week when my problem started.  She indicated that the Nook was purchased in October.  My guess it went to the retailer on October, but perhaps she cannot differentiate.   This was the first time I have ever raised my voice to a customer support rep.  I finally talked to a supervisor who indicated a new Nook would be sent,  gave me 2 new shipping labels, then finally solved my problem.  I suppose I spent 14-16 hours total attempting to solve what should have been a minor problem.  After all this seems to be a normal and ongoing problem with the Nook.  All in all I am very happy the Nook with glowlight that I finally  received.  It is just what I needed.  My advise is that if you buy it in a store, open the box and try the glowlight before leaving the store.  I expect if this one ever quits functioning, I will not ever purchase another Barnes and Noble product.     

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    all these reviews about the glow ligh "hole" convinced

    all these reviews about the glow ligh "hole" convinced me I did not want a Nook so I bought a Kindle paperwhite (has a glow light) which I have had for 2 months and am completely satisfied with. I have been an avid reader since high school and simply love my Kindle. I have friends who have had their Kindle for years and have no problems. My advice is get a Kindle to start with...you won't have any problems.
    MaeMae

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    i love the nook but i am having problems like the rest of the p

    i love the nook but i am having problems like the rest of the people with a tear on the back ground this is the second nook that has done this i will be working on my third by wednesday ...until they get this problem fixed i would not recomend this if you are going to do alot of reading at night

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    As with user Skkwyk, I had a tear appear in the screen of my Sim

    As with user Skkwyk, I had a tear appear in the screen of my Simple touch with glow light. Not once but twice and I am going to try for a third. I had a Nook 1st Gen for over two years and am completely converted to ebooks. I may go to the Simple Touch if it has a more conventional screen and just attach a light as I did with the 1st Gen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    I was excited at first, but I should have listen to all the othe

    I was excited at first, but I should have listen to all the others
    advice on the e-reader. I only had it for less than a week and it got
    that hole in it that everyone else was talking about. I just returned it
    and did not want another one. Why bother? It has been on the market long
    enough I figured to work out all the kinks. It also moved to slow to the
    commands requested. I'll be waiting a very long time before I purchase
    a device from anyone else.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Disappointed

    I had high hopes for using the Nook Simple Touch in settings with limited light (like a tent). Unfortunately, the glowlight feature was the only thing that worked as advertised for me. Navigating by using the touch screen was infuriating, as it often failed to respond despite repeated "touches". The text was well-lit but varied in both crispness and intensity of the individual letters. Finally, I was unable to find any way to instruct the device not to return to the home page when powered up. In my opinion, it is much more convenient (and logical) for an ereader to return to the page of the book last being read. My hope is that the retail store from which I purchased my Nook Simple Touch will take it back.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    At first I was so delighted with my Nook with Glow Light - I cou

    At first I was so delighted with my Nook with Glow Light - I could read at night and not disturb my husband.
     I also got the "tear' in the screen with the light coming through - I also tried to return it to a Barnes & Noble
     but they no longer carried them.  I was given the 1-800-THE-BOOK to call which I did and they were very
     helpful.  I received a replacement within about 5 business days and received an email on how to return
     the "broken" Nook.  I spoke with the 800 customer help line a second time with an issue that I think was
     particular to me; each Nook was registered to two different email accounts I have -  he helped me and
    fixed the problem.  Yes there is definitely a problem with the screen and yes you do have to return it by
    mail, but this is true of a lot of electronic equipment.  I think that B&N will stand behind their product and
    are now fully aware there is a problem with the equipment not the consumer's handling of it. I was treated
    with courtesy and professionally that is why the three stars - two for the product and 3.5 for the customer service.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4