×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

North of Nowhere (Alex McKnight Series #4)
  • Alternative view 1 of North of Nowhere (Alex McKnight Series #4)
  • Alternative view 2 of North of Nowhere (Alex McKnight Series #4)
  • Alternative view 3 of North of Nowhere (Alex McKnight Series #4)
<Previous >Next
     

North of Nowhere (Alex McKnight Series #4)

4.0 23
by Steve Hamilton
 

See All Formats & Editions

"I really like his main character, Alex McKnight, and I'm ready to revisit Paradise, Michigan."—James Patterson

New York Times Bestselling Author of Die a Stranger

Steve Hamilton's novels have won the mystery world's most prestigious awards. Now, in North of Nowhere, he returns to Michigan's Upper Peninsula, where

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

North of Nowhere (Alex McKnight Series #4) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
smoochys More than 1 year ago
The story starts the way all of the McKnight books do....he's reluctantly pulled into doing something he doesn't want to do. The story is told very cleverly and the ending is a total surprise. This is a worthy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
A reader can always count on vivid descriptions of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, Lake Superior, the weather, and similar environmental factors. To some degree, these all play a role in this tale. However, human greed and stupidity are the major components of the plot, which begins with Alex McKnight suffering from an apparent fit of depression. (It should perhaps be noted that this novel was written over a decade ago, now available for the first time in paperback.) His friend, Jackie Connery, who runs the Glasgow Inn, Alex&rsquo;s usual hangout. drags him out of his cabin to fill in a slot in a poker game, which is soon invaded by three masked men who rob the host&rsquo;s safe and destroy a collection of artifacts. From this beginning, Alex becomes more and more involved in discovering the reason for the home invasion and with the help of his ex-partner (he still insists he is no longer a PI despite the fact that he continues his predilection for investigating every little thing) seeks to solve the mystery. Written with Steve Hamilton&rsquo;s accustomed smoothness, the novel moves forward with the usual complications. As it progresses, the reader is kept off balance, and the conclusion is most unexpected. Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MexicoDan More than 1 year ago
One of the best in the Alex McKnight series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
corvettemary More than 1 year ago
The Alex McKnight series is awesome. Great stories!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ThewordfromHerd More than 1 year ago
I am always looking to find a replacement for my beloved John McDonald who wrote among his numerous novels, the Travis McGee "color" mystery's. He wrote the "Long Lavender Look", "Pale Gray for Guilt","Free Fall in Crimson", and so many more, 21 in all before he passed away in 1986. I truly enjoy Sue Grafton and her female detective, Kinsey Milhone, but I haven't quite found that substitute for the quirky but always thinking beach bum, Travis McGee. In Steve Hamilton's Alex McKnight we have the retired cop, from bullet wounds (with one still inside) and mental scars from the traumatic way he and his partner were taken down, but who is still strong enough to smell out trouble and work out a break down the walls approach to a solution. Sometimes it gets real messy, but hang in there it's coming. It's never slow and I became so involved in the second novel with all the moving around the area that I "Mapquested" it so I could see the lay of the land. Now I want to go there sometime and get the feel of this very "outback" country in the North of America. It has the perfect settings for the exact elements he is looking for as a writer. There are weather extremes, remote locations, a kind of backwoods law of the jungle,and enough connections to fill the six degrees of separation requirement plausibly. For me it is "grabber" reading. Once I'm in the first chapter, I'm hooked and look forward to spending the next couple of hours devouring his every word. If you like Travis McGee, I think you'll like Alex McKnight, another outstanding "Mac" detective for mystery lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must say the book has its moments. Action sequences are highlights. However, some of the dialog seems forced and hard to believe. My namesake character is still one of the best in Noveldome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dew: She leaps over her sister, then scratched (with claws sheathed) her sisters back "That was the best one" She meowed panting. Lynx: "I agree" she meowed