×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nose Down, Eyes Up: A Novel
     

Nose Down, Eyes Up: A Novel

3.4 32
by Merrill Markoe
 

See All Formats & Editions

At forty-seven, Gil is the world’s oldest twenty-two-year-old man, living in relative contentment with his four dogs, including the alpha, Jimmy. When he stumbles upon Jimmy delivering lectures on canine manipulative techniques to the rest of the dogs in the neighborhood, Gil’s not particularly surprised, and his eyes light up with dollar signs. But their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nose down, Eyes Up 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Laurann More than 1 year ago
I have started seeking out fiction books about animals, and I had high hopes for this one after reading the cover. But this book was a big disappointment to me. The tone is too casual and (I think) childish. The characters are flat, unbelievable, and boring. The book invoked absolutely no emotion for me. If you want to read a book about thinking or talking dogs, I'd recommend The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein or The Dogs of Babel by Carolyn Parkhurst. Both of these are much more worth your time, in my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Merrill Markoe does it again: creating a wonderfully delightful dog story that is nothing less than pure fun. Another thoroughly enjoyable book in a long line of great reads! If you like this one, definitely check out Walking In Circles Before Lying Down.
DogloverOH More than 1 year ago
This is the second book of hers I have read and while I enjoyed Walking in Circles Before Lying down much more than this book, I still enjoy the author's writing style. She gets to the point and develops her characters very well. Where the story may get a little lost in places, her characters make the books worth reading.
Hates-TV More than 1 year ago
Fast read and funny at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little crass, although there were a few parts where I laughed aloud. Still looking forward to sampling other works by this author...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
daisysmamu More than 1 year ago
I kinda liked this book. I have 3 4-legged kids, so I could identify. The main character is a total jerk, and the best parts of the book are when he's interacting with the dogs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Forty something Gil works as a handyman at an elderly couples' vacation home where he also resides for free. His girlfriend Sara works as an animal communication expert, which has enabled Gil to understand what his four dogs want. He is taken aback when he realizes the top canine in his pack Jimmy the alpha is providing lessons and lectures to the neighborhood dogs on a variety of surviving with human topics. Jimmy teaches the other dogs how to properly beg especially for treats and the merits of indoor vs. outside peeing in nasty weather. When Gil meets up with his former wife, she offers him work remodeling her guesthouse. He accepts, but Jimmy persuades him to take him with him. As he ignores Jimmy for time with his remarried former wife, Gil makes it clear to his four legged BFF that he is not his companion's biological father. Upset to know he is adopted Jimmy seeks out his biological parents especially his mother; not realizing how nearby she is. This is a terrific pooch lit parable that focuses on what makes a family without being overly too cute. Jimmy and Gil are a wonderful pairing as Jimmy assumes the man who raised him is his daddy until he learns the shattering truth. His observations on family, love, and loyalty will obviously provide dog lovers with a charmer, but other readers will appreciate the wisdom of Jimmy's teachings starting with the title. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago