×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Not Dead and Not for Sale
     

Not Dead and Not for Sale

3.7 44
by Scott Weiland
 

See All Formats & Editions

The instant New York Times bestseller: the lead singer of the Stone Temple Pilots and Velvet Revolver delivers an exhilarating memoir of scaling the pinnacle of rock stardom, plunging into the chasm of addiction and incarceration, and then clawing his way back to the top again and again.

In the early 1990s, Stone Temple Pilots—not U2, not

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Not Dead and Not for Sale 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
johnh418 More than 1 year ago
I'm a freaking huge Scott Weiland fan. For many years I have been fascinated by his music, and even more by his live performances. He's such an energetic, creative, passionate performer when he's in front of a crowd doing his thing. I was looking forward to getting my hands on this book ever since hearing Scott would be writing this years ago. It took years for me to get my hands on it, and then 2.5 hours to read the whole thing cover to cover. It usually takes me several days to get through a book with almost 300 pages. This book has tons of filler space in it. Everything from large over sized lyrics stretched across the page to solid black and white pages with nothing... Any serious Scott Weiland, STP, Velvet Revolver fan will know 80% of the information Scott shares in this book. I get the impression Scott started "holding back" when it came to actually writing this book. He does give you some insight to his personal battles, but then as soon as he tells you something, the sentence seems to stop instantly, then it's a new chapter. There is very little personal insight to the behind the scenes workings of STP and VR. The little tid bits shared about the bands has been on the internet for years by now. (Spoiler Alert) There's a brief sentence mentioning about the backstage drama with Velvet Revolver. He says something like "Slash's wife had started placing herself in the band's meetings." That's it. He doesn't even share any examples of what happened in any of the meetings. There could have been a whole chapter of page after page writing just about those meetings... It just seemed like it jumped around a lot, and kinda felt rushed as I got to the stuff I really wanted to hear about the behind the scenes life of the bands.
Tracy Carlson More than 1 year ago
What I expected to be a fascinating read turned out to be a complete let down. For someone as beautifully gifted as Scott Weiland is I find it difficult to comprehend how this book got published. I am an incredibly huge fan of anything Scott Weiland but cannot fathom that this is his best work. The book jumped around and was hard to follow where we were in his life. Huge milestones and stories were simply not there.
BD-Swingin More than 1 year ago
The book was great insight into one of the best rock groups ever. The book was filled with great never before seen photos of the band in the early days when they were just starting out. This book is a must read for fans that aren't even STP fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really excited to read this book, and am a little disappointed. I feel like it was poorly written. I did not get much out of it. Fall To Pieces was much much better!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it! This book is hard to put down. Very interesting and funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i want to know more!
Lilo78 More than 1 year ago
I was am huge Scott Weiland fan. I was expecting a bit more. I had read Mary's bio, and absolutely loved it. She talked so much about the love they had for each other, and did not diss him once (nor did he in his book), and about her drug and bipolar problems. But there was just so much more background missing. I wanted to know more about his bringing up, the relationship with his mother, and his fight with bipolar. I saw him in concert back in October, the love he had for his children at the show was phenomenal, and Mary was there as well. He could have just told more about the past and how it is better for him now and for the future.
CelticSoup More than 1 year ago
Its not the usual lurid, name dropping celebrity tell all memoir. Thats why i liked it so much. Scott gives you glimpses into his life, makes no lame excuses and blames nobody for his troubles. The man is a survivor. He has my respect.
skorpio1313 More than 1 year ago
I am a HUUUUGE Scott Weiland fan. So, I was very excited when i heard about this book. It's not the easiest read, though. He tends to write like its a song and not a book. You have to spend too much time deciphering what he's trying to say. Like most of his songs. He's led an interesting life, no doubt...but you have to really wanna know about this guy to be able to get into this one.
chadbordes More than 1 year ago
Good+overview+of+Scott+and+the+band.++I+appreciated+the+fact+that+it+wasnt+too+long.++Great+insight+and+some+cool+history.
melo1 More than 1 year ago
I've been a S.W. fan forever and was excited to read his memoir. Unfortunately it was shockingly disappointing. With his colorful personality I couldnt wait to dive into his life but unfortunately all I got was a list of facts about his life. There is virtually no insight what-so-ever in this book. Some of the "chapters" were 1 page long. It is filled with facts and almost no story behind them. There were interesting facts that I wanted to know more about but unfortunately he would state a fact and change the subject. There is nothing new in this book you wouldnt already know from just being a fan. This was a 2 hour read and I am less of a fan now than before I read it. I am disappointed that he and the publisher would think this book would be worth my 24.00 I paid for it. Buy Scar Tissue or Heroine Diaries for a good Rock Star biography instead
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put this book down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved learning about scott. Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A short entertaining read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago