×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Not Just a Pretty Face: The Ugly Side of the Beauty Industry
     

Not Just a Pretty Face: The Ugly Side of the Beauty Industry

4.6 11
by Stacy Malkan
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0865715742

ISBN-13: 9780865715745

Pub. Date: 10/01/2007

Publisher: New Society Publishers

Lead in lipstick? 1,4 dioxane in baby soap? Coal tar in shampoo? How is this possible? Simple. The $35 billion cosmetics industry is so powerful they’ve kept themselves unregulated for decades. Not Just a Pretty Face chronicles the quest that led a group of health and environmental activists to the world’s largest cosmetics companies to ask some tough

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Not Just a Pretty Face: The Ugly Side of the Beauty Industry 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was surprising to learn all the unlisted hazardous ingredients lurking in the products I use every day. Just because their stated purpose is to keep me clean and groomed does not mean they are good for me. What this book has to say is so important that I plan to send it as a present to friends and family members. As a nurse, I plan to spread its message of warning to all my patients.
LabRat_NC More than 1 year ago
Before reading this book I had confidence in my beauty products b/c I work in the pharmaceutical industry. It was eye opening. I can't believe what the beuty industry has gotten away with. A lot of reagents that I work with in the lab are used in our everyday products that we put in our mouths & skin. Definetly recommend to read & pass on to anyone you care about. Also check out www.cosmeticdatabase.org to find out about most consumer products.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had no idea what all those ingredients on my shampoo bottle meant, or even how to pronounce them, let alone what they could be doing to my body. As someone who seems to have a pretty simple morning routine, this book made me realize that my 10 'beauty' products (from shampoo to lotion) could cause more harm than good in the long run. This book gives you the resources (websites, databases, history) to find out what exactly the cosmetics industry is putting in your products, without anyone's over-site. They 'regulate' themselves, and thereby play by their own rules. It's time to make your own rules, and take control of what you put in and on your body. Stacy Malkan puts this info in your hands so you can make an informed decision. I highly recommend this book for all the women in your life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
joyfultoo More than 1 year ago
This book will open your eyes to the unexceptable ingredients we and our family and friends use everyday. Something must be done to change what is allowed. Canada and Europe already have much stricter laws and won't accept make made in the US unless they remove the "bad" stuff. Why should we be exposed? Read and find out what is being done. Book could be updated, but work continues to help us all. Thanks Stacey Malkan!!! and EWG, Environmental Working Group!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book is great because not only does it provide information about the beauty industry and some of the harmful chemicals that they use (even when there are safer alternatives available); but it also offers tools, to help consumers purchase safe alternatives and information on companies, who are doing better. After reading this book, I don't feel like that the beauty industry is unchangable. The way the information is presented shows that changes are possible and within our power as consumers to change. Happy Reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago