×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nutcracker
  • Alternative view 1 of Nutcracker
  • Alternative view 2 of Nutcracker
  • Alternative view 3 of Nutcracker
  • Alternative view 4 of Nutcracker
  • Alternative view 5 of Nutcracker
<Previous >Next
     

Nutcracker

4.0 14
by Susan Jeffers
 

See All Formats & Editions

Caldecott Honor and New York Times bestselling artist Susan Jeffers has created a Nutcracker as only she can—with lavish illustrations, magnificent detail, and enchanting holiday scenes on every page. This is the Nutcracker as you’ve never seen it before!

Join Marie, Fritz, and the intriguing Nutcracker himself on a magical

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nutcracker 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
latinaartemis More than 1 year ago
This book exceeded my expectations. I read this to my girls (who are 3 and 5 years old) and they loved it. The pictures are gorgeous and the story is short and to-the-point. I read the auther's notes, and her main goal was to make the Nutcracker short enough to keep the attention of young children. This story is exactly that, I would recommend it to an elementary school teacher to read to his/her students for story time, or parents with young children. Although it's short, it doesn't take away from the story.
Merfemfay77 More than 1 year ago
Luvly art & story. THE ONLY ENDING FOR THIS TALE. SHOULD HAV MOR UBOUT Thair Time in thee kingdem of sweets, EXACTLY the WAY the ORIGINAL DID, HOWEVER.
memaJ More than 1 year ago
this was the best told nutcracker i have read in years for children ages 4 to 8. it was clear to the point and understandable. the pictures were great too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jeffers is one of my favorite illustrators of children's classic. I try to always give her books as gifts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted my 4 year old daughter to have some idea of the Nutcracker story before attending the ballet. Most nutcracker stories are not about the Ballet, this one is. It gives a good overview of the story in simple short pages. The only drawbacks are that this author calls the main character Marie when I have always seen her name to be Clara and for people in Seattle the PNB version of the ballet is different from the standard Ballet story so it is a bit confusing for little ones.
Funtoread More than 1 year ago
Beautiful illustrations and the story is told in a traditional, engaging manner. Children of all ages will love this book!
GAMOMof4 More than 1 year ago
We have a large collection of Christmas story books and this is one of my 3 sons' favorites. They love to see the toy soldiers and the mouse king. Next year we even plan to see the ballet! I'm certain as my infant daughter gets older that it will be a favorite of hers as well.The illustrations are beautiful and the story is simply told and well paced.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I understand making the story a little different in order to be appropriate for young children, but WHY did she change her name from Clara to Marie?? Very disappointing.
lb7 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Jeffers artwork is known to me and is very beautiful. I purchased this book for my 4 year old grand-daughter who will hopefully see her cousin in the ballet next Christmas. Jeffers was correct when she said that most 'nutcracker' stories are not well suited for the younger child. Kudos Susan Jeffers!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The illustrations are beautiful and enchanting and add a lot to the story. I didn't like the fact that the author took liberties with a classic story and changed the storyline. I expected to read the traditional story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i love it
TXNO More than 1 year ago
I bought this book to introduce my granddaughter to The Nutcracker before actually taking her to the ballet. She became familiar with the story and enjoyed the ballet that much more. In the US, the main character is commonly referred to as Clara. In this book her name was Maria......other than that, it was a nice addition to our Christmas children's library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago