×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

O Is for Outlaw (Kinsey Millhone Series #15)
     

O Is for Outlaw (Kinsey Millhone Series #15)

4.5 52
by Sue Grafton
 

See All Formats & Editions

The call comes on a Monday morning from a guy who scavenges defaulted storage units at auction. The weekend before, he'd bought a stack of cardboard boxes. In one, there was a collection of childhood memorabilia with Kinsey's name all over it.

Though she's never been one for personal possessions, curiousity is a power force. What she finds among the items

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

O Is for Outlaw (Kinsey Millhone Series #15) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the change of pace on this one because it was more personal. Kinsey gets a call regarding her first husband that she has not spoken with in years. No one hires her on this case, but Kinsey decides to work out a case that was long since buried that her ex was working on. I love this series and after the last book Im glad to see it pick back up!
Slim20 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book way more than the last one. It was nice to get a little more info about Kinsey's past. Very good book! Through fourteen books, fans have been fed short rations when it comes to Kinsey Millhone's past: a morsel here, a dollop there. We know of the aunt who raised her, the second husband who left her, the long-lost family up the California coast. But husband number one remained a blip on the screen until now. The call comes on a Monday morning from a guy who scavenges defaulted storage units at auction. Last week he bought a stack. They had stuff in them--Kinsey stuff. For thirty bucks, he'll sell her the lot. Kinsey's never been one for personal possessions, but curiosity wins out and she hands over a twenty (she may be curious but she loves a bargain). What she finds amid childhood memorabilia is an old undelivered letter. It will force her to reexamine her beliefs about the breakup of that first marriage, about the honor of that first husband, about an old unsolved murder. It will put her life in the gravest peril."O" Is for Outlaw: Kinsey's fifteenth adventure into the dark side of human nature.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this book Grafton offers an extensive peak into Kinseys paat. This gives the reader a better understanding of Kinseys present day habits, although sometimes one may feel dissapointed in her. Another book to add to the list of good books by Grafton.
Avid_Reader_TC More than 1 year ago
I have read all: from A to U. ... and loved them all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. I'm a newbie to th alphebet books but this was really great. In this one Kinsey sorts through her past to get a grip on why her 1st ex was shot. I found it very interesting to explore her past as previosly it was only mentioned.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sue Grafton reveals a part of private Investigator, Kinsey Millhone's past we did not know about. Her first husband, Mickey Magruder, features in this latest crime thriller. He does not personally have a large part to play in the action but Kinsey's case is built around him. The story opens neatly with a sales scavenger offering her a box of her personal effects that had to have been put in storage by Magruder. He has been shot a week before this event with a gun registered to Kinsey. This puts her in the frame for his shooting. The real shooter also went to the trouble of making a phone call to her apartment from Mickey's place the day before the shooting. Kinsey follows the trail her ex. has left behind, uncovering another crime before she tracks down the gunman.
Bookworm1951 More than 1 year ago
Another excellent read. This installment of the series gives you more background into Kinsey's earlier life and the events that helped shape her personality. As with every human being, there were times when she could have made better choices. You get more of a feel for what makes Kinsey, Kinsey. Great plot. Two different crimes that are intertwined with several people from the past. It's a book that really makes you pay attention. Read it when you can really concentrate on what's happening or you could get lost due to the many characters, etc. It's best to start at the beginning with A is for Alibi and work your way through the alphabet. An excellent series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love O IS FOR OUTLAW, just as I've loved all the other alphabet mysteries by Sue Grafton. Can't say there were any big surprises in this well plotted formula book--yet it's one more page turner under Ms Grafton's belt. If you're a Kinsey Millhone fan, you will love this book, too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read many mystery series but Sue Grafton's Alphabet series is by far the greatest ever !! From A to O, thus far, all 15 books have been a HUGE delight. People....thats 15 winners in a row, how many authors can claim that ? And the good part is she isn't showing no signs of losing steam. Her writing is so perfect in this genre, I am already sad thinking about the last book ( Z is for ? ) Sue Grafton, my hat is off to you and I bow deeply. Thanks for all the fun. Kinsey Milhone forever.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anyone who is a fan of Sue's alphabet books will absolutely love this one. It is a brief look into Kinsey's past. If you are like me you will love the suspense, but also Kinsey's quick-wit which Grafton writes so well. I think these books will become American Classics.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't have the time to sit and read a book, so that's why I fell in love with Sue Grafton's audio books. Her narrator, Judy Kaye, has brought Kinsey Millhone to life for me that has me continually wanting more. I can actually visulize, through Judy's narration, what Kinsey looks & sounds like. Her devotion to friends Henry & Rosie and her remorse when learning that she may have been wrong...yet again. Sue Grafton has done a marvelous job in making Kinsey Millhone a multidemensional character just like the rest of us. If you haven't read any Grafton I suggest you begin at 'A' and enjoy your way through to 'O.' I promise you won't regret it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recently became a fan of this gifted writer and have read all 14 of her previous stories within the last 3 weeks. I will look forward to reading her next books as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too much info at describing countryside.
bucmjt More than 1 year ago
Sue Grafton is a master of mystery and O is for Outlaw is no exception. Here Kinsey has to face up to some hasty decisions that she has made in her past and adjust her reality. In the end, her actions were correct, just for the wrong reasons. This entire book I knew who was responsible and that knowledge was reinforced on several occasions. But, guess what? Once again, I was wrong. Grafton took the last few chapters to turn the entire mystery upside down. I have never been happier to be wrong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bravo SG! Well done. Loved it. Love Kinsey!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mayasmommy More than 1 year ago
Off to read the next book.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BolivarJ More than 1 year ago
O is for Outstanding!!! " If Life is a play, then there's a logical explanation, and underlying tale that pulls the whole of it together, however clouded it appears" Kinsey Millhone O Is For Outlaw, Outstanding!!! In the fifteenth installment of the Millhone's franchise, Grafton takes us back decades From the Vietnam War to the late Eighties, and again succeeds, this time by giving us an insight into Kinsey's past. Only Sue Grafton, can manage with her narrative style to write a slow- paced story for the first half and turn it to a beatiful and well crafted novel with twists and turns and a spectacular and unforgetable ending. O is for Outlaw's plot is brilliant. The story begins with a phone call from from Teddy Rich, who offers to sell Kinsey a box of her personal items that he had bought at a repossesion auction. In the box, Kinsey finds a letter that could have provided as an alibi for Mickey Magruder, her first ex- husband years ago, as he was accused of murder, and also marks the time when Kinsey herself walked away from his life. " What is it that prompts us to reenact our unresolved issues? we revisit our wounds, constructing the past in hopes that this time we can make the ending turn right" Kinsey Millhone. O is for Outlaw is a story about redemption. Fourteen years later Kinsey realizes she was wrong about Mickey, wrong about her marriage, and about all the circunstances that surrounded her at the time. Now as she tries to come to a closure with Mickey, she learns he has been shot, and it is Kinsey's duty to find the person who shot him. With a fascinating cast of characters such as: Mickey Magruder, Duncan Oaks, Benny Quintero, Carlin Duffy, Dixie Hightower, Mark Bethel and more, Grafton is able to capture readers with all the twists and turns and unable to guess what lies ahead. What is great about O is for Outlaw is that Grafton gives us a glimpse of some of the events and people that shaped Kinsey's life, and made her character more human. The novel is touching, funny, but sad and melancholic at times, and Kinsey is at her best. This is a novel you will not forget soon. Definitely , one of my favorites.