×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Obedience: A Novel
     

Obedience: A Novel

3.6 30
by Will Lavender
 

See All Formats & Editions

“With superb confidence, Lavender constructs a brilliant fictional web of lies, inventively warping the psychological thriller to fit the confines of a scholarly investigation.” —Kirkus Reviews


When the students in Winchester University’s Logic and Reasoning 204 arrive for their first day of class, they are greeted not with a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Obedience 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a thin, lifeless and airless work this is! The characters are arbitrary, inconsistent and shallow, manipulated throughout by the author to accommodate a plot too obviously impressed with it's own 'cleverness.' And it is a cleverness that exists only in the author's mind. I persevered through this book only because, after reading a positive review in the NY Times, I was sure that there had to be a payoff. Alas, the end was as unsatisfying and unsuccessful as the begining and the endless middle!
katknit More than 1 year ago
Reading Obedience is similar to walking through a fun house full of distorting mirrors and churning floors. The premise is a simple one. Professor Williams presents his logic class with a single assignment: to prevent a murder that will otherwise happen when the course ends. As the students begin to ponder the clues that Williams doles out piecemeal, they grow increasingly uncomfortable with the strangeness of the scenario, and little by little, their abilities to maintain a grasp on reality begin to shred. A few of the students become obsessed, and it is their experiences that form the nucleus of this complicated, sinuous mystery. There are some contrivances in this plot, but basically, it holds together well, and the reader, if willing, can be easily drawn into the general aura of apprehension that permeates this tale. It's difficult to perceive what logic has to do with the puzzle, but ethics - or lack thereof - do play a prominent role. Obedience is a strong first novel, and I look forward to Lavender's next outing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I will not recap the plot of this novel, but I will say it has enough twists and turns to satisfy even the most demanding reader. It is more than that. It is a read that takes you through an amazing journey -- as an academic I really appreciated the scenario--as a reader I appreciated a brilliantly written book. Bravo Will Lavender
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. I tend to find these book predictable but in this case I was wrong. I like the characters and I like the fact that I was wrong in my assumptions on what was going on. It held my interest.It is a good read for a rainy day or while on vacation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started reading this at 3 pm one afternoon and couldn't put it down until I had finished at 10 pm that night! The plot is full of twists and turns, and the mystery is intriguing. The ending is completely unpredictable, but slightly disappointing. There are many characters to keep track of, and it's fun trying to solve the mystery. It keeps you hooked until the very end! Great to discuss with friends.
emily_reads More than 1 year ago
While I recommend this book for its multi-layered and suspenseful plot, the ending is a bit disappointing. Nevertheless, I think it is worth the read and I am looking forward to Lavender's next book! Read more of my mini reviews on twitter!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was impressed by the book. I had never read anything by Will Lavender an d it's not typically the genre I would choose first, but the plot sounded interested. Throughout the book you are kept guessing as to what is going to happen next. I read the whole book in one day because I really wanted to know. And although I thought I had figured it all out, I was totally shocked by the ending. I never, ever expected it to end as it did. Obedience is thrilling, thought provoking, dramatic, and keeps you guessing. I'd highly recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I faithfully followed this confusing plot only to be smacked with a highly implausible explanation at the end. Did I miss something? I'd be interested in reading other reviews on this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. The best i read all summer. Loved the twists, and how the characters were all connected in some way. I'll be reading more by this excellent author!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was great. Definitely a page turner and worth reading. The twists and turns are amazing and kept me guessing up until the end. I will definitely be watching for his next novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You will not be able to put this book down. It is one book that you will not be able to figure out the ending until the actual end!!! So many good and exciting twist and turns! Can't wait until Lavender's next book is released July 5th!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EJS More than 1 year ago
Ok, so the premise was great....College logic class where you have to solve a disappearance or the girl will be murdered. Then, it slowly seems more and more real. Like others said, it was definitely a page turner. I really was hoping that I would not be disappointed. But, just like LOST, there were losts of twists/turns and red herrings that never added up and left me extremely frustrated that I wasted my time. At least this was a week instead of years! What I just did not get was why the people were so AFRAID right from the get go. I thought that was completely unbelievable. That and the thought processes about where to go next just didn't fly. I kept coming up with endings in my head and all turned out much better than this sorry mess. (Just like LOST) Ugh....don't waste your time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really tried to like this book, but it took me forever to get through. It sounded really interesting but it was just lacking "something". Seemed really slow and just hard to get into, dull. Maybe it is just the writers style of writing, but I hated it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Still not sure how this book ended. It would never be allowed at a university. I reread the first 190 pages because I thought I missed the clues. Wasted a day...
tracinicole More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The book differed from other books I've read of this genre. I was very intrigued with it. There are so many twists and turns in it, everytime I took a guess at what was going on, something happened to set me off, to show me it's not that easy to guess it. The twists last all the way up to the end. This was a book that I could not put down after I got through the beginning. I wanted to find out what was going on, what was happening, what was going to happen. I recommend it.
RinKY More than 1 year ago
Will Lavender's, "Obediance" is not for the easily amused. His character's are deep and mysterious. No one is who you think they are. I enjoyed relating intricate details to the whole. Twists are excruciatingly unpredictable. Make sure you have plenty of time when you pick up this book, because you won't appreciate putting it down before you're finished.