×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Odd and the Frost Giants
  • Alternative view 1 of Odd and the Frost Giants
  • Alternative view 2 of Odd and the Frost Giants
  • Alternative view 3 of Odd and the Frost Giants
  • Alternative view 4 of Odd and the Frost Giants
<Previous >Next
     

Odd and the Frost Giants

4.1 77
by Neil Gaiman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Neil Gaiman takes listeners on a wild and magical trip to the land of giants and gods and back.

In a village in ancient Norway lives a boy named Odd, and he's had some very bad luck: His fatehr perished in a Viking expedition; a tree fell on and shattered his leg; the endless freezing winter is making villagers dangerously grumpy.

Out in the forest

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Odd and the Frost Giants 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 77 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't know what happened but I have just discovered Neil Galman. Since this major discovery I have decided to read all his books. So far they have all been great.
Pinky_Pye More than 1 year ago
I'm teaching a unit on Norse Mythology and I used this book for my class. All of my students enjoyed it tremendously. Mr. Gaiman's previous book, American Gods covered the Norse myths (among others) nicely but this book is more appropriate for the classroom. I highly recommend his juvenile fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best two lunch breaks worth of heathen story I've read in a long time.
MicheleLeesBookLove More than 1 year ago
Odd and the Frost Giants is a fairy tale/legend style story of a strong, determined little boy named Odd, who despite being lame, alone and hated (by his new stepfather) finds his way in Norse life. Quiet and, well, odd, Odd is called on to help three gods, trapped in animal form on Earth by a vindictive giant who has seized their home. As the gods Loki, Thor and Odin spent more and more time trapped on earth they lose their selves to the bestial natures of a fox, a bear and an eagle respectively. With their home Asgard under the control of the Frost Giant spring cannot come to earth (Midgard) and the humans are doomed unless the gods resume their thrones, and their more human shapes. Hard and a little cold himself, Odd, only ten, is who Loki finds to help the trio, and through a series of clever sets of problem solving Odd, a mere human, becomes the one smart enough and reliable enough to save the gods and spring. Besides containing a subtle message that humanity is the core of the deities' strength, Odd and the Frost Giants is also a smart, blood-free tale set in a Viking era that children and adults alike will find compelling, adventurous and easy to follow. This remains one of books to cause the most anticipation in our family's nightly reading, and to engage the children strongly enough to keep them connected to the story, and to Odd, night after night (even on the nights we missed). Highly recommended for reading aloud and to give kids a taste of a world different from ours, but a little boy with all the same big feelings inside. "I like this book. I like the part when Odd was happy to go home." ~Amber, 6 "I liked this book. The snow would not melt. The giant took Asgard. That giant was so angry!" ~Leif, 9
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this! I am a big fan of Norse mythology and I think Gaiman did a great job of keeping elements of the myths and their iconic characters alive, while making it very readable, light and natural. I also loved the length of it. It's a tale and it shouldn't be dragged out in the way I think some writers might feel compelled to do. Perfect length. I love Neil Gaiman - have read most of his adult novels and LOVED American Gods and highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It isnt 9.99, its 1.99
Gary_W_Olson More than 1 year ago
Neil Gaiman's Odd and the Frost Giants was fun, and had numerous good moments... but (and you knew there was a 'but' coming)... it felt surprisingly thin, compared to, say, 'Coraline.' The storytelling itself was fine, the mythological spin was fresh, and it certainly wasn't boring, but the emotional impact, for me, was light.
Grannie-Reader More than 1 year ago
It was delightful, touching, entertaining, and at the same time challenging to all about their vaules. Although written for children, it carries a message that can challenge us all--at any and every age. A friend loaned it to me to read, and upon completion I immediately ordered a copy for my grandson--age 8 and hopefully to be shared with his two younger sisters. The writing immediately drew one in, and captured and held one's interest right up to the last page and last sentence and the last period. Would definitely put this on everyone's "must read list". Am looking forward to reading other works from this author.
madame_le_rar More than 1 year ago
kids would like this. as an adult is very cute, easy reading that fills your head with interesting dreams :)
Book_Savvy_Dad More than 1 year ago
My son really enjoyed this book. He enjoys mythology and this provided a neat mixture of fiction from a boys perspective.
HobbitForming More than 1 year ago
Another excellent children's story from Neil Gaiman that is also fun for adults.
KKR More than 1 year ago
This is a tale set in the far north, and it involves an under rated young boy who proves that he is valuable and important. Of course it has a happy ending. I bought it as a winter book for my 9 year old twin grandsons.
Storytellermary More than 1 year ago
Odd and the Frost Giants I listened to this on CD, read by Neil Gaiman, a delightful journey to Asgard! Teamwork, courage, cleverness prevail, with lessons for our mundane lives. I want to go back into Odd's world, maybe travel to Scotland with him next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this book for my bedtime readings with my 10-year-old. We both loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love Neil Gaiman, or just want your kids to read an awesome book about Norse mythology, check this one out. Highly recommend. Fun and easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a bedtime story, it is a fun little book that goes out of the ordinary. I also recommend The Wolves in the Walls.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wha? I don ge tis
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm more accustomed to Neil Gaiman's longer stories, but this was no less of a pleasant read. Definitely a fresh take on an old Norse story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic book from Neil Gaiman. A quick adventure to Asgard. Perfect for anyone odd.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book that's for all Neil Giaman fans and soon-to-be fans. :)