×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Off Chance (Off Series #5)
     

Off Chance (Off Series #5)

4.1 29
by Sawyer Bennett
 

See All Formats & Editions

He is seeking absolution.

Flynn Caldwell has a hero complex and it's one of the reasons he joined the New York City Fire Department. He has spent his entire professional career trying to atone for that one person he failed to save. Because, if he can do that, then perhaps he can be worthy of love again.

She is seeking escape.

Rowan Page's

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Off Chance 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Simple straightforward writing style, with first person narratives that alternate between Flynn and Rowan. The story opens as Flynn loses his high school sweetheart in a devastating fire, then jumps to present day where he has become a New York fire fighter, with a white knight urge to rescue others and a pattern of falling for broken people who need fixing. Then he encounters Rowan, whose dog helps him find her in a burning apartment building, where she has been shackled to a bed. After this initial rescue, the story moves forward with the ups and downs of the relationship between Flynn and Rowan, as Flynn realizes he is falling in love for a girl who is down, not broken, but a survivor still struggling to learn how to love and trust. The relationship takes realistic turns, and nicely details the emotional tug of war between friendship and love, with an easy straightforward style. Sadly, the best moment in the story is not between the two main characters, but is instead the exchange of wedding vows between their friends Nix and Emily. The vows are a heartfelt mutual declaration of love that could become a romance classic and may bring tears to your eyes. Eventually each of the characters find their true path and the series wraps up with an Epilogue of a picnic, four years after the timeline in the main story.
Donald361 More than 1 year ago
WOW - Flynn is by far my Favorite in the clan. He's a very Hot/Steamy Fireman - what's not to Love right!! This is book 5 in the Off Series I must say I'm sorry the series is over. I have loved this series and the Caldwell Clan. So glad I discovered this author.
Lizzieb661 More than 1 year ago
Fun fast pace read. Steamy and great characters. Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book. The " friends " thing drug-on a bit long though. Over 600 pages, you definitely get your moneys worth. I recommend this book. S.A.K.
TheAutumnReview More than 1 year ago
Who was excited about meeting Flynn Caldwell? This girl! I mean...there hasn't been a Caldwell man that I haven't liked yet, but I was curious about Flynn. What I found with his story was a really kind, patient, giving, and yes, super sexy guy! I'm definitely happy that we got his story. I liked having a little bit of background on him going in to the story. He lost his high school girlfriend in a house fire, hence leading him into a life as a firefighter. He has the tendency to want to save people. Especially women. As a result, he's often been taken advantage of in relationships. So, when he saves Rowan while on the job, he can't help but want to help her out. The circumstances surrounding her situation were shady and a bit dangerous, but Flynn felt like there was something different, unique about Rowan and he wanted to know more about her. He invites her to stay with him while she gets back on her feet. Naturally, feelings and attraction grow, but Rowan has her own set of issues to overcome and she's not quite ready for what Flynn has to offer. Rowan was...frustrating for me. She ran away from home when she was eighteen and didn't have a very good relationship with her parents. The result was a girl who felt unloved and reluctant to let herself feel for others. She worried she didn't know how to love because she wasn't sure what it felt like to be loved. So, I understood all of that, but Flynn was the perfect guy and she repeatedly led him on and then pushed him away. I understood the first time it happened, but after that...she needed to be smacked. By the end, I was happy that she finally let Flynn into her heart, but boy did it take a while. A few little extras that I loved in this one were the love they had for Rowan's dog, Capone. While the fire introduced them to each other, I felt like the dog brought them together. I also loved the relationship that Nix and Rowan had. It was like a sibling relationship and it made me laugh. Seeing Flynn interact with his cousins and sister was pretty special for me too. I love this group.  Overall, I really enjoyed Off Chance. The ending and the epilogue were exactly what I needed to wrap their story up. I absolutely loved seeing past characters. Nix is my favorite in the entire series and I was happy to see plenty of him in this book. I also loved getting updates on Linc, Ryan, and Renner too. This whole group is great and I'm hoping we will get at least a few more books in this series. If you haven't started this series yet, definitely check it out! Quotes: ~"There's never anything funny about a beautiful, bra-less woman. That's something I take very seriously," I tell her with a slight grin of my own. "But apparently I got sidetracked from what I though was funny."-Loc 938 ~He has the ability to undo the entire basis of my existence for the past five years, and I don't think I'm ready to let go of the safety net that my walls provide me.-Loc 1065 ~"You love me?" he asks in wonder. "I do. You're my hero, Flynn Caldwell. Not because you pulled me out of a fire, but because you pushed me to love. It's for that reason I love you."-Loc 3642
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars---OFF CHANCE is the fifth installment in Sawyer Bennett’s contemporary, adult OFF romance series focusing on the Caldwell siblings and extended family. This is firefighter Flynn Caldwell, and Rowan Page’s storyline. OFF CHANCE can be read as a stand alone but for background story and familiarity with the supporting characters, I would suggest reading the series in order for your enjoyment. Told from alternating first person points of view (Flynn and Rowan) OFF CHANCE focuses on the very slow building of a relationship between our leading couple. Flynn rescued a naked, chained and drugged Rowan from a burning house, and when he realizes that she has no place to go, Flynn offers up his place as a temporary home. What ensues is the push and pull, yin and yang, emotional roller coaster of a relationship where Rowan wants nothing more than friendship from the man with whom she has fallen in love. Frightened of losing the only friend she has ever known, Rowan keeps Flynn at arm’s length but the mixed signals she gives are confusing not only to Flynn Caldwell but to the reader as well. Several months will pass and a frustrated Flynn realizes that his love for Rowan is a one way street. Flynn’s story reflects his need to atone for the past-a hero complex where he is attracted to the broken, the weak, the needy and in this, Rowan is ripe for the picking. Rowan’s personal family history is heartbreaking -she is a young woman whose inability to love and commit reflects how she was raised. The $ex scenes are few and far between as Rowan fights her attraction to Flynn. All of the previous storyline couples are present as the Caldwell family celebrates Nix and Emily’s destination wedding. The epilogue fast forwards the series approximately four years where we get a glimpse at the expanding and growing Caldwell Clan. I did have a few concerns. The fire and rescue premise are resolved rather quickly; there is no suspense or build up about the circumstances behind Rowan’s captivity; there is no break down of what happened or the reasons-I guess it is left up to the reader to surmise about the truth. And Rowan’s personality and character development left me with ambivalent feelings towards a heroine whose past is mired in dysfunctional family dynamics. She was not an easy character to like; frustrating would be an appropriate description. Sawyer Bennett is an amazing writer. Her characters are real, animated and intense; her storylines are engaging and seductive. If you can get past the heroine’s need to continuously push away the man that she loves, then I have no doubt, you will enjoy this installment of Sawyer Bennett’s OFF series.
ShawnaShauntia More than 1 year ago
The Off Series has to be my favorite of 2013. I can't think one member of the Caldwell clan that I haven't fell in love with. Off Chance for me had a different feel from the other stories. At this point I can't exactly pin point that feeling just yet. After experiencing a tragic loss Flynn has adopt a hero complex.Honestly my heart just broke after reading what happened to him. He's patient, kind, and sexy as heck. Rowan ... this girl got under my skin more than once or twice. While I understand mishappenings in life has caused her to have some serious mistrust issues, but there has to be a line between protecting yourself and being selfish. At times I was secretly hoping the Flynn would just walk away from her and not look back. After the being saved from a burning building on that fateful day Flynn has proved that he was willing to rescue Rowan in more ways than one. First the fire, than her psyco ex, and finally her heart. I will admit that I was a little surprise how things played. Just when I would assume things where going to go one way things took a completely different turn. I can't express how excited I was that the entire family made an appearance for this one. The epilogue was amazing as well. This family will not only break your heart, but warm it as well. Let's not forget what they;ll do to your girly bits. Just the other titles in the Off Series this could read as a stand alone, but why would you deny your self the awesomeness that Ms. Bennett creates.
romanzlady More than 1 year ago
The really good thing about this book is the wedding scene between Nix and Emily. It brought me to tears. Flynn, the firefighter who lost his  high school girlfriend in a fire tries to relieve guilty feelings by saving everyone he can. He takes in Rowan, who was tied to a bed and left  for dead since she has nothing but her dog, Capone. The attraction was there from the beginning, but Rowan was extremely annoying. Lead him on, break his heart, lead him on, break his heart, lead him on, break his heart. You get the picture. I felt like the ending came  about too quick.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun. Funny. Heartwrenching. Sexy. All the while, Rowan frustrated THE SNOT out of me! I kepy screaming at Flynn....you can do better and how many more times will you let Rowan jerk you around!!!! Go be with the health nut urrrrgggh. But alas....he's a better soul than me. #TeamFlynn
Solmarie More than 1 year ago
I have loved every book in this series but this one is by far my favorite. What woman wouldn't love Flynn Caldwell? Well, unless your dead. After suffering the loss of his one true love as a teenager he developed what his friends and family would call a hero complex. Determined to atone for not being able to save her, he always felt the need to help those who couldn't help themselves. Always rooting for the underdog even if he got hurt in the end. As a firefighter he took saving lives more seriesly than others. Not caring about his own safety but charging in at full speed.  On one such rescue he meets Rowan Page. Flynn tries to figure her out and get underneath her rough exterior. Rowan is just as determined not to trust anyone. She learned early on in life that it is easier to not give any part of herself than risk getting hurt.  I wanted to wrap Flynn up and keep him for myself. He was so patient with Rowan, proving time after time that he truly cared for her and wanted her in his life.  This wasn't just a love story, it was about breaking down walls and having the determination to climb over all the obstacles that Rowan threw at him. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MickLovesBooks More than 1 year ago
I have thoroughly enjoyed this entire series! I loved every single character and I am so sad that it's over. This book had the "bad girl/good guy" thing going on, which I love, but there were times I wanted to shake Rowan and say "He's not going anywhere! He loves you and you are killing him!" I am SO glad I got to see their happily ever after! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this entire series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too long but the guy on the cover? May I say "wow"?.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kirstyviz More than 1 year ago
Has Saywer Bennett achieved the impossible I wonder? Five books into a series and still she is producing characters and plotlines which are fresh and engaging, in fact I found Flynn my favourite of the Caldwell family - he is like honey, and I certainly do not mind being the bee!! I had my reservations about Rowan at the beginning of the story, but Sawyer Bennett develops her character slowly, and as she opens up in her narrative and to Flynn, the reader begins to understand her reticence and prickly attitude. Although Sawyer Bennett provides her reader with the ultimate Off series HEA the journey there is not predictable and the journey she sends Flynn, rowan and her reader on is full of sexual chemistry, disappointment, realization and heartache. This is definitely a series which can be re-read which is my plan now the final book has been written. I love the ease with which Sawyer Bennett writes, but also the emotion of her characters. Go grab Off Chance and read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this latest installment!  I'm sad to see the series end.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just really like the Author. I have ready all OFF books and they are entertaining, with some drama with always a happy ending and I am ok with that. I get tired of reading books that are boring and drag on because the Author wants to stretch them out into 2 or 3 books. Sawyer Bennett does not let you down. She gives you hot guys, strong independent women, hot sex scenes, and above all love. Want more OFF books!
NOLAreaderMH More than 1 year ago
I had been waiting for Flynn's story since the end of 'Off Course' and it was so worth the wait! I loved reading Flynn's back story and how he became the sweet protector he is. Rowan was a little harder to love...her stubbornness in allowing herself to feel more than friendship for Flynn made me crazy. Ms. Bennett writing keeps us reading and wanting more for them. I love the book, especially the epilogue, and I have hopes for more 'Off' books!
Kristas_Dust_Jacket More than 1 year ago
There's something very bitter sweet about the final book in a loved series, isn't there? On one hand, you just don't want to let them go. And, on the other, you're anxious to see the characters in their own personal HEAs. Before Off Chance ever came out, Sawyer Bennett promised readers that we would have a chance to say goodbye to all the couples from her Off series in a big way. Despite this being the final book in the series, the epilogue made it all worth it. Off Chance was Flynn Caldwell's opportunity to shine. He's a firefighter with a ridiculous self-admitted hero complex. So, when he pulls a thin girl who had been chained to her bed out of a burning building, he feels compelled to help her in any way he can. Rowen doesn't seem to really want his help at first, although a lack of options forces her to accept it. Despite both of their efforts, the feels start flying. But, her lack of confidence could tank not only the best friendship she's ever had, but the love of her life. Of the five girls we've met in the Off series (Danny, Emily, Ever, Renner, and Rowan), Rowan is, without a doubt, my least favorite. I feel for her predicament - really I do. She grew up with money but no love. She doesn't even fully understand the concept. And, after running away she fell in with a local drug dealer (the bed chainer). So, I get her reticence to jump into a relationship with Flynn. Flynn had the patience of a saint, God love him. He had his chain yanked so many times by Rowen, I couldn't believe he stuck around. He decided pretty early on that he cared about her. But she wanted to preserve the friendship they had formed, so she said, no relationship. Then, she makes out with Flynn. Then, takes it back and decides they can only be friends. Then she makes out with him again. Then takes it back. And, this goes on and on and it really pissed me off. Flynn was amazing. He is a typical Bennett Boy. He's beautiful, brave, nice and completely book boyfriend material. He should never have gotten jerked around like he did. It made it really, really hard to connect with Rowen and make me feel anything but contempt for her. That being said, the best part of Off Chance was how Sawyer Bennett managed to get all five couples together in the same place at the same time. I can't tell you too much, but a major life event brings them all together, and it was an incredible thing. I love how Sawyer Bennett worked it all out so that the reader could catch up with Danny and Ryan, Nix and Emily, Linc and Ever and Cillian and Renner while sticking to the story of Flynn and Rowen. And that epilogue - holy crap. SO GOOD. As per usual, Off Chance is told from both Rowen's and Flynn's POV. The dialogue is sharp. The chemistry is off the charts, with lots of sexy times. And the story keeps a nice pace. I was never bored (FRUSTRATED, but not bored), and I finished Off Chance in under 24 hours. If you haven't yet, check out the entire Off series. Seriously, it's one of the best.