×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

An Offer from a Gentleman (Bridgerton Series #3) (with 2nd Epilogue)
     

An Offer from a Gentleman (Bridgerton Series #3) (with 2nd Epilogue)

4.3 233
by Julia Quinn
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sophie Beckett never dreamed she'd be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton's famed masquerade ball—or that "Prince Charming" would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, spinning in the strong arms of the debonair and devastatingly handsome

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Offer from a Gentleman (Bridgerton Series #3) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 233 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After having read the series out of order, I finally came back to this one, Benedict and Sophie's story. In later novels we see them as the happy couple from the country, raising their children away from Society while Benedict indulges his painting passion.
Of the 6 Bridgerton novels I've read (only Francesca and Gregory's stories to go), this one is the best of the lot. The beginning is a Cinderella story but in the brutal Regency style. Cinderella is a bastard and her
The magical night at the masquerade ball is pure fairy tale, but I admit the twist that follows is frustrating. I was so enthralled with Sophie and her plight, I raged at the sudden jump to the left. It's a miracle she survived as she did.
Yes, the "I'm a Society gentleman so can't possibly marry a servant" was overdone a tad. People frequently did rise above themselves and keep their origins secret. Considering Benedict loved this woman and had a supportive family, I was a little frustrated he kept throwing up Society dictates as a barrier.
But in the end, this was a sweet love story where you felt the characters actually did deserve their happy ending. Much better than Daphne or Anthony's story, and far more satisfying than Colin's or even Eloise. I recommend this on stays on my keeper shelf.
jlfemm More than 1 year ago
Loved this book even better than the last one and that's saying something. Her characters are flawed, funny and fabulous (like the author). The love scenes are deliciously steamy. A very, very good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Julia quinn is my favorite romance author. She is funny and brilliant!
CrystalPosey More than 1 year ago
AN OFFER FROM A GENTLEMAN is the third book in Quinn's Bridgerton series, and her own version of the classic, Cinderella. I'm always interested to see new versions of classics, particularly this one (I'm a big Cinderella fan!), but I'm also hesitant. The remake of any great classic can be disastrous. However, this book was wonderful! What I liked the most about this book was that, even though Quinn does keep with some of the traditional details of the Cinderella tale, you won't find any glass slippers left behind. Rather, you will find subtle, more powerful gestures that Quinn has threaded in throughout the story. I was unaware that gloves could be so romantic. The characters themselves. Sophie is not a "sing-to-the-birds" type of Cinderella. In truth, who's really going to be singing after being denied, abandoned, attacked, locked away, and then thrown out in the cold? No one. Sophie held her head high and kept right on playing her cards, but she never sang to the birds. There's a strength and determination in this character that I admired. Benedict comes from a strong, well-developed family-many of who make a lot of appearances in this book-and is suddenly thrust into a confused state, in which his mind plays games with a moment from the past and the girl in front of him. I always enjoy seeing a confident, attractive male confused. It tugs the heart. All in all Quinn takes the traditional Cinderella story and twists it into a beautiful story about breaking social standards for love, and never settling for less than what one and one's future deserves. The book is utterly romantic, and Benedict had me continually melting in my seat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed it but not as much as the first two of the Bridgerton series. A note to future readers: There is some sort of writing or editing mistake occurring repeatedly in this book. The surname of Crabtree is mistakenly used instead of Bridgerton. I first noticed the error when Sophia joins Violet and her daughters for tea, and the errors occur with more frequency as the novel progresses. HOWEVER, the caretaking couple at My Cottage are correctly identified as Mr. and Mrs. Crabtree.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crabtree and Bridgerton are not interchangeable characters; identify them accordingly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was duped myself at the beginning and actually skipped this book as I began reading this series. I was convinced I wouldn't like the story since the summary didn't do much for me. It was actual my friend (who only reads romance novels that I recommend) that convince me to read Benedict and Sophie's story. Even when I started right away I thought I wasn't going to like the story as it so blantently referenced the Cindella plot devices. But once you get to their actual meeting you definately won't regret it. Their interactions and story was romantic and belivable and this woukd be my favorite story for this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All Julia Quinn books are so good! I love them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE the Bridgerton series! And this book is one of my favorites. I recommend reading them in order.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic twist on a story that has been redone several times-Quinn put her own twist on it, and it still gives me butterflies.
hopelessromanticLM More than 1 year ago
I read this series in order one right after the other and was sad to see it end! I felt like I was leaving friends and family! I just love Julia Quinn!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series. The family enteraction is great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a wonderful twist on the classic Cinderella story. From beginning to end I couldn't put the book down.
Kalira18 More than 1 year ago
I have read this book so many times and it never gets old. Never.
WantonWoman More than 1 year ago
I just can't say enough about Julia Quinn and "The Bridgerton Series" family of books. I fell in love with them all. I truly liked the fairy tale romance of Benedict and Sofie. It was endearing to see that Benedict (a reserved, big hulk of a man) could have such tenderness and love for Sofie. It's what all fairy tales should be. I recommend the whole series to every romantic out there...you will not want to put them down so take a few days to yourself and enjoy these wonderful love stories.
curlyloulou More than 1 year ago
I am liking this Bridgerton Family a lot. Benedict was sweet but a little more reserved. I actually really liked Sophie. At first I was a little bit annoyed by the "Cinderella" story but it grew on me. Violet (the mom) is awesome!
Solstice-Ballad1 More than 1 year ago
I have to say, I almost didn't read this, because the beginning is almost identical to the movie "Ever After" (1998) and I thought, well great, I know what's going to happen.

But I am so glad I did read Sophie and Benedict's story, because it was absolutely WONDERFUL! and definitely not what I expected.

I got a lot of good laughs picturing Sophie and Benedict in some of the situations they get into and their conversations.

Julia Quinn is an Excellent writer, I've already got Colin's story sitting on the shelf beside me, ready to read!
judiOH More than 1 year ago
i love this series. sophie is the illegitimate daughter of an earl. he takes her into his home and provides for her when her mother dies. when he passes the stepmother makes her a slave. sophie escapes and.....well you simply must read the book to find out what happens to sophie. you will never regret it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
elleB81 More than 1 year ago
I really liked this series and this one is at the top of the list. Both characters are well developed and it's a believable journey to see how they come together. Not to be missed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I have read all of Julia Quinn's books, this one is by far the best in my opinion. I enjoyed the reltionships, dialogue, and humor. I love her writing, but Romancing Mr. Bridgerton is by far my favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"You are the reason I exist, the very reason I was born." Quote from one of the best love stories I have ever read. Beautiful! Lorraine
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago