×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

On Agate Hill
     

On Agate Hill

3.8 41
by Lee Smith
 

See All Formats & Editions

A dusty box discovered in the wreckage of a once prosperous plantation on Agate Hill in North Carolina contains the remnants of an extraordinary life: diaries, letters, poems, songs, newspaper clippings, court records, marbles, rocks, dolls, and bones. It's through these treasured mementos that we meet Molly Petree.

Raised in those ruins and orphaned by the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

On Agate Hill 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Reluctantly, I just finished On Agate Hill. The literary emphasis is the adept development of the characters. Closely following the amazing characterization is the strength of the southern setting after the Civil War into the following century. There is humor, sadness and loss, and an architypal strong woman of the South. The lyrical prose was a pleasure to read aloud at times with my gentle southern drawl. Lee Smith is a master of imagery and endless rich detail. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best writers of our time, and sure to be recognized as one of the best Southern writers of all time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book overall for the interesting way in which the main character's story is told-using journal entries and letters. This style offers many different prespectives of the same event or person and allows the author to switch voices. I could have done without the letters/input of the Tuscany Miller character and did not find her neccessary to the plot line.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this story. I typically read very heavy topics, or Oprah choices, which all can be a tiny bit depressing. This was a clean, wonderfully written story about love and hardships. I enjoyed the diary entries, and the explicit details. Well done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am giving this 4 stars because the post Civil War diary is just awesome to read. The characters really come alive. What I did not like at all was the beginning and end because it had no relationship to the story and cheapened it. So beginning and end get 1 star. If you just skip the letter to the professor you will have a lovely story.
AustenfanCH More than 1 year ago
The story was very good but I kept wishing I could get closer to the main character Molly Petree. Her story is told first from her own childhood diary, then from the journal of a headmistress from her post-civil war school and Molly's letters to a lost childhood friend, then from another teacher's notes (who later became a close friend of Molly's) and THEN court documents, and finally you return to Molly's diary (Molly now being an elderly woman). I think I would have loved any of the stories in the novel alone, but on a whole they seemed to melt away and I never felt as if they had closure or purpose. The book read more like a documentry, which is probably what the author intended...and in saying that she did keep my interest. It is NOT a love story as stated on the front of the novel and I felt extemely cheated as I would have LOVED a novel on Molly and Jacky's life and love. Most of the book was extremely depressing, very little to smile about! No happy ending...but a good read, especially for history lovers! Author is very good on her history!
LininCT More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book immensely. There was never a boring interlude throughout this story. Strong characterizations for the period based around the life of a strong girl who overcame such a difficult life. Tragedy, love, loss, betrayals - the works. We follow her life from childhood through old age. This is a book I will definitely read again and I look forward to now searching for other titles from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I felt the ending was weird but after reading the author's story about her son, I understood why she ended it the way she did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Patty2331 More than 1 year ago
Good Story line but the main character falls apart at the end. Didn't care for the ending at all. You took a strong women and she should have had a better ending than the last few chapters and the woman writing her professor, weird...
janonly640 More than 1 year ago
This well written historical novel of the post civil war south will keep you spellbound. I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story.
Addysma More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sorry I wasted money on this one... Dli
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lpved rhe different perspectives of molly's life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago