×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

On the Run
     

On the Run

4.1 31
by Iris Johansen
 

See All Formats & Editions

For eight years, single mother Grace Archer has been living a picture-perfect life raising her daughter on a horse farm in the small town of Tallanville, Alabama. Watching Frankie grow into a talented and confident young girl has made Grace as happy as any mother could hope to be. Happy enough, even, to forget the past. But the past never quite goes away. Which is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

On the Run 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Ruthless Middle Eastern business mogul Marvot demands the best and will do anything to achieve his objective. Though he hides his full agenda from Grace Archer, he orders the talented horse trainer to train the ¿Pair¿, lethal Arabian stallion and mare, but she refuses. He kills her host, the owner of an Alabama horse farm, and plans to abduct her beloved eight-year-old daughter to force her cooperation. --- On the run, Grace knows she needs help, but has doubts about turning to her ex-spouse, former CIA commando Jake Kilmer, as she blames him for the death of her father and the end of her career. Jake is willing to die to keep his beloved two females safe while Marvot is more than willing and able to accommodate him. --- This action-packed thriller starts at hyperspeed and never stops for a breath, if anything it goes even faster. The second chance at love aspects are deftly imbued into the plot as safety remains the top need of the Kilmer-Archer hierarchy. However, the key to the tale is Marvot, a malevolent villain willing to kill anyone in his way yet plays chess with his beloved son. The schism between Jake and Grace seems off kilter especially when they heat up the sands, but fans of Iris Johansen will appreciate the faster than light-speed ON THE RUN. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very entresting and knows how to change subjects. It went from a guy running to a girl winning a horse compatiction
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Over the last few years, when I've seen an Iris Johansen book I've automatically assumed it would be an Eve Duncan thriller. I was wrong about ON THE RUN, but I'm still glad I picked it up. A quick read full of passion and suspense, this book is written in the typical Iris Johansen style and is still a really good read.

Nine years ago, Grace Archer worked for the CIA under the direction of Jake Kilmer. Their job was to infiltrate the compound of Marvot, an evil kingpin who ruled El Tariq, Morocco with an iron hand. Disappoint the man once, and he might give you another chance. Do it a second time, and you'll end up dead. Jake's job was to recover something from Marvot that he prized more than anything--the Pair. Known collectively as a single unit, the Pair consisted of two white Arabian horses, a stallion and a mare, with blue eyes and destructive personalities. Their mission failed nine years ago, and Grace left the CIA--alone and pregnant.

Now she's found a home for herself and her daughter, Frankie, on a horse farm in Tallanville, Alabama. Frankie is devoted to horses, but she's also a child prodigy when it comes to playing the piano and composing. Grace, who hates to be compared to horse whisperer even though she does have a remarkable affinity with horses, is content with her new life. Until the forces she's feared for nine years, Marvot's men, come to town and tear her world apart.

Suddenly, Kilmer is there, whisking Grace and Frankie away to a farm far from Alabama, and Grace finds that the old passion is still as strong as ever. As Kilmer tries to keep his former lover and his daughter safe, he plans retribution upon Marvot--which is brought to a halt when Frankie is kidnapped and blackmailed into going back to El Tariq to work, once again, with the Pair.

ON THE RUN is a fast-paced read with lots of suspense. I agree that some cliches are used in this story, but that doesn't make it any less of an entertaining read. Iris Johansen's writing style reminds me a lot of that of James Patterson. Although Johansen's chapters are novel-length compared to Patterson's two or three-pagers, the action hurries along at a fast clip.

If you enjoy romantic suspense, you'll like ON THE RUN.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Over the last few years, when I've seen an Iris Johansen book I've automatically assumed it would be an Eve Duncan thriller. I was wrong about ON THE RUN, but I'm still glad I picked it up. A quick read full of passion and suspense, this book is written in the typical Iris Johansen style and is still a really good read. Nine years ago, Grace Archer worked for the CIA under the direction of Jake Kilmer. Their job was to infiltrate the compound of Marvot, an evil kingpin who ruled El Tariq, Morocco with an iron hand. Disappoint the man once, and he might give you another chance. Do it a second time, and you'll end up dead. Jake's job was to recover something from Marvot that he prized more than anything--the Pair. Known collectively as a single unit, the Pair consisted of two white Arabian horses, a stallion and a mare, with blue eyes and destructive personalities. Their mission failed nine years ago, and Grace left the CIA--alone and pregnant. Now she's found a home for herself and her daughter, Frankie, on a horse farm in Tallanville, Alabama. Frankie is devoted to horses, but she's also a child prodigy when it comes to playing the piano and composing. Grace, who hates to be compared to horse whisperer even though she does have a remarkable affinity with horses, is content with her new life. Until the forces she's feared for nine years, Marvot's men, come to town and tear her world apart. Suddenly, Kilmer is there, whisking Grace and Frankie away to a farm far from Alabama, and Grace finds that the old passion is still as strong as ever. As Kilmer tries to keep his former lover and his daughter safe, he plans retribution upon Marvot--which is brought to a halt when Frankie is kidnapped and blackmailed into going back to El Tariq to work, once again, with the Pair. ON THE RUN is a fast-paced read with lots of suspense. I agree that some cliches are used in this story, but that doesn't make it any less of an entertaining read. Iris Johansen's writing style reminds me a lot of that of James Patterson. Although Johansen's chapters are novel-length compared to Patterson's two or three-pagers, the action hurries along at a fast clip. If you enjoy romantic suspense, you'll like ON THE RUN. But I do hope Ms. Johansen's next book is an Eve Duncan thriller!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my first introduction to Iris Johansen. I have since been gradually collecting many of her others. She writes with such passion, and this book reads like a good movie! I thought the 8-year-old girl's dialogue was a bit advanced for her age, even though Iris touted her as 'gifted', I still thought she spoke more like a teenager than an 8-year-old.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love Iris Johanson even if i'm a little young, but nontheless. This book definatly wasn't her best, but it was up there. First off might i point out that in every book it's practicly the SAME plot! 'NO ONE TO TRUST' and 'Countdown' both very similar! But every book the characters differ. Plus with this one if she was such bad a-word why did she not kill them all when she had the chance!? I mean she flaunts every thing, but when it's time for the real action what does she do... NOTHING! She waits for her man friend to come help her! Jeezz! It's annoying every time! But i'm too much of a sucker to stop reading. After the first 3 pages i'm hooked. What can I say? i'm a book lover.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was breathetaking. This was the first Iris Johansen book I read. This book will make you loose your mind if you have to put it down. Grace Archer is a single mother/horse whisperer, and has a chid, frankie. Frankie is an exceptional child, she has a very wide range of knowledge and can sense feelings in all people. When they become endangered, frankies father, Jake Kilmer, decides to step in. Grace is very hesitant about Kilmer. He stepped out of their lives before Frankie was born. Grace and Frankie are now constantly under supervision because Kilmer has something that a very lethal man, Marvot, needs. Grace will have to sacrifice what she wants to keep her daughter safe. After hiding, they are attacked Frankie is taken by Marvot. Grace has gone to get her, but Kilmer is desperately wanting to help her. Once Grace gives Marvot what he wants, they go to the Sahara. They are depending on a sirocco to help Grace anf Frankie. If the sirocco doesnt come. Kilmer and Grace are afraid since they will no longer be needed, he will kill them both. I hope Iris Johansen comes out with a sequel soon!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first Iris Johansen book I read. It truly had me reading until the wee hours of the morning. This book is unpredictable and it has a great story line!
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a fan of her previous books, this was a tremendous disappointment. Repetitive, predictable and at times just plain boring, this is not worth the time to read. I feel guilty giving the book away knowing that someone will waste their time reading it.