×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Once Bitten (Novels of Haven Series #1)
     

Once Bitten (Novels of Haven Series #1)

3.9 82
by Kalayna Price
 

See All Formats & Editions

Vampires and Shapeshifters.

A Fictionwise bestseller: No. 1 on the Fictionwise Dark Fantasy list in Feb. 2009

Kita Nekai, on the run and the smallest of her shifter clan-a calico cat among lions and tigers-is being hunted. She was expected to accept her role as her father's successor whether or not her cat was up to the task of leading the clan. She disagreed

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Once Bitten 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 81 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading Once Bitten. This book is one of those great reads that just allows you to escape the real world for awhile and when you are done you can't wait to go back and visit. The main character Kita is easy to connect with and the surrounds are so vivid I feel like I have been there. I thought the plot moved at just the right pace. Once I picked it up, I didn't put it down until I was done. I am definitely looking forward to a sequel. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Kim Harrison and Kelley Armstrong. Great urban fantasy.
ArielSanFrancisco More than 1 year ago
I have to admit, I really enjoyed reading the book Once Bitten by Kalayna Prince. The book, Once Bitten reminded me of the series, Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. If you take pleasure in reading the book Twilight, then I will guarantee you will love, Once Bitten. I loved how the author Kalayna Prince incorporated different types of animal characters, such as vampires, werewolves, rogues and even shape shifters. Each of the animals have a specific power that will help them on there journey to the real world, whether it is mind control, self-defense, or the knowledge of a persons past. The book Once Bitten revolves around a girl named Kita whose goal is to travel to the real world. Kita wants to prove that she is capable of living on her own. Kita lives a double life; as a cat and a human being. The author lets us in on her journey through her time on the planet earth. Earth to Kita is puzzling. Throughout Kita's time on Earth, she tries to make the best of every situation. Along with that, she comes to find long lasting friendship and among one of her friends, she has a romantic love interest. The two have a love and hate relationship. Besides having a love interest, there is a bit of a murder mystery, but the only way to gain full knowledge is to read the book. Even though Once Bitten was well thought out and exciting, there was also disappointment. I didn't want the book to end. I wanted to find out what will happen to Kita and her love interest in the near future. But thankfully Kalayna Prince has created a sequel called Twice Dead, where hopefully all my unanswered questions will get solved. I also loved Kalayna Prince's writing technique; I was able to have a clear mental picture of the time setting without getting overwhelmed. Overall I enjoyed the book and will read it again.
KlemsonKrash More than 1 year ago
Bram Stoker is evolutionary, Laurell K. Hamilton progressed the genre with Anita, Karen Chance, Kelley Armstrong, Charlaine Harris, Patricia Briggs have kept the torch going. We can now say there is a new voice amongst the urban fantasy genre. There is a character who we can believe in and hold our breaths for new installments from... Kita, the wild-haired calico shifter, has emerged and demands our attention. Her cast of supporting characters are believable, fresh and incredibly exciting. You cannot help but be drawn by the hybrid/evolution of our genre. Underworld may try to force us to see what the "future" could be but until you read this book, you won't truly understand the magnitude of how Vampires and Shapeshifters interact. Just wait, this book only gives you a taste that will leave you begging for more! Do not let this one pass you by.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Kita Nekai is the Dyre (heir) to become the Torin (ruler) of the Nekai clan in Firth; located in another dimension. Every full moon the gates open up and the shifters can travel to earth. Kita has just done that breaking her shifter¿s world greatest taboo: no female shifters are supposed to be on the earth. For five years she has been on the run from Hunters who want to bring her back to face the Elders and whatever punishment they mete out.

After being drugged at a rave, she is attacked by a stray shifter and is near death. Nathanial the vampire turns her without the Council¿s Permission. She must go before them to obtain feeding rights, but prior to her meeting The Judge, a mage, gives Kita a death sentence. He believes she turned a human into a rogue shifter and is ultimately responsible for his insane killing rampage. Shifter friend Bobby and Nathaniel plea for her life; the judge gives her forty-eight hours to bring the rogue to him or her and her friends forfeit their lives.

Urban fantasy readers who enjoy the works of Kelly Armstrong and V.K. Forrest will have a great time reading this exhilarating story. Kita is a fascinating lead character as she believes she cannot lead her clan because she shifts into a kitten and loathes the politics that go with being the Torin. Thus she remains in exile staying in kitten form so humans can adopt her until she feels she must move on to her next household. This is one fantasist who is worth the price of admission.

Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of the Alex Craft series. This series--not so much. I can tell that this series was written before the Alex series. It seems that the author combined everything that could go wrong, every cliche into one book. By reading the synopsis of the next book it looks like the same will happen. I find it very hard to like Kita as she has very few likable qualities. I get that she was overwhelmed by shifter politics but really? Boo hoo!! Put on your big girl panties and deal. The next book looks the same plus it is over $10. The Alex Craft series is so much better and not as expensive. Even though the premise of the Kita series had so many new and interesting twists to the vampire/shifter genre, the cliched plotline and the whiny, selfish, immature heroine is more than I can overlook. You are MUCH better off with her Alex Craft series all the way around.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book was ok. It had some action but not as much as I would have liked.
SJMusk More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Kalayna's Alex Craft series (Grave Witch & Grave Dance) so I was looking forward to a great read with this book. I was disappointed. I found I was not engaged by her characters as I was in the Alec Craft series. At the end of the book I had no desire to read the next in the series. If you find yourself with nothing else to read I would say give it a try, but if you really want to read an engaging story check out her Alex Craft books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the tone of this book - created a very interesting new world to explore :) Can't wait for the third in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago