×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Once Dead, Twice Shy (Madison Avery Series #1)
     

Once Dead, Twice Shy (Madison Avery Series #1)

3.9 184
by Kim Harrison
 

See All Formats & Editions

My name is Madison Avery, and I'm here to tell you that there's more out there than you can see, hear, or touch. Because I'm there. Seeing it. Touching it. Living it.

Madison's prom was killer—literally. For some reason she's been targeted by a dark reaper—yeah, that kind of reaper—intent on getting rid of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Once Dead, Twice Shy (Madison Avery Series #1) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 183 reviews.
ariesbooklover More than 1 year ago
This book will defently stand out in the teen section. It started out kind-of confusing but by chapter 2 I was hooked. I read the whole book in one evening and I cant wait for book 2.
Scotti_LeeMarie More than 1 year ago
This book has a great plot. It's a seriously different idea than other dark romance/fantasy novels today. The only thing that bothered me about it is that when I first started reading it I felt like I had missed a huge chunk of the story because it throws you in after Madison dies. She's in the middle of a mission when you're not really sure why she is doing what she is doing until get further into it. The more you read the more you can fill in the blanks, though it would have been better had there been some sort of background in the first chapter at least. But I gave it a chance & it ended up being a really awesome story. I recommend.
Heather_Lynn More than 1 year ago
This was an okay book for me. There was a lot of information which made it a little hard to read. First there is the understanding of what happened to Madison and then trying to enjoy the small romance and running from death thrown in there. It was a little confusing. However, the second book is better than this one, so try to stick through it in order to read the second. I would tell people to give it a try but it would not be the first book I would recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So good i was hooked!!!
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book at my local wal-mart cruising the book section. The book section there has gotten fairly large and that make me happy! You see, in order for me to get books, I have to go to out to the mall that has the ONE book store Waldenbooks/Borders. So for me to take a trip all the way downtown....yeah it takes time, money, gas,etc.... So I found this book and it caught me eye. This is a very different very interesting book. At first I thought this was vampire and it was not. It is based on Light and Dark Reapers. Which of course you don't find many YA books based on a plot like this, so I was very happy to be reading something different. Madison was killed om her birthday/prom day. A Dark Reaper is after her due to something in her future. Apparently her saw something that she does to interrupt his plan and so he sets off to kill her. But he did not succeed. Instead, she got a hold of his amulet, which is allowing her to manifest a body, allowing her to stay earthbound. My favorite part of this story is the G.R.A.C.E.S. or Guardian, Reaper-Augmented Cherub, Extinction Security. This little guardian angel was funny. All her little one-liners kept me laughing.She defiantly added humor in this book. I also enjoyed how Madison chose to make her own decisions. We all have a choice in what we do, no matter what fate says. Fate may say we do this, but we can always change that. I admire her for that passion. This book was a small, fast, easy read. It had no curse words or sexual references. Kim Harrison did a fantastic job writing this. I'm glad that I found a book that is suitable for teens, but also great in the paranormal area.
houseofnight14 More than 1 year ago
This book was ok. Not my favriote I found it hard to really get into the story, but still a fairly good read. I would recomend it if your looking for a casual read, nothing that sucks you in.
Well-Goodbye More than 1 year ago
I felt it was too generic for a teen fantasy/fiction book and tried a little too hard, I also felt like it just didn't hit where the author intended. I would of liked to have started from the beginning and went on, not start in the middle and work through. I will not recommend this book to my friends. What drew me in was the plot, it seemed very interesting, as well as the cover. But overall, I was not not happy with this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It doesnt explain things very well. But it still has any interesting story line!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whatt
haylie-highlanders_foreve More than 1 year ago
haha okay so yeah people said it kinda sucked but by the third chapter i couldnt put the book down it like sucked me in and i was living maddisons life !!! it was my favorite!!!! <3 and her little friends helped her and after i finished it i wonder what had happened i doona know but i would love to discover it !!! shes the dark time keeper but she always looked good haha !!!!
Jennyfer_32 More than 1 year ago
this book is awesome. if your into supernatural you'll love this! I recomend reading prom nights from hell-the exterminators daughter, it will bring you full circle with once dead twice shy.
alexia561 More than 1 year ago
Madison is the new girl in town, just trying to fit in. Doesn't matter that she just happens to be dead. Barnabas, a light reaper who is trying to teach Madison how to use her new amulet, does his best but something just isn't right. Not only can't she figure out how to use the amulet, but she also has to deal with all of the dramas of being a teenager as well. I don't like spoilers in reviews, so let's just say that Madison is caught in the middle of the classic struggle: Dark vs. Light, Fate vs. Choice, Hot Reaper vs. Hot Teenage Boy. Madison comes across as a believable teenager who is smart and resourceful, but still human enough to make mistakes. And I loved the guardian angel! These characters seemed oddly familiar and I finally figured out that I had met them before. Kim had originally introduced them in the anthology Prom Nights from Hell. It might help to read Madison Avery and the Dim Reaper first for the back story, but this book can certainly stand on it's own. All in all I think this is the start of another good series for Kim! Can't wait to see what happens next.
BrookeReviews More than 1 year ago
Today is the release day for Once Dead, Twice Shy (Madison Avery, Book 1), so here I am with an attempt to get you to run out and buy it, if you haven't already! If you want some background story to Once Dead, Twice Shy (Madison Avery, Book 1) you should read Kim Harrison's short story in Prom Nights from Hell anthology! A Blurb: Madison Avery is dead. After running away from her prom date with a strange guy she's never met before, they get in a car accident. This does not kill her. The guy's (a Dark Reaper) sword stabbing her does. She doesn't know why he came to kill her, but she knows that by stealing his amulet she is able to keep her soul in her body and continue living life normally, or as normal as possible when you're a dead teenager. Now she is constantly under the watchful eyes of Barnabas, a Light Reaper, and Grace, her new Guardian Angel. While trying to learn to read auras and thoughts, Madison is trying to keep up the facade of a normal life at home with her dad, and her relationship with Josh (her prom date). Since I assure you I could not go into the depths needed to describe Light Reapers, Dark Reapers, and Time Keepers and have it make any sort of sense, I send you to here to get a Librarian's perspective! http://kpl-teen-reads.livejournal.com/73554.html The Thoughts: I love Madison. She's a super spunky girl trying to get used to being dead. Something we all can relate to right? Once Dead, Twice Shy (Madison Avery, Book 1) is not a book to read super fast, because you need to be able to understand what you're reading. You have to pay attention to the world Kim Harrison has created, so you won't be sitting there scratching your head going "Duh, what just happened?" I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the characters are great, especially the addition of Grace the Guardian Angel! She's a smarty pants, and she reminds me a lot of Jenks from KH's Hollow Series. The world created is just like ours, but with this huge secret that (most) mortals don't know about. Mainly because the Reapers and Time Keepers can wipe the minds of humans and make them forget everything. Once Dead, Twice Shy (Madison Avery, Book 1) is a unique and exciting addition to the Young Adult Paranormal world! I'm excited to see the journey this series will take us on, and I hope that it is just as successful as The Hollows Series. Fans of Harrison's Hollows Series will surely enjoy this YA series, and it's worth checking out just to prove me right or wrong though!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Madison's dead. Well, sort of. See, there was this dark reaper who scythed her, for reasons she still hasn't figured out, and technically she should be long gone. But when he came back to destroy her soul as well as her body, she was able to steal an amulet from him that's allowed her to keep walking around and breathing (even though she doesn't really need to), and appearing alive to anyone who doesn't know any better. Unfortunately, the owner of that amulet wants it back - badly. And the light reaper assigned to help Madison adjust to her new pseudo-life may not be able to protect her from him. As Madison struggles to hold onto her life and to save those she cares about who end up targeted as well, she discovers there's a whole lot about this life and death thing she doesn't know, and uncovering those secrets may be the only way she can hope to survive. ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY is a fast-paced and engaging read from start to finish. Madison makes an enjoyable narrator, stubborn and sarcastic but with a lot of heart, and enough smarts to get her through some very sticky situations. Harrison has created a fascinating and unique world of reapers and other afterlife figures, though at times readers may find all the information a little hard to follow. With plenty of suspense and humor and a little romance, this book will appeal to paranormal fans of all ages.
bucmjt More than 1 year ago
Once Dead, Twice Shy by Kim Harrison is a terrific YA read. It is fast paced and twisty with a strong story line. The characters are deep and powerful. As part of a series, these characters have wormed their way into my consciousness and I am please to see them recurring throughout the series. It is good to see that the main character, Madison Avery has a solid chance to make a real difference in this storybook world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was amazing omh love love love!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
luckypen More than 1 year ago
Kim Harrison has awesome books and i have enjoyed most of them i love the down to earth characters, the interesting people they meet and jenks, strong characters, wicked moments of triumph over the bad guys , love the action to the situations they get themselves into, bright moments of honesty and love shows thru her books and i will forever be a deep fan of hers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read it twice and love it both times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Doug-from-Alaska More than 1 year ago
Her date to the High School Prom managed to let it 'slip' that he had invited her only because his Dad was friends with her Dad and then everything just went 'downhill' from there... Now she's dead but not really dead - how does that work?