×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Once Upon a Wallflower
     

Once Upon a Wallflower

4.4 12
by Wendy Lyn Watson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Once Upon a Wallflower by Wendy Lyn Watson

A Perennial Wallflower…

When Mira Fitzhenry's guardian arranges her engagement to one of the most scandalous lords to ever grace the peerage, all of society is abuzz. After all, the man has left a trio of dead young women in his wake, including his first fiancée. But Mira doesn't see a killer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Once Upon a Wallflower 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My first time reading this author and I LOVED HER! This was not your normally regency romance. Wallflower has a backbone :) and the hero is not some perfect guy. The connection between the two is amazing, the humor throughout is wonderful and she even throws in a mystery that keeps you guesses to the very end. However you do get your HEA w/a twist at the end. So if you're looking for a R.R but something a little different then this is what you want.
kronan1 More than 1 year ago
Double Header.............................................................. Good mystery.  Good romance.     Heroine is the sacrificial lamb.  Except Mira is no lamb.  Hero is the big bad wolf.  Except he is more misunderstood then bad.  Throw in a couple of seriously dysfunctional families.  Add a few murders  and you have one heck of a story.  Well written.   
RomanticReadsandSuch More than 1 year ago
I loved the fact that Nicholas and Mira are able to see more in each other than others do, looking below the surface and past the rumors to find someone worth loving.  And Watson does a great job of mixing their growing relationship with the mystery, giving readers a good balance of both romance and suspense.  Once Upon a Wallflower is a fantastic read and perfect for those that like their historical romances with that little extra bit of drama. - Full review available at BookTrib's website or RomanticReadsandSuch on wordpress.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
ONCE UPON A WALLFLOWER by Wendy Lyn Watson is an exciting Georgian era Historical Romance/ Romantic Mystery set in 1809 England. Fast paced filled with action,mystery,murder and intrigue. When you think you know who the culprit is you are presented with another possibility. Keeps you guessing until the end, An on the edge of your seat Georgian era mystery with a bit of romance included in the mix. A quick read full of possibilities. Well written with intrigue and romance. The characters are charismatic and engaging. A must read for anyone who enjoys mystery, romance and intrigue and of course the Georgian era. I absolutely loved it!! Received for an honest review from the publisher. RATING: 4.5 HEAT RATING: MILD REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
WorldsCollide More than 1 year ago
Gothic mystery and sweet romance come together in this book and it was brilliant! Once Upon a Wallflower was a wonderful historical romance. The mystery was thrilling, the romance was off the charts and every other bit of it was lovely. I really liked Mira. I thought she was a wonderful heroine. She very strong, very intelligent, and a very admirable character. Mira is the type of person to rely on logic, which helps her out in the case of this mystery. But, she also knew when intuition, even when it defied logic, is sometimes more valuable. She was a very likable character and I thought she was great. Nicholas was a puzzle. Though I knew that he had to be innocent, this guy is a master at looking suspicious. It was immediately obvious that he knew more than he let on, but what is that information he keeps secret? That's a mystery. Despite his infamous reputation, Nicholas was a gentleman at heart. He as so sweet and I adored him. The romance was wonderful. Mira and Nicholas were so sweet together. There was only a sprinkle of spice in this book, but the chemistry between these two was constant. They were more sensuous than hot, and I really liked that. They were a lovely couple. The plot was fast paced and I was on the edge of my seat with the mystery. I began to suspect who the killer was about halfway through the book when some hints were dropped. But the scene where the killer was revealed still blew me away. Even as I suspected the killer, the author did a great job casting doubt on several other characters. I was completely caught up in the story and the ending was brilliant. Once Upon a Wallflower was a brilliant historical romance with a thrilling murder mystery. I absolutely loved this book! Romance lovers, if you want something to keep you on the edge of your seat, then you have to read this book. *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
I loved this romantic yet suspenseful tale of love, honor and fate. Mira Fitzhenry is engaged to Viscount Nicholas Ashfield. She is to be his bride because her guardian lost her hand in marriage when he lost a card game. Her intended is the notorious, Butcher of Bidwell. He is suspected of killing his previous fiancée as well as several local women. However when Mira meets him, she is charmed. Now, as she prepares for her wedding, she decides that she will prove Nicholas innocent. Mira must be on the right track since someone tries to kill her. What is a lady to do? Should she follow her heart or her head? Can there be love without trust? The story is filled with unexpected surprises and plenty of suspects. You won't know until the end who committed the crimes and why. The heroine is intelligent and logical as well as a very loving person who stands up for those she cares for. Nicholas is scarred by his mother's death. He is afraid to love but he's drawn to Mira and wants to claim her. I melted when he calls her 'Mira-mine'. I love Wendy Lyn Watson's writing style. It is filled with passionate emotions and love. This story is a must read. I received a copy of this book from the Publisher in return for an honest review.
MelodyMay More than 1 year ago
I just finished Once Upon A Wallflower by Wendy Lyn Watson. All right, I picked this book for a couple of reasons. 1) The Cover. If we remember I'm a coverwhore. Yes, this cover is beautiful. Plus, I love how it is all dark with that little splash of color. It really catches the eye. 2) A wallflower. Yes, I tend to root for wallflowers, especially when they are a bit of a blue-stock. Mira Fitzhenry has been sold into an engagement to cover her uncle's gambling debts to a notorious man, Nicholas Ellerby, the Viscount Ashfield. Nicholas isn't a rake, actually he's a bit different. However, that isn't what is concerning. Oh no, it's that he's been accused of murdering three women and has gotten away with it. The danger that lays ahead of Mira.  I'm in awe with Once Upon A Wallflower. Once Mira and the family start to make their way to Cornwall, the mystery begins. Mira decides to prove that Nicholas didn't commit the crimes and find the real criminal. It was like playing Clue, but you knew where the girls were murder and how they were murder. However, you were missing the motive and the person. Once at Cornwall, you meet the list of suspects: Lady Beatrix (step-mother of Nicholas), Lord Blackwell (father of Nicholas), Jeremy Ellerby (half-brother to Nicholas), and Lady Phoebe (cousin). The fantastic part of the story you would get a little piece here and there and made you question if you had the right person. I was guessing all the way till the end of the story and I was like, wow. Seriously, a fantastic historical mystery. So, if you like regency and mysteries, you might want to checkout Once Upon A Wallflower. It will keep you guess till the end. Rating: 4.5 Stars Copy provided by the publisher
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down .
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
This is a good old Recency mystery. Of course there is a good bit of romance around too. Someone has murdered 4 girls in Cornwall. Nicholas,the Earl' s son, is the favored guilty choice. Then the Earl is suspected but no proof again. Nicholas is waiting for his fiancee to arrive for their marriage-sight unseen. Mira is a poor relative and has always been told she is a loser. They get to know and like each other and Mira is determined to clear Nicholas's name. I thought this was a fun read. I admit I was sent on lots of wild goose chases but I won't tell you if I finally figured out the right one. So I guess you should read this book and choose for yourself.      
ToryMichaels More than 1 year ago
First, can I say that once again, Entangled has come up with a gorgeous cover? Now, granted, I can’t see this really fitting with the book, buuuut it’s still gorgeous with all those shades of gray in it. Now, on to the story. I have to say I was very pleased with this story overall. It was nice that I couldn’t immediately identify the villain, nor did I even really consider who it was, so YAY for that, Ms. Watson! Mira has a sucky life, being the poor relation and, in most of the town’s opinion, less attractive Mirabelle Fitzhenry. Yes, there are two Mirabelle Fitzhenrys, and an amusingly believable story as to how the cousins have the same first name. Mira goes by, well, Mira, and her cousin (quite a little witch with a b) is known as Bella by most. Her uncle seizes on a chance to avoid marrying his precious Bella to a man suspected of murdering his last fiance by promising to marry Mirabelle Fitzhenry to Nicholas in exchange for paying off some of Uncle’s debts. Nicholas is pleasantly surprised and not inclined to cry off as everyone expects him to. Mira of course doesn’t believe Nick is capable of murdering anyone, much less his former fiancee, despite what the town (especially Nick’s brother) think. So she sets herself the task of tracking down the real murderer. There are some twists and turns, a few dark moments in which Mira’s belief in Nicholas is understandably shaken, but overall, this was a great story with some suspense and significant mystery as to who really did the deed. The relationship with Nick and MIra progressed steadily with both having moments of doubt, but an undeniable attraction to one another. I was very happy when they finally found their way to each other. Glad to give this book a 4-star rating and I look forward to reading more by Ms. Watson soon. Thank you Entangled! Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago