×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Once We Were Brothers
  • Alternative view 1 of Once We Were Brothers
  • Alternative view 2 of Once We Were Brothers
  • Alternative view 3 of Once We Were Brothers
<Previous >Next
     

Once We Were Brothers

4.4 168
by Ronald H. Balson
 

See All Formats & Editions

The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust.

Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist, is attending a fundraiser when he is suddenly accosted and accused of being a former Nazi SS officer named Otto Piatek, the Butcher of Zamosc. Although the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Once We Were Brothers 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 168 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This will be added to my list as one of one of the best books I've ever read. It s a little over 1,000 pages and I could not put it down. I read it in one day. It grabbed me from page 1. Everyone I have recommended it to have loved it as much as I did. If you enjoy holocaust stories this is one not to miss.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read. Thought provoking. Could not put it down. Have purchased it for others. Worthwhile reading!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a poignant and haunting holocaust story that is very well written with rich prose and historical research. It is also a book that lends itself to book group discussion. ReaderaddictAO
Roxy65 More than 1 year ago
This 1,000+ page book 'had' me in the first chapter. It is wonderfully told in the first person. The author drew the characters wonderfully. Historically, I believe it is an accurate accounting of the Nazi Era.
Giovina More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended by Phylis at my local Barnes & Noble bookstore. This one deserves recognition. This story is about survival and justice against impossible odds over a span of 50 years beginning in the 1940's. The main characters are simultaneously engrossing, heartfelt, tragic and courageous. They will touch you and stay with you long after the last page is read. Well worthy of serious attention. Thank you Phylis!
Sam13FL More than 1 year ago
This was one of the most moving books I've read in years. The way they explained how these people were treated was amazing. You could feel the pain and it was also about love. You must read this!I really could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fabulously written, memorable--you laugh, cry--sheer enjoyment. This story stays with you, long after you have read it. Disappointing tha Mr. Balson has not currently written more books. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Set against the backdrop of Poland during World War II and Chicago 2004, this book tells a compelling story of a man named Ben, pursuing justice (and revenge) against someone he believes to be a Nazi officer. Ben seeks legal representation from an attorney who gains confidence in herself through her representation of Ben. The book is fast paced and reads like a movie. It should be a movie.
AnnasGrammie More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this book. But I'm questioning why it is available on Kindle for $7.95 when B & N is charing $9.95. That aside, this is a great read. I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When will Ronald Balson's next book be coming out? I hope there is another! "Once We Were Brothers" was a thrilling, emotional, sad, suspenseful, romantic; heart-warming, captivating, hard to stop reading type story. I can trufully say that each page forces you to read on.
Barnabas1 More than 1 year ago
Outstanding novel; the best I've read in a long time.  Even though it is fiction, the author has taken care to place it in an historical setting, which shows how evil unchecked grows increasingly horrifying.  The NAZI SS was truly evil in its time, but was just one manifestation of evil that historically occurs over and over, even today.  Learning about how easily great masses of peoples are deceived should keep all of us on guard, lest it occur even in America.
Frabet More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down, and when I did I was very teary. Unfortunately, a heartbreaking story of two "brothers" brought up in the same home, and the effects of war on both of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One can not tell you exactly what this book is about. You must read this and when it becomes a movie..."Don't miss it either." I hear this from each and EVERYONE that has read this book. To Ronald Balson, PLEASE keep writing............
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been voracious reader since I was 12. I am now 67 and I have to say this book is one of the best I have ever read in more than 50 odd years. My father (now deceased) was one of many men involved in the liberation of prisoners in those hellish camps. Many of the stories told in this book remind me of the stories he told me. ( often with tears in his eyes). I highly recommend this book to everyone . Although this book is fiction it tells of the horrors of Hitlers attempts to rid the world of all Jewish people. This deserves 10 stars!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Holocaust or WWII novels don't usually hold my interest very long so it usually takes me a while to read them. This book however, is the exception.  I couldn't put it down. It is absolutely one of the most captivating stories I have ever read. 
LaurieFW More than 1 year ago
This was a worthwhile read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book. Totally engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perhaps my favorite book of all time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this for book club, wasn't sure when it was picked if I'd like it or not. It was a very fast read. I felt like I was sitting at the table as Ben was telling his story.
nookinginfl More than 1 year ago
A really excellent book, characters were very real, plot extremely a time in history. Highly recommended.
CKL123 More than 1 year ago
Using the real life plight of Polish Jews during World War was well done. The story line was definitely something that had happened many times. The main character's demand for justice is something we must always remember. It had me in tears.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books that I've read. Once I started it, I could not put it down. I have recommended this book to all my friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book drew me in from start to finish. My book club picked this at our last meeting and I ended up thriled with the choice. Even with an incredibly busy schedule it only took me 3 days to get through all 1032 pages! I'm only upset that this is Ronald Balson's only novel to date.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was mesmerizing from Page One. The story of Benjamin Solomon was both heart-breaking and beautiful. I loved every page of this book. Well worth the money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book is excellent, once you start it you do not want to put it down. it holds your interest to the very last page. you will not be disappointed ......