×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

One Amazing Thing
     

One Amazing Thing

3.4 41
by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
 

See All Formats & Editions

An acclaimed novel by the author of The Mistress of Spices, and Before We Visit the Goddess. Jhumpa Lahiri praises: "One Amazing Thing collapses the walls dividing characters and cultures; what endures is a chorus of voices in one single room.

"Late afternoon sun sneaks through the windows of a passport and visa office in an

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

One Amazing Thing 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Mauckspeed More than 1 year ago
Did not like the ending; leaves you dangling. Had the ending been thought out well, this would have been a great book.
misabear More than 1 year ago
very hard to follow,not very interesting,very very bad ending!! It felt like the author forgot to write the last chapter! I am an avid reader and I hated it!
ChelseaW More than 1 year ago
I bumped this book up to the top of my list after recent news of the 7.0 to hit Haiti. Definitely relevant. Following a devastating earthquake, nine strangers find themselves buried in an underground room in the Indian visa office they are in when the earthquake hits. As things go from bad to progressively worse, each member takes a turn telling a story from their life. What starts as a simple distraction for them turns into a way for each to confront their past and find the one amazing thing that has made them who they are today. ONE AMAZING THING is written from rotating points of view; any other way would not have provided as much story for the reader to become invested in. However, I always feel that a common problem with having stories within stories is that one always comes out the stronger one, making the others feel more like an interruption of the main plot. The individual stories are each engaging in their own right, but I only wanted to go back to the present moment and see what would happen next as they try to survive the earthquake disaster. Chitra Divakaruni excels at character building, and it glows even brighter in ONE AMAZING THING.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bugbug50 More than 1 year ago
We read this for our Church Book Club meeting, and it raised some interesting discussion topics around the theme of the book, which was that each person involved in the story had "one amazing thing" to tell about their lives. As I said in my headline, I found it tough going in the beginning, but once the stories started, the book flew along for me. However, although I liked the open-endedness of the book, in the 'rescue' aspect, I would have like certain stories to have been tied up a little better. Not sure if the author is planning a sequel, or if they just wanted to create this little bit of uncertainty for reader. If that was the purpose, job done!
lovebug66 More than 1 year ago
I just finished One Amazing Thing and truly enjoyed this book. The setting is realistic and the author portrays the ensuing events appropriately. The stories each character shares are intriguing and provide insight into the response each has to the earthquake. I'm glad I read the book and hope to attend the library event in September. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is terrible. Don't read it. The ending was depressing and such a disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two2dogs More than 1 year ago
I DID LIKE THIS BOOK, IT KEPT ME INTERESTED IN WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN TO EACH OF THESE PEOPLE. YOU NEVER CAN TELL HOW PEOPLE ARE GOING TO REACT WHEN TRAPPED!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written and absorbing plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
irishbookworm21 More than 1 year ago
After an earthquake traps nine strangers in the basement office of the passport administration, fear and uncertainty begin to take their toll. They begin to panic once the reality of their situation begins to close in on them. Without knowing if rescue is a hope they have, one of the strangers suggests that they each tell "One Amazing Thing" that has happened in their lives. What follows is both a harrowing tale of survival and how people can come together in the face of insurmountable odds. Chitra Divakaruni brings together nine individuals from completely different backgrounds. Seven of the nine are attempting to get to India, all for different reasons, but all for an attempt at atonement for past failures or shortcomings. The two remaining work in the passport office and have come to be there after their own amazing turns in India. Divakaruni's prose is entrancing. It was so completely wonderful, I couldn't put it down. I read the entire book in one sitting, waiting for the next moment to both learn about each of the characters and his/her "thing," as well as how the book would end. Divakaruni writes an amazing tale and makes each person's story unforgettable. She details the amazing determination in the human spirit; our ability to love, desire, hate, forgive, create and break down our stereotypes, and our innate caring for one another. This is a story that I could read again and again. The only negative I can really post is that I was left wanting more. The ending is surprising. It may not settle well with some, but I personally find it preferable in a book to have unanswered questions. I want to be left desiring to read more about characters I like. Divakaruni does that well. Her characters are fantastic and the story is beautiful. No reader could ask for more. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."