×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

One Can Make a Difference: Original stories by the Dali Lama, Paul McCartney, Willie Nelson, Dennis Kucinch, Russel Simmons, Bridgitte Bardot, Martina Narvatilova, Stella McCartney, Ravi Shanker, Oliver Stone, Helen Thomas...and Dozens of Other Extraordin
     

One Can Make a Difference: Original stories by the Dali Lama, Paul McCartney, Willie Nelson, Dennis Kucinch, Russel Simmons, Bridgitte Bardot, Martina Narvatilova, Stella McCartney, Ravi Shanker, Oliver Stone, Helen Thomas...and Dozens of Other Extraordin

4.9 11
by Ingrid Newkirk
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Ingrid E. Newkirk almost singlehandedly set into motion the largest animal-rights organization in the world, she knew that one person can make a difference. In her new book, Newkirk has collected the wisdom, stories, and insight of more than 50 activists and world-changers who have proven that one person can create a movement. Through fascinating stories and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

One Can Make a Difference: Original stories by the Dali Lama, Paul McCartney, Willie Nelson, Dennis Kucinch, Russel Simmons, Bridgitte Bardot, Martina 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yipster More than 1 year ago
This book is inspiring, regardless of your feelings about animal rights. It encourages everyone to believe they can make a positive difference in this world. I have given this book as a gift to two teenagers so that they will be inspired as they finish high school, go to college, and head out to make their mark on the world. The book is heartwarming, interesting, and a quick enjoyable read for anyone. The more people that read it, the better a place the world will be. Thank you, Ingrid!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ingrid Newkirk has demonstrated how much one can make a difference with her influential leadership of the world's largest animal rights organization and now she shares inspiriational stories of others who are making this a better world for all. These personal stories remind us that we all can, and should, do what we can to make a difference for others. This book is especially helpful now, during these challenging times. We are reminded that there are good people doing good things and there is hope!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ingrid Newkirk is a great writer and a person able to fight for those who will give her nothing in return. That means that her fight is worth. 'One can make a difference' is a great book that we all should read. I wish it should be translated to each and every language in the world. Thanks for writing it and for being a person ahead or your time, Ms Newkirk!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ingrid Newkirk is an inspirational writer. I gave her book, Making Kind Choices, to all my friends and it truly motivated them. Ingrid is a fascinating storyteller, a compassionate soul, and a wealth of information. I'm really looking forward to reading this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
ONE CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE Ingrid E. Newkirk Adams Media ISBN: 978-1-59869-629-7 $16.95 Hardcover 272 Pages Reviewer: Annie Slessman How many times have you seen a person in need and walked away? Many times, you walked away because you felt one person could not make a difference in a problem so large. Whether the problem was one of hunger, injustice, homelessness, abandonment, ignorance or other social issues facing us today, it was just easier to walk away. Ingrid E. Newkirk¿s One Can Make A Difference, How Simple Actions Can Change the World reminds each of us that one person can make a difference. She has compiled the stories of fifty people who have not looked the other way and have made a real impact on the social issues facing us worldwide. Each story is told simply and with a strong voice. Whether you are reading the story of Bridget Bardot or Dr. Neal Barnard- hope, inspiration and proof that one person can impact the lives of many is evident. Ms. Newkirk writes an introduction to each contributor of this work. Her introductions are interesting, full of praise and admiration for the people who are making a difference in the lives of people and animals in need. I was familiar with most of the contributors in this work but admit to not knowing the full story of how they ¿got where they are¿ today. I found the stories of each contributor had an ¿I want to know more¿ quality about them. If you can read this work and walk away unaffected, I would be surprised. There is nothing like reading how others have contributed to making our world better to get you jump-started yourself. During my divorce, a friend of mine told me that I needed to quit thinking about what I had lost and start helping people who had worst problems than mine. I followed her advice and volunteered at my local Make-A-Wish organization. You know what, she was right. My problems seemed to fade into thin air. This is a book worth reading and one you will pass on to your friends. You will do so with a, ¿You¿re going to love this book, I did.¿
Guest More than 1 year ago
Over the years I've read Ms. Newkirk's books, and without exception, she has compelled me to make simple changes in my life that made a real difference for animals. At first it was easy steps, like ordering olives and onions on my pizza instead of pepperoni. I started buying quality pleather shoes instead of cow skin. I now know to look for the 'cruelty-free' label on my shampoos and make up. I expect this book will give me even more easy ways to help myself, help the planet, and help the animals.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Who better to write this book than Ms. Newkirk, who has dedicated her life to changing the world for animals? The far-reaching impact PETA has had on society--from bringing animal abusers to justice to getting companies to stop supporting testing on animals--is a shining example of how one person can indeed make a difference.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although I have not yet read this book, I am looking forward to doing so. This book highlights amazing people and the changes they have made in this world. These are truly inspirational people and stories and the world would be a much better place if everyone made changes, whether they are great or small.