×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

One Dance with a Duke (Stud Club Trilogy #1)
     

One Dance with a Duke (Stud Club Trilogy #1)

4.2 177
by Tessa Dare
 

See All Formats & Editions

In One Dance with a Duke—the first novel in Tessa Dare’s delightful new trilogy—secrets and scandals tempt the irresistible rogues of the Stud Club to gamble everything for love.
 
A handsome and reclusive horse breeder, Spencer Dumarque, the fourth Duke of Morland, is a member of the exclusive Stud Club, an organization so

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

One Dance with a Duke (Stud Club Trilogy #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 177 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1817 the Ton knows the strange behavioral pattern of the reclusive primitive "Canadian" Duke Spencer Dumarque as the Duke of Midnight; he arrives as the clock strikes twelve at a bash to dance one waltz with a different female each time and then leaves immediately. Not quite as well known as his dashing nocturnal spin is that he is one of the ten members of the Stud Club who have a wager on a horse on going. Rubenesque Lady Amelia d'Orsay decides to be the chosen one at the latest ball by brazenly selecting him. When she notices her waltz partner seems ill, she shows her concern. He is stunned by a twit caring for someone else and abruptly carries her from the gala to her amazement. He is in love and proposes, but before accepting she wants to know more about the enigmatic Duke of Morland. He is four tokens to the prize of wining the thoroughbred (ten tokens wins the steed) but one of his Stud comrades has been murdered assumingly for his tokens. Amelia suggests hosting a Stud Club party, but her brother Jack arrives with tokens before vanishing with his ward. This is a great regency romantic mystery starring a flawed courageous heroine and a mysterious perhaps even blemished hero. Faster than the prized thoroughbred, this super story line hooks the reader from the moment Dashing Duke Dumarque runs off with Amelia and never takes a respite even for the kissing scenes. Fans will enjoy this strong romantic suspense thriller as the opening of the stud Club is a winner. Harriet Klausner
AvidReaderToo More than 1 year ago
Too many romance books these days have unbelievable characters, repetitive narration, and overly dramatic dialogue, and trite love scenes. This book has none of these things! Finally, an author with some intelligence who writes real stories. The impass between the two lead characters is typical of men and women, but where most stories will show each character holding their ground stubbornly and then making some sudden dramatic turnaround in the last 5 pages, this book shows us the development of their relationship through the small compromises and concessions each character makes. Finally, a romance worth reading.
addictedtoloveLC More than 1 year ago
I loved this story! I love that Amelia who was practically two years "on the shelf" who could not really be called a beauty in one single night convinced the hero to marry her. Amelia's strong sense of family & being devoted to her brothers even though at times did not deserve her love was what appealed to our hero. Tessa Dare really fleshed out these characters very well, and has been the best book I have read by her to date! Highly Recommended! It has made it to my top 10.
BeeMac More than 1 year ago
I simply loved all three books in the Stud Club trilogy. I highly recommend these wonderful books. I have since read another book by Tessa Dare, and this trilogy is no fluke. "One Dance with a Duke" is the starting point. The characters are very in-depth and believable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved her goddess of the hunt series and now cant wait to read the rest of this series. It's real charchters with real faults that accept each other for who they are. Very very good
grandcentral247 More than 1 year ago
A steamy romance you won't want to put down...with an incredably written on the corner of your seat drama... cant wait for the next book! If you enjoy Mrs Lisa Kleypas you will fall in love with Mrs Dare!
annaht More than 1 year ago
I wasn't expecting a great read, but it was a fun read. Entertaining and enjoyable.
Phyl12 More than 1 year ago
Tessa dares love stories r always a good read. This wasnt her best but still really good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite stories ever. Very well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book put Tessa Dare on my must read list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PureJonel More than 1 year ago
This was a sweet, sensual, and heartwarming historical romance.  Dare had me hooked from the beginning with her unique tale and ready wit.   She throws some definite twists into the typical regency romance, making this an intensely pleasurable read.  The author evokes emotions in her readers while giving them suspense and intrigue to riddle through.  I also really appreciate the fact that Dare’s characters weren’t perfect, but rather were real individuals living real lives, even if they were from the upper rungs of society.   I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and it was a brilliant introduction to this author.  I’d definitely recommend it to others and fully intend to read more of her work (and can’t wait to see what’s up next for The Stud Club).  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fddvgfd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the sample how tacky
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A MUST read by everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked out some from my library and own all the Spindle Cove novels and novellas as well as the Werestag novella. You will not be dissapointed with any of her writings except that they end! I would like to find a "comparable" author because I just know Tessa's work to be the best for my tastes with the right amount of story, character development, setting, and spice. I was not actually a romance reader until I stumbled upon a free offering of one of her ebooks on my Nook. That was how I even found this genre and now am hooked! I have always been a fan of period romance movies and am a stickler for anything set in the Victorian (or earlier) settings of Europe which all of her books are. I do have a few other free historical romances but I just know already I won't be as pleased. I wish Tessa would go full time just writing ONLY Spindle Cove series and that PBS or BBC would pick up the rights and make an ongoing romance seriers for TV that would be hot and heavy and for adult viewers but tasteful. Maybe Netflix??? Wouldn't that be incredible! LOL Bascially to sum all this up do not worry one bit about purchasing any of her materials. You will love having them. I have read each of the Spindle Cove series twice and plan to re-read each once a year- Yes they are that good! I stay tuned for pre-orders and have always been on of the first to get a book as it comes out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an enjoyable read. I have the read the whole series and it is very good. Escape novels are fun!
SLWPA More than 1 year ago
Great beginning to a wonderful series! A little slow at first but totally worth it to stick through till the end. Very well written and I will buy more from this author.