×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

One Day It'll All Make Sense
     

One Day It'll All Make Sense

4.2 43
by Common, Adam Bradley (With)
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the hip hop icon, Hollywood star, and “a true artist and writer of deep talent” (James McBride, author of The Color of Water)—a candid, New York Times bestselling memoir ranging from his childhood on Chicago’s South side and his emergence as one of rap’s biggest names.

The story I have to tell involves

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

One Day It'll All Make Sense 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
TEST NOOKUSER More than 1 year ago
I love common as a rapper and an actor, but his memoir made me love him as a person. He keeps it straight (no chasers) just the way i like. I think he was honset. I think he was funny. He was loving. It gives his fans a chance to see rashid. Although he strives to show that rashid and common are one in the same, there are times when you see both paths separate. He was vulnerable on every level. Great read!
ronnybahamas More than 1 year ago
This book is emotionally, and spiritually powerful. It touched my soul and inspired me to be driven in life with a positive purpose. I love his music because it enlightens the mind. He is a good man because he admits his flaws and his relationship with his mother and friends makes him even more than common but rare. I admire his passion and will continue to support anything he does.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been wanting to read this book for a while now because I love Common and his work and I recently saw Adam Bradley speak, and he is incredible. I just felt kind of like the book consisted of a lot of... bragging and it seemed really showy. I know that Rashid and his mom did not mean for the book to come off that way, but I just found it kind of annoying. I am glad that I read it though, and I still have so much respect for Common and everything he does.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Common or should I say Rashid took me on a journey through his life and career. He was open and honest and shared very intimate details that allowed me as a reader to feel as though I was right beside him in certain instances. The comments and recollections by his mother helped to give me a thorough understanding of Rashid and his character as a man.
That1Girl More than 1 year ago
I am a huge Common fan and this book only gave me more insight on his journey. I enjoyed reading from beginning to end.
Burney_Brownfan More than 1 year ago
I am so impressed with Common. I have never been a big follower of his music or rap for that matter. I did like "the Light" video and hook. This book made me want to check out everything he has ever put his voice on. I even went back and looked and really listen to the lyrics of "The Light" Wow he is the truth and his mother I totally fell in love with. I have found a new love and his name is Commom! you have to get this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was written in a differnt way, and he provided so much detail about himself, you start to feel a personal connection with him. I is very honest and open about everything. I would say read it, because his journey was not what you would expected and his perspective is very interesting- when discussing himself and others. No relationship is off limits
Carla Louis More than 1 year ago
This made me love Common even more!!! Such a beautiful soul!
Nashax More than 1 year ago
Ok lets start by saying I already had an opinion on this book before purchase. I'am a bit shocked on how much of a good read this is. Iam a fan of him as an artist but many in his industry try the whole "Im a writer" deal and FAIL. I can honestly say that I did enjoy the book and it was refreshing to see a man of his nature who is not a typical rapper become a diverse artist who can write. Kudos Common from a true critic and a fan :-) - check me out on the cover of godforsaken by Leo Anthony doing the same new author deal-a talented young monority!!! * Anasha C.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From struggle to success  Like many rappers common was not rich from the start but he worked hard all his life and pursed his dream. This book covers all of his troubles and all of his glories a great read overall. 
Gemami More than 1 year ago
I have read a few autobiologies by rappers and feel they write for a younger audience... preteen or young adult. I was expecting Common's autobiology to be different but it wasn't. The language and depth was very elementary and I think, even hoped Common would have dugged deeper. With that sait, it was still a good read, a little slow at times, but mostly I loved his mother's comments and opinions.
OOSABookClub More than 1 year ago
You may not know who Rashid Lonnie Lynn is, but if you've listened to the radio, saw a movie, or even watched television, you know him as Common, a rapper and actor from the Southside of Chicago. What many may not be aware of is that Common is more than rhymes and beats. An activist, son, father and friend, Common opens up about his life and the many challenges he's faced. Through personal letters, Common introduces the reader to his main topic. Then his mother, Dr. Mahalia Ann Hines, relives her side of this particular time in Common's life. In the end, Common uses what's gone on in his life and what he's learned through this time, what he's lost, and how he's grown. It's easy to not only see how his life was impacted, but you feel as if you're right there through the struggle. I really enjoyed ONE DAY IT'LL ALL MAKE SENSE. It’s no secret, I'm a huge fan of Common. I love that he's a fellow Chicagoan, he's humble and hardworking. This is definitely a book parents can share with their teens. Reviewed by: Crystal
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always been a fan of common, and always wondered who is this rapper that dont curse. Seeing that made me actally listen to what he had to say. Very intelligent. This book is a good read and I plan to continue to support!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was taken aback by how captivating this book became in a very short time. I literally couldn't put it down. Common allows you a chance to be lost in his life as he tells of his childhood and coming of age. The spin on this book that touched me so much is his mothers point of view and the bond that they share. It left me feeling enlightened and eager to leave my mark on the world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I began this book, it took me a few days to convince myself that Rashid wasnt telling my story. Then I felt a connection that I will always feel...so glad he shared. By the way I was born only one day before him. Thanks to both Rashid and his Mom.
Tobi_heg More than 1 year ago
It was surprisingly a well written autobiography by "Common". I now look at the rapper, actor, songwriter, and now author in a different and new lite. I am a big fan and now after getting to him better by this book, I will always be a fan. It's a good book. Will recommend to any fan or friend to buy and read "One Dayit Will all make Sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly enjoyed reading this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The look inside the mind and heart of a conscious rapper. Very good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago