×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

One Eskimo
     

One Eskimo

4.3 41
by One eskimO
 
After scoring three U.K. hits as a solo artist, Kristian Leontiou ditched his record contract and reestablished himself as the leader of a moody, ambient band. One eskimO's mix of pop hooks and trip-hop electronics isn't entirely different from Leontiou's solo material, but it does sound like the work of a proper band, with the instruments

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

One Eskimo 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
elaincad More than 1 year ago
I have been listening to this cd for a couple of weeks now. The song Kandi has been getting a lot of airplay on the major Chicago alternative radio station I listen to. One eskimO has a unique sound . Very ambient music and the horns are a great addition to many of the cd tracks. Givng up has a soulful appeal to it and I love the horns and funky beat of Amazing. Very entertaining effort from this UK band.
crazeypoet More than 1 year ago
This album is perfect for listening while you're working, either at the computer or around the house. It just sets a wonderfully "chill" atmosphere. It's a nice, relaxing listen. It's difficult for me to choose an artist or band they remind me of though. In one moment, I'll hear a little Dave Matthews and in the next I'll hear some Coldplay influence. One eskimO is definitely not a copycat band though. They have a really unique sound that's cool and modern. I especially love tracks, Kandi and Astronauts, but I'm really digging the whole album. It's full of catchy pop songs you'll want to hear again and again! The One2One Network sent me a free copy of this cd to review, but I was not compensated any further and the opinions here are mine alone.
smarker More than 1 year ago
I received this CD from One2One to review. I am so glad I did!! I have heard Kandi before but didn't realize it was them. Great mellow sound, I really like Hometime.
BookSake More than 1 year ago
This cd is great music to put on and have on in the background in the house. There are a few catchier tunes, which I find myself singing all day and night (especially Kandi which has been the most played song on all adult rock radio for four weeks). Other stand out songs are Astronauts, a very low key, gorgeous song and Simple Day which reminds me of a very muted Jason Mraz. The album as a whole flows together well, each song has it's proper place in the album and none feel like they don't belong. The last track Amazing, completes the album well and causes me to want to listen to the entire thing again and again.
MSanders-SC-USA More than 1 year ago
I recieved this album to review and had never heard of One Eskimo. Wow, was I pleasantly surprised! From start to finish, I could not stop listening and listened to it over and over. Love the Kandi song. I am now kicking myself for not getting tickets to see them when they were in our area. They are awesome!
tmdprince More than 1 year ago
I liked the CD quite alot. I think the music is unique and the band is good. However, I think there could be a little bit more variety in their sound.
animalgal More than 1 year ago
One eskimO self titled One eskimO The music on this cd is breathy, laid back, simple, and sultry, all in one. The song Hometime, when I play it, freaks out one of my cats! She starts crying, then jumps around. The song Kandi, is my favorite. The first time I heard it, I thought it was a good song. Then I watched the season finale of the tv show Bones, and I fell in love with it! At the end of the show, it showed Bones & Sealy saying goodbye for a year. They looked into the others eyes, and you can hear the song in the background. You think that they will finally kiss, but they do not. I hit the dvr several times just to listen to the song, then realized I had heard it before. It was in my stereo waiting to e reviewed! And yes, I did receive the cd at no cost to review. So when you listen to the cd, play it a few times, and give it a chance! The band has been on the Ellen show, the song Hometime was in a Toyota commercial, and the song Kandi, is a #1 radio hit song! So I'm sure they will be around for a long time, and I look forward to hearing much more from them!
emma_m More than 1 year ago
Great music for driving or distressing at work. I really liked the song "Chocolate."
missgeddes More than 1 year ago
This cd is truly a masterful piece of music. On the surface the lyrics seem simple, but after really listening to it, the simplicity is what gives it depth and character. The instrumental solos and overall quality is in a category of its own. When you hear it, you can feel the emotion and inspiration that went into the entire cd. You don't just get it with Hometime which you may be familiar with or Kandi which is unforgettable, but with every song. This is an album I doubt I will ever tire of. Can't wait to see what you next offering will be.
DeborahSorrentino More than 1 year ago
I hadn't heard of this group before being given the opportunity to listen to this One Eskimo CD. This band is based in London and to me has a very easy listening quality. I enjoy listening to them while working on the computer or for some nice background music. It has a nice mix of male and female vocals that will appeal to many different age groups. Very happy I had the opportunity to listen and review this CD, it has become one of my favorites.I have also recommended it to many of my friends!
trista17pluto70 More than 1 year ago
When a band has a name like One eskimO, you know you are in for something different. Their self-titled album is very interesting, catchy and sexy at the same time. I enjoyed a majority of the album, in particular Chosen One was my favorite. Other tracks that are worth a listen are: Astronauts, Kandi, Slip, Simple Day, Chocolate, UFO and Amuzing. Give them a try if you'd like to hear something new. Thanks to the lovelies at One2One Network for the chance to listen to this album.
TravelerNY More than 1 year ago
I bought this cd primarily because it had the song Kandi on it. I got the song in my head and just had to have it. This is by far the best song on the cd, it's hypnotic and gets under your skin. I listen to it every day. This song has the potential to be a hit and make a name for this band. I am enjoying the other tracks as well. Givin Up is another song that is really good and Chosen ONe, UFO and Amazing. I am really enjoying the music of One Eskimo and hope that they continue to produce good music. I would buy their next cd.
Supernen More than 1 year ago
I was not familiar with this band until I listened to this cd. I was surprised to find that I really enjoyed the entire album which doesn't always happen. I did recognize the song "Kandi" although I rarely listen to the radio. Another favorite of mine is "Simple Day". "Astronauts" has a great mellow sound. The song "Chosen One" reminds me quite a bit of James Blunt so if you like that sound you will enjoy this one as well. Overall I thought it was a smooth sounding album that makes great background music while I work on projects.
Helen_G More than 1 year ago
I had never heard of One Eskimo prior to listening to the CD. I must say that it was a pleasant surprise! I enjoyed all the songs, especially Astronauts.
inarobn More than 1 year ago
Great studio band, May 20, 2010 This review is from: One Eskimo (Audio CD) I had the great pleasure of seeing them live in Tampa Fl. last night and the show was awesome. The albumn is much better then their live performance. Every track on the cd puts you in a relaxed sultry mood. The #1 hit Kandi you'll want to put on replay for about ten times and maybe just maybe you will tire of it. I love the whole album and wish them much success in the US. They do need to work on their repoire with the audience ( kind of shy, I guess ) Buy this Cd with no regrets of wasting your money.
FabFindFoodie More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to get a copy of One Eskimo's CD from One2One Network for review and I am completely in love! This CD is perfect for times when you just want to relax. Truly soothing music! Each song is really great...you'll want to listen from beginning to end. No skipping required! :) I highly recommend this CD to anyone that enjoys music along the lines of John Mayer or Five for Fighting.
mkinsc More than 1 year ago
I've never heard of One Eskimo before, but I received a promo copy to review from OneToOne Network. After listening to the CD a few times, I am sure this will be a summer staple for me. The sound is chilled out, ambient, with relatable lyrics. I would love to see a little more variety in song selections on the CD but the easy flow from song to song really helps relax the listener.
JessieO More than 1 year ago
For the past few weeks, I've had bits of a delightful, catchy pop tune stuck in my head. I was quite surprised when track 3 started and the tune I've been bopping to was "Kandi." This CD is a relaxing, whimsical journey. One eskimO has been playing in my car for the past week, and my road rage has reached epically low levels. It is next to impossible to be upset while the upbeat, dreamlike sounds of One eskimO floating around the car. The songs delight like fireflies dancing on a summer's eve. Highly recommended. I received a copy of One eskimO to review for the One eskimO project with One2One Network. This did not influence my review nor was I otherwise compensated for my review.
NorthernBookie More than 1 year ago
I received this CD from One2One, and from the first track, I felt like I was listening to an old friend. It says a lot that I listened straight through in one sitting, thoroughly enjoying each song. Lyrical, dreamy, smooth and refreshing is how I'd describe the CD. I appreciate that my whole family can listen to this together and appreciate the music without being offended by the lyrics. Yes, I'm an older listener, but my children ages 18 and 23 enjoy this CD as well. I'll be keeping tabs on One eskimO to see what they come out with next.
shrimpshack More than 1 year ago
I received a copy of this to review and I really love it. I'd describe it as somewhere between folk and pop, but very catchy tunes. Try it you'll like it.
dajjnm More than 1 year ago
One eskimO newest released CD is awesome. Talk about toe tapping, thumb thumping relaxing music! I was so surprised that I liked every track on the CD. They've got some catchy intros-like Hometime and Astronauts that catch your ear and wait for the song to begin. This CD is the perfect disc to have in your car playing after a long, stressful day at work. The work commute will be tolerable and the stresses of the day will fade away by the time you get home. The music is prominent and the vocals mirror the music so perfectly. It is blues-y, pop-like and alternative all at the same time. It is also a great CD to have on while sitting on the deck with friends. The songs are easy to talk over but are great background music. I guarantee, feet will be tapping and hands will be strumming. I tried to decide what track was my favorite but honestly each time I listen to it, I pick a new one-that's how good this CD is!
AMaly More than 1 year ago
Here's how your review will appear: Great first album!, May 31, 2010 Reviewer: AMaly (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews I had only vaguely heard of the band before I received the CD from One2One network to review, and I'm so glad I did! I loved almost every track on the CD. Most of the songs are mellow and soulful with wonderfully insightful lyrics. The lead vocalist has an amazing voice and I could listen to him sing all day. My only one complaint was that some of the backup vocals seemed a little out of place on some of the songs. Some of my favorite tracks included Givin Up, a more upbeat song, and Chosen One. I believe this band is heading in a great direction and I highly recommend this album!
Evil_Hippy More than 1 year ago
I happened across this on accident on the One2One newtork and I must admit that One eskimO is not exactly what I would call your typical adult contemporary or easy listening album. Upon first hearing it was pleasantly surprised, being that generally I am not really a fan of this style of music. There is a cozy ambient feel to the entire album, leaving you somewhat dreamy as you listen. The acoustic guitar gives it a laid back folk feel and at times adds a somewhat fun element. Some of the songs seem to go on, leaving you hanging with no peak, even with all of the elements included in each song it somehow seems somewhat lacking in points. Strangely enough you are still left wanting more. Comparative in some ways to Dave Matthews, Tracy Chapman, and at times Dan Folgelberg, One eskimO offers something new and different to please your ears in a time when music is starting to all sound the same.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To be very honest with you I am not a fan of this genre of music, so much to my surprise I really LOVED it. My favorite tracks are Kandi and Amazing. This was such a great CD
NAZD More than 1 year ago
I received a free copy of One eskimO for my personal enjoyment (thanks, one2one network!), and after a dozen listens I'd like to throw in my two cents: First off, I would gladly have paid retail price! In fact, I will probably be purchasing a copy or two for birthday and Christmas gifts this year; I can see these songs having a wide appeal. Kandi in particular is the song that I had been hearing everywhere, even before I listened to the full album. Once I heard Kandi, I understood why - it's a catchy tune that makes for great driving music. However, I would have to say that my standout favorite is the track Slip in terms of both lyrics and music. Other memorable songs include Simple Day, Amazing, Chocolate, and Chosen One. One eskimO has a unique sound, but the songs also feel somehow familiar. I found the majority of their tracks uplifting and relaxing, and the entire album makes me want to sing along, even though I'll never have a voice like the lead singer.