×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

One Good Dog
  • Alternative view 1 of One Good Dog
  • Alternative view 2 of One Good Dog
     

One Good Dog

4.3 601
by Susan Wilson
 

See All Formats & Editions

"One Good Dog is a wonderful novel: a moving, tender, and brilliantly crafted story about two fighters-one a man, one a dog- hoping to leave the fight behind, who ultimately find their salvation in each other. Susan Wilson's clear and unflinching style is perfectly suited for her story that strips away the trappings and toys we all hide behind, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

One Good Dog 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 601 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read a lot and my all time favorite book is The Art of Racing in the Rain. All other books I've read since then have not come close to the feelings, emotions, heart-wrenching as well as happy, that I experienced with The Art of Racing in the Rain.....UNTIL.....I read One Good Dog. This is an excellent book. Certain chapters are told by a man and the other chapters are told by a dog. And both man and dog grow so much during the course of their story. This is an amazing and excellent, excellent book. Do yourself a favor and read this one! It has become a very close 2nd favorite out of all the books I've loved.
Bookworm1279 More than 1 year ago
ONE GOOD DOG by Susan Wilson was a great read one that really brought tears to my eyes. Two souls who have become lost now have to find their way back. They find one another and together they go threw ups and downs testing each other but in the end find that they have found their home where they belong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got three quarters of the way through this book intending to give it a 4 star rating. It is difficult to read about the dog fighting world and after I struggled to get past the details in the beginning of the book, it comes up again towards the end. You are lead to believe that this poor dog will never encounter the extreme cruelty again, until the unexpected, disturbing twist at the end of the book. I would have never read this book if I had any idea that this poor dog would have to go through it twice! What makes it even harder to read this is that he is describing it! This is so upsetting & I wish I had seen a review that warned me about how upsetting this would be to read. I can't understand why this got such high ratings. I would have never read it and I find it disturbing that this author could put such graphic detail into this story. It was so sad that this dog had to endure the cruelty of dog fighting most of his life. How can you write about him having to go through it again at the end of the book? Way to sad & disturbing for me!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story itself was very good. However, I feel the dog fighting parts were much too graphic. I am a sensitive dog lover, and while I knew this was a story about dog fighting, I had not realized the scenes would be so graphic and disturbing. I honestly was very upset. Had I known, I certainly WOULD NOT have read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you loved "The Art of Racing In The Rain" you will love "One Good Dog"! If you have ever loved a dog, you will love "One Good Dog"! If you have ever been loved by a dog, you will love "One Good Dog"! "One Good Dog" by Susan Wilson is one good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because it was on sale. I am so glad I did. This book is written in the 1st person and animal. This is a great voice for pit bulls and any animal lover should be sure to add this book to their favorite list. If you have a nook I think I can share.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It promotes a value system, and gives hope for human change. Love dogs and dog stories, this is no exception.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so true, a dog well be with you no matter what happens in your life and you will love your dog with uncondtional love who stays by your side. If you lose your dog one way or another, it leaves a huge empty space in your heart, life and soul. Every dog owner should read this book, not only to know the love that a dog can give, but the love you can give a dog that has been so "hurt" by the world.
Wookie More than 1 year ago
Reminiscent in a way of The Art of Racing in the Rain, but with its own distinct voice and message, One Good Dog is One Great Read. Its about redemption and loyalty, self-awareness and devotion, responsibility and commitment, and all those other sappy themes you could think of, but expressed with a sincere and heartfelt eloquence that will touch your very soul. If this is your cup of tea (or bowl of kibbles), I would also recommend anything by Spencer Quinn (the Chet and Bernie series) or David Rosenfelt (Andy Carpenter and Tara). While both of those are somewhat more lighthearted, they are clear evidence that going to the dogs is not such a bad thing afterall.
CJTICH More than 1 year ago
I believe this book should be required reading by anyone with any influence over the enforcement of harsh penalties for anyone associated with dogfighting. That said, I am an active member of a dog rescue organization and still found this book taught me quite a bit. Excellent all the way across the board.
mrsbeary More than 1 year ago
This book intrigued me, since I am a dog mom of 3 four-footed friends, and the sample sounded interesting. It started a bit quirky, but I soon got into the rhythm of the book..touching, nerve-wracking, but not predictable.. couldn't put down until I finished it...a godd read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book held my interest throughout. Don't want to reveal ending, but it kept me turning pages and losing sleep during many chapters to find out just what was going to happen next. It wouldn't be hard to relate to the main human in the story as to how we become so wrapped up in ourselves, work, etc. that we can't see how far detached we have become from the real world. The dog just reinforced my belief that pit bulls learn their bad behaviour from bad human beings. Treated with love and affection they are "Good Dogs." All in all, this is a book that I will keep in my library and read many more times.
blh3 More than 1 year ago
Fantastic read for dog lovers! Even if you aren't an animal lover you'll really enjoyed this book. Certainly a tear jerker - sad and happy tears. A real testimony to how God blesses us through His creatures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am really enjoying the reading of this book and will recommend it to all of my dog loving friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. This writer has an easy writing style and tells a good story. I loved the parallel stories of the man and the dog. I loved hearing the story in two voices: human and dog. A great book for all dog lovers, even if you are not a fan of pit bulls. It would be nice if the dogs really were thinking the things that the author made up. I feel bad for those pit bull dogs, people can be so mean.....I am not going to give the story away, but you should read it as you will not be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well, many thanks to the rude plot spoilers that told the gist of the book AND revealed the ending. Here is yet another book to add to the wanted to read but wont because plot spoilers ruined it pile! Cone on, bn, are you ever going to do anything to stop these plot spoilers?????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A highly enjoyable read that offers insight into the workings of our best friends. Although heartbreaking at times, it shows the power of determination & ultimately, the power of love to triumph over evil. I can imagine my own dogs thinking some of Chance's thoughts...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good read and hooked me from the start. Not a big fan of emotional upheaval but so grateful for the rollercoaster, if you will, of the emotions this evoked. Pay attention as there are many levels of circumstances that make you think about your own relationships, make you grateful for so many things you forget to think about and also remind you to stay in the moment. I admit to having a slightly irrational fear of pit bulls so this makes me re-evaluate me behavior and thought pattern. I love you Chance! Hug the things you love and remember them daily.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put the book down. I can't look at my dog now and not wonder what he is thinking. The author put me inside the dog's head. Also touched on several important social issues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a great story line you won't want to put the book down. Although you may read through many tears don't give up read to the end. This book is a must read for dog lovers.i
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very nicely written story with loads of self-reflection, mistakes, courage and change. I enjoyed it. Thanks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a tough book to put down. I love a book where you cry,laugh,yell, cheer, and smile, If you love dogs and know they think,get sad,get disappointed,get silly, and that they do communicate clearly, then you must read it. This has a lot of lifes lessons in it. One just needs read and think AND then LIVE them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the very best books I've ever read! It starts out a little slow but stay with it...it is so worth the read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved, loved this book! The premise of this book was unlike other books in that the human was as needy of love and companionship as the dog. I cried more than once over the plight of both of the main characters. Both of them had been surrounded by people who were cruel in their own ways. The healing processes that both of them needed were addressed beautifully by Ms. Wilson. I will look for more of her books in hopes that others will be as thoughtfully written as this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a dog lover and believe that no breed is bad, just bad people you will love this book told by the humans side and the dogs side i read it in a few hours i could not put it down. I highly reccomend it