×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

One Second After (John Matherson Series #1)
     

One Second After (John Matherson Series #1)

4.1 825
by William R. Forstchen
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

One Second After 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 825 reviews.
McMonkey More than 1 year ago
I rarely cry over books, but I cried three times while reading this spectacular and frightening book. There are many post-apocalyptic books available (see my recommendations), but this one is a step above them. Plausible, well-written, good character development, it has all the elements of a must-read book.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Retired Colonel John Matherson lives in Black Mountain, North Carolina with his two daughters; one of them suffers from Type A Diabetes and needs insulin to stay alive. They think the serenity of their location high in the mountains can never be destroyed until the day the lights go out. Everything electric based no longer works to include cars. John immediately understands what happened; that the United States was nuked in the atmosphere by a few bombs containing an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).

John becomes one of the town¿s leaders trying to keep things calm and peaceful as no station on the transistor radio in his car broadcasts. Food rationing is instituted and former high school students are trained as a militia. They turn away desperate refugees and as the food supply dwindles they must hunt and forage, and chop wood for heat. The Posse, a cruel group of cannibalistic gangbangers, murders, and rapists, are taking over the mountain. John and his allies must stop them before they overrun Black Mountain.
Meanwhile, his daughter¿s supply of insulin is getting dangerously low.

Already frightening the Pentagon and the Congress is the plausibly including the ease in which the United States can be sent reeling back to a modified medieval era. John and his fellow survivors are figuratively and literally in the dark as to who did this, but the first directive is survival which includes not giving up o hope that the USA still functions and will bring relief especially medical. Fans will appreciate this powerful apocalyptic cautionary thriller but also fear how simply this can actually happen.

Harriet Klausner
Strange_Re-Ding_Habits More than 1 year ago
I have read a good bit of off-beat destruction of the world/post apocalyptic stuff. I would classify this as a gem I just happen to run across. It may not have the pages of character building that The Passage or The Stand has, but I enjoyed it every bit as much, and in half the time. I felt just as invested in the main character in this story as any of the other aforementioned. While it has sad portions it is nice to still have a book that somewhat ends in triumph and shows how resilient the human spirit can be in times of hardship. This is a must read if you like post-apocalyptic fiction. The writing may not be as polished as others, but the story was truly fascinating.
Lauri Smith More than 1 year ago
i love this book however it really scared me at the same time. this book is haunting in the fact that it is so very possible and we as Americans are so ill prepared for it. i challange you to read this book and ask your self ' what would I do'?
MONKFSU More than 1 year ago
I can not believe that people do not like this book because of of a few phrases that are not grammatically correct to them, but are not meant to be correct because it is the way the character speaks. GO READ AN ENCYCLOPEDIA IF YOU WANT CORRECT GRAMMAR. Anyone that wrote bad about the writing style and especially grammar, go outside and talk to five people and see if anyone of them has the ability to speak and write with perfect grammar. I mean seriously. The plot is great, characters are great, and yes this could definitely happen and most likely it will occur similarly as it did in this book, if you actually think about it. I think this book has actually portrayed southerners with a lot more credit then they deserve. If you ever want to see how people read and write then become a manager of a business and read the resumes you get and you will see what I am talking about. Great F***ing Book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One Second After is set in Western North Carolina, the area in which I happen to live. The accuracy with which Forstchen captures the character of the people and the geography of our area is uncanny. I've done enough research on Electromagnetic Pulse (EMP) to realize that he is equally on the mark in his portrayal of what would likely happen to a community like ours if the United States were attacked by an EMP weapon. EMP is a by-product of a very high-altitude nuclear explosion. Given the present state of the world, and the fact that nations like Iran and North Korea are rapidly developing the ability to deliver nuclear weapons via ballistic missiles, this potential scenario unfortunately isn't just science fiction. The fact that an event like this could actually occur in our world today is what makes this book so vitally important.
Just_the_facts_Maam More than 1 year ago
This book offers up a frightening scenario of a terrorist attack on our country and brings to light the horrible situation that would develop when there is no electricity, no communication, no authority or leadership. The author skillfully portrays the confusion and hysteria that would occur, along with some tough decisions that would have to be made. The book highlights our increasing dependency on technology, electronics, prepared food, drugs and our lack of any ability to go more then a few days without those things--its scary! At one point, I actually became upset at some of the events in the book. The characters that step into the leadership vacuum left when society starts to break down are believable and I liked them and cared about them. I recommend this book with the caveat that it may upset you but it will make you think.
Raven_990 More than 1 year ago
If you like post-apocalyptic books, this is a book for you. Very realistic, it will grab you from beginning to end. The characters are excellent, I enjoyed watching them change as times got worse. The writing style is very good, it's an easy read that you can totally disappear into.
JAcevedo More than 1 year ago
This book was definitely an eye opener about how fragile and dependant our lives as an industrialized nation. I tried to imagine what it would be like if this happened to me while I was on my way to work riding the subway in NYC definitely to scary to imagine. This book did seem to drag on at some points but the core message of the book remained, No Goliath is invincible. It was not a fun read but the story was very eye opening and did spark many interesting debates amongst my friends and co workers. Weather you live in a big city or in a remote area we are all dependant on the vast web of technology that exists in our daily lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a great book but it seemed that the ending was cut a little short but it could not be longer unless the author would just stretch it out and make it boring. The Characters were all good and the interaction and the way society acts was great as well.
Bear_Retd_AF More than 1 year ago
Subject matter not often covered. As far as apocolyptic stories goes, this one had me very concerned with the outcome from such an attack. Having worked in the electronics career field and a retired Air Force MSgt I can see the potential for such a problem. The plot and story are completely plausible and based on real science. Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down (my Nook that is). I had to recharge the battery I read it that long. There are parts of the story that will bring tears to your eyes and have you rooting for the population. It is just a great read and I highly recommend it to anyone.
GTRocketman More than 1 year ago
Dr. Forstchen's tale of the aftermath of an EMP weapon detonation haunted me for several days after finishing the book. Although I consider myself and my family to be better-than-average with respect to being prepared for most emergencies, the possible scenario that began "One Second After" forced me to re-think that opinion. Besides being an engaging fiction, this book warns of a devastating reality if only a fraction of the population was affected by a similar emergency. Read it before you decide "it could never happen here" - because something similar may be just around the corner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the book gripping and the concept intriguing. What is scary is the fact that this could happen. The plot was great, the people were believable and I found myself caring for them. I highly recommend this book!
bearBB More than 1 year ago
Please read this book this idea seems totally plausible and not for just people who beleive in conspiracies. I believe in some as I tend not to trust the government to give us the truth on many occassions. I hope this book gets publicity and made into a movie. A study abou EMP was completed by the government and unfortunately it was released the same day as the 9-11 commssion report.
Getagrip More than 1 year ago
Great read, but for those expecting a 'Tom Clancy' treatment of the subject matter you will be disappointed. This book looks more at the social climate of trying to adapt into our world now deprived of electricity. Forschten does a great job exploring the impact of an EMP strike on America that robs us of our ability to create and deliver electricity. How many ways would you be impacted by such a devastating loss? If you think you will be just fine, think again!
WT5C More than 1 year ago
As a disaster relief worker and first responder, this book takes a very realistic look at what could happen. I found it both chilling and compelling. The author did a very good job of researching and portraying what could happen in a major national disaster. It ought to be required reading for the entire congress and president.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Imagine sitting at home on September 10th 2001, reading a thriller about terrorists flying civilian jetliners into Manhattan skyscrapers. As I read "One Second After" North Korea was preparing a launch of a "communications satellite" that just about everyone agrees was a cover for a ballistic missile test. The ease with which the satellite launch could have been a cover for an EMP weapon scared me enough to recommend this book to others, and to wonder out loud what was being done to prepare against this threat. At times the writing bogs down a little, and I'm sure my Left Coast friends will disbelieve the portrayals of Southern lifestyles and values, but for this transplanted Tennessean it rang true. If you liked "On The Beach" you will appreciate this book. If you wonder why no one thought of a way to prevent the horror of 9/11, you should read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Review: This book actually discusses the real possibility of what could happen if an EMP were to strike the US. It revolves around a family who banded together with the town community to defend themselves and feed the people living there. The author touched on points that personally hit home for men many levels just as a few of the characters are similar to my family. Certain scenes are short on the action you expect in these types of novels but thats not this book is about. Think "Thin Red Line" meets survival novels. While this book does not give great insight on what items need to be done post disaster it will give you a mind set of what will come following it. For this reason I strongly recommend it.  Now for a message to most of the other reviewers and those who are debating reading this book. I see lots of comments where people say they won't read this because Newt Gingrich wrote the forward. This is complete and utter cow fecal matter. This is why our great country is failing, people are so divided that they won't even read a book because of the forward is by someone they don't like. He is not the author, he is the person writing the forward, plain and simple. People will also say lots of typos in grammar. This is typical of ebooks and I concluded a while back that this is due to the person transcribing this into ebook format or computer formatting issues. If you can't figure out what is being said and get hung up on things like that I suggest you take a strong look at your life and figure out whats important. To all others, I recommend this for a read. It can go slow at times but not so bad that it feels like your reading esoteric book. Having served in disaster ones in this country I can tell you a few of the things that happen in this book actually have happened already post Katrina. Give it a whirl and decide from yourself and look at your surroundings after reading this book. Don't listen to someones review just because they don't like the writer of the forward as it has nothing to do with the book. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The reality of this is mind-blowing!Very good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do not read this if you are naively positive about the future of society. Extraordinarily written and above the quality of both Stephen King and Dan Brown. Eriely predictive of American society reactions and American governments readiness as ISIS creeps closer to our doors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a book I just couldn't put down. Heartbreaking in parts and terrifying in others. Amazing to think this could actually happen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spielburg needs to make this book into a movie. I fear that a very real EMP is in all of our futures. Congress needs to take action to protect us from this very real threat. Why have I not heard anyone not ask the Presidential candidates about the EMP threat? God help us all.
MRK More than 1 year ago
A subject that no one wants to think about, but everyone must understand the possibilities. This is a portrait of a different America after a devestating change to our way of life and what we all take for granted. Forschen and Gingrich open our eyes to what may occur if more isn't done to protect our country from those who wish to do us harm. Hopefully, people in power in Washington will read this book and take action.
CDR_Wayne More than 1 year ago
This book seems a little too real. The more I read, the more disturbing it became. I have believed for quite while that an EMP burst could be more deadly than any other type of attack. This book confirms it and then lays out in detail it's affects on people and our thin veneer of civilization. Our over-reliance on the micro-chip has left us woefully unprepared to continue as a civilized people after an attack. Even an extraordinary solar flare could have the same effect. This book kept me up at night and has opened my eyes to the horrors of a world without food, transportation, or medicine. It should be required reading for our government leaders...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its hard to know how many stars to give this book. It kept my interest which is no easy feat and the book had a nice pacing that kept it moving along at a nicd clip so for that alone it deserves 4 stars but, the main character was a most unlikable guy. For someone who seems to be rah rah America and how we should all be one, he quickley views everyone other then his family and neighbors as outsiders and doesnt care if they die but yet still manages to view himself as morally superior to a drug addict or a prostitute. That just does not compute. The main character is just too conflicted in his belief system and that made the book hard to take at times. But, its an end of the world novel and he does a good job in describing how a society would most likely break down and i found his descriptions to be reslistic. A good but flawed book.