×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

One Shot at Forever: A Small Town, an Unlikely Coach, and a Magical Baseball Season
     

One Shot at Forever: A Small Town, an Unlikely Coach, and a Magical Baseball Season

4.1 25
by Chris Ballard
 

See All Formats & Editions

"One Shot at Forever is powerful, inspirational. . . . This isn't merely a book about baseball. It's a book about heart."
--Jeff Pearlman, New York Times bestselling author of Boys Will Be Boys and The Bad Guys Won

In 1971, a small-town high school baseball team from rural Illinois, playing with hand-me-down

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

One Shot at Forever: A Small Town, an Unlikely Coach, and a Magical Baseball Season 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put the book down. What a great read. Ballard captures life in small town America. David vs. Goliath.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this nonstop Well written about a small town and its phenomenal players, teachers and families. For me it was trip back to the places I called home during my chilhood and adolescence. It was a softer, more slow paced time that I only wish I could pass on to my grandchildren.
sistersam More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! What a great story....it's a quick read, and you'll want to pass it around! A GREAT gift! This teacher taught these small town boys so much more than how to win at baseball. I can't wait for the movie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be a very enjoyable read. Growing up during this time period in neighboring Indiana I could relate to much of what the main characters in the book were going through as they made their way thru the turbulent 1960's and early 1970's. The story definitely makes you think of the movie Hoosiers as they work their way through the Illinois state baseball tournament. The book was well researched and is more than just a sports book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I selected this book because the summary on the back of the book was very relatable to my life. I used to play baseball and just like the Macon Ironmen we were not expected to win. We were in last place in our league. With all of the hope and support from everyone and a great coach making us better we won the championship just like the Ironmen. I would definitely recommend this book to another high schooler because it is very inspiring to read and fun to see the team keep on winning and building their confidence more and more as they win. Anyone who likes baseball should read this because there is so much action and scenes that you may be able to relate to because you play. This book definitely met my expectations because it was a fun and action packed sports book. My favorite books to read are sports books but not every sports book is interesting and has a lot of action but this one did. I will definitely read another one of Ballard's books 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A candid look into the heart of baseball. These kids just loved to play and their unconventional coach allowed them to have fun. Also a poignant reminder of a special time of life. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book.
RickyS1 More than 1 year ago
One Shot At Forever tells the unlikely story of a small town high school baseball team from Illinois, and their "hippie" coach, who went from a group of nothings to one of the best baseball teams in Illinois. I chose this book because baseball is one of my favorite sports, and when I read what the book was about it just sounded really interesting. Chris Ballard creates a suspenseful story of the classic situation of the big city versus the small town that no one had ever heard of. This story brings the reader back to Macon, Illinois in 1971, the book makes the reader feel like they are hanging out with the team and Lynn Sweet. The book puts the reader on pins and needles from start to finish. All the setbacks that Macon had to face in the story made the book so much better. Ballard put so much detail into making sure he incorporated the group of boys actual bond. It wasn't faked to make it look they they liked each other more, it's written how it actually happened, they were all one big family. The entire story inspired me to try to become a better baseball player. It made me think that if these guys from Macon, Illinois can do that well playing against who were thought to be better teams, than I probably can too. One of the things I loved about the book was how none of the team cared about what people thought about them, with their controversial long hair and hippie coach. This book went beyond my expectations, I thought it would be like any other baseball story that I’ve read. However this book was very different, one of the things that I loved about the book was that it was a true story, when I was reading all about all the amazing things that the team did I had to keep reminding myself that it was actually a true story. Overall I loved this book, I didn't want to put it down. I would recommend this book to others because it is such an inspirational story, especially if you play baseball I think this would be a great book to read.
Rickysjr More than 1 year ago
One Shot At Forever tells the unlikely story of a small town high school baseball team from Illinois, and their "hippie" coach, who went from a group of nothings to one of the best baseball teams in Illinois. Chris Ballard creates a suspenseful story of the classic situation of the big city versus the small town that no one had ever heard of. This story brings the reader back to Macon, Illinois in 1971, the book makes the reader feel like they are hanging out with the team and Lynn Sweet. The book puts the reader on pins and needles from start to finish. All the setbacks that Macon had to face in the story made the book so much better. Ballard put so much detail into making sure he incorporated the group of boys actual bond. It wasn't faked to make it look they liked each other more, it's written how it actually happened, they were all one big family. The entire story inspired me to try to become a better baseball player. It made me think that if these guys from Macon, Illinois can do that well playing against teams who were thought to be better teams, than I probably can too. One of the things I loved about the book was how none of the team cared about what people thought about them, with their controversial long hair and hippie coach. Overall I loved this book, I didn't want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was good, but was a little slow in the beginning. I selected this text because i am a huge baseball fan and i love everything to do with the sport.  I would absolutely recommend this book to any other fellow students that love baseball, or are looking for a great book about being an underdog. I think this book reached my expectations, especially when the baseball season began for the boys of Macon. I look forward to reading any other books by Ballard. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I chose to read this book because I love the game of baseball. I've played the game all of my life and there's no other sport quite like it. I would recommend the text to another high school reader because the book is addictive and quick to read. Though it is short, the story was filled with many lessons and morals I can relate and learn from. The text met my expectation of a great book because of the excitement of the games and the strong connection I felt towards the team. It reminded me of my past summers on the Medway all star baseball teams. Playoffs were always the best part of summer baseball and our team always found a way to overcome the strong teams in our way.   
RJDunne More than 1 year ago
I selected this book because the summary on the back of the book was very relatable to my life. I used to play baseball and just like the Macon Ironmen we were not expected to win. We were in last place in our league. With all of the hope and support from everyone and a great coach making us better, we won the championship just like the Ironmen. I would definitely recommend this book to another high school student because it is very inspiring to read and fun to see the team keeps on winning and building their confidence increasingly as they win. Anyone who likes baseball should read this because there is so much action and scenes that you may be able to relate to because you play. This book definitely met my expectations because it was a fun and action packed sports book. My favorite books to read are sports books. Not every sports book is interesting and has a lot of action as this one did. I will definitely read another one of Ballard's books. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tday More than 1 year ago
Ballard does a masterful job of recreating that special time that some of us still remember, when there was only one state tournament for each sport across the state. No classes, big schools vs small schools, winner take all. This is a story that inspires and entertains at the same time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book alot i am a die hard baseball fan so i really did enjoy it. If i can read it agian i would!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DJHGoBlue More than 1 year ago
A great story about unlikely heroes. Ideal for baseball fans, but really for anyone who loves a good "David vs. Goliath" true life story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great story. It traces a small town high school baseball team during an amazing two seasons. The coach uses completely unorthodox methods to mold his team into a winning unit. If you are a baseball fan or not, this is a true David versus Goliath story. It goes on to briefly trace the lives of the participants to show how they continued to be affected by these two magical seasons.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Through the liives of these unknown heroes and their free spirited coach, you can tag along for the one shot at forever. You will cheat yourself if you do not read this book that touches on all the truly important things in life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Story. Excellent writer. If you played baseball in high school, particularly at a small school as I did, you will enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago