×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

One Sunday Morning
  • Alternative view 1 of One Sunday Morning
  • Alternative view 2 of One Sunday Morning
     

One Sunday Morning

2.4 10
by Amy Ephron
 

See All Formats & Editions

One Sunday morning four women at a bridge party in the elegant Gramercy Park Hotel see a beautiful young woman whom they all know leaving a nearby hotel with a man who is not her husband. The sight of twenty-year-old Lizzie Carswell with Billy Holmes is shocking and potentially ruinous. And though the ladies do not know the whole story — and despite their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

2.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very good novella. It is not as entertainingas "A Cup of Tea" but it is definately worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although metaphorical, there were too many unresolved issues in this book. The ending left me with more questions than answers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I knew from the onset that this was a book about appearances being deceiving. I just wish it would have more a little more unpredictable. I found the character Mary Nell to be interesting, and so the story earns 3 stars on her sake. Otherwise, it would have only been 2.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This lighter than air novel took me back to the 1920's, a era when scandal was dispensed in whispers rather then in screaming headlines in the tabloids. This slim, expertly crafted novel turned out to one of the best reads I've had in some time
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book left my entire book club quite disappointed. The characters are severly underdeveloped, the metaphors obvious and the story came across as disjointed and flat. There was a lot of potential here, but even at the last word I was still waiting for that potential to be realized in any meaningful way. The story left too many questions unanswered, which was not so bad since none of the characters inspired enough concern for this reader to really care. For my first, and probably last, exposure to the writings of Amy Ephron, I have to say I had hoped for more and was completely disappointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved 'A Cup of Tea,' so I had high expectations for 'One Sunday Morning.' Unfortunately, this new book is nowhere near the quality of 'A Cup of Tea.' While the prose is generally smooth and graceful, the content is lacking. The story is choppy and fragmented, with undeveloped characters, unresolved plot points, and an unsatisfying ending. Not worth the effort.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this novel. The author is very talented, I love the descriptions she gives. A terrific story!