×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Only You
     

Only You

3.3 13
by Harry Connick Jr.
 
Harry Connick Jr. was on the standards tip long before pop crooners like Rod Stewart, Boz Scaggs, Michael Bolton, and the like decided to mine the Great American Songbook for all it was worth. Only You includes a few durable tunes that have lost none of their luster over the ensuing decades: “My Blue Heaven,” “I Only Have Eyes for You,” and “The Very Thought of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Only You 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of HC for quite some time, this CD goes beyond that extra mile. Need that quiet time and some "de-stress"? This is your remedy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the cd. I felt like I was back in time when things where simple. And Gentlemen where gentlemen and Lady's where lady's. I just the way my parents where brought up. I say 5 stars for romance,style,crisma, and quality.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Harry Connick, Jr. is one of the most versatile artists in the music industry. He’s also an occasional actor. His piano skills and his mellow voice make him one of the admired performers of all-time. I have collected a number of his CDs, but this one in my opinion is the cream of the crop. These beautiful standards from the 50’s and 60’s were performed, arranged, orchestrated and conducted by Harry himself in a very enthralling manner, from the first track and my topmost favorite, “More” to the last track, “Goodnight My Love”. According to Harry, these songs are a combination of his personal favorites and suggestions by his friends. Great choices and great performances, indeed! This CD has a very special spot in my collection, all the tracks are noteworthy and you can listen to it repeatedly and the more you listen to it, the more you will appreciate it. His flawless and heartfelt rendition of “More” is simply awesome, a masterpiece, the most beautiful version I’ve ever heard. The string instruments, french horns and percussions are very distinctive. The solo violin on “My Prayer” is breathtaking and very soothing. He sings it almost like Frank Sinatra’s style. Unlike other crooners whose finale is commonly “That’s All”, Harry’s finale is “Goodnight My Love”, a song popularized by the Fleetwoods in the 60’s. My favorites aside from “More” and “My Prayer” are “The Very Thought Of You”, “I Only Have Eyes For You”, “Goodnight My Love”, “Save The Last Dance For Me”, “My Blue Heaven” and of course the title track, “Only You”. I highly recommend this enchanting CD for your listening pleasure. You will enjoy it as much as I do. Thank you Mr. Connick for coming up with this marvelous CD. It’s definitely a keeper!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought the CD the first chance I had after seeing H.C. on the Today Show. I always liked his voice, but never wanted to own any of his discs before. I am playing this over and over. And I am not even 50 years old!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have all HCJ's albums and while this is nowhere near my favorite it still gets plenty of play time. It's a little too slow, especially the first few tracks, but if you want a gentle, romantic sound this is great, and no one else around today can compare!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sound qualitly is terrible. Did not enjoy this CD
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love him, I love his voice, but his background music stinks.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan, but the arrangements need work. It seems underproduced. Even some of the phrasing doesn't seem right.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
on most of the songs Harry sounds as if he is trying to be the world's slowest singer. He has taken good titles to a new low. Best part of the whole thing is the instrumental passage in My Prayer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don't get my wrong, I love Harry, but this is not his best work. It drags and I could fall asleep listening to it. I like Harry when he sounds like he took a few less tranquilizers... Do yourself a favor.. save the money and use it to buy Michael Buble's CD.
Edithann More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful voice, what wonderful songs, what a crappy album. this is the first Harry Connick Jr album I have purchased and it may be the last. the arrangements are predictable, i felt as though i was listening to some of the overdone flowery arrangements of the sixties. they were also jarring in the way in which they strove for originality with these old standard tunes and only managed to mangle them almost beyond recognition. I'm not sure if Connick was seriously bored or on heavy medication when he recorded these songs but it was only the quality of his voice that made them remotely listenable. i was very disappointed.