×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Open and Shut (Andy Carpenter Series #1)
     

Open and Shut (Andy Carpenter Series #1)

4.2 98
by David Rosenfelt
 

See All Formats & Editions

"There is nothing like a golden retriever. I know, I know, it's a big planet with a lot of wonderful things, but golden retrievers are the absolute best. Mine is named Tara . . . The only problem she has ever caused is that I spend so much time with her in the mornings that I am almost invariably late for work."



Whether dueling with new

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Open and Shut (Andy Carpenter Series #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An easy reading book that doesn't bore you with mundane details. Whenever I read a crime story, I know that clues are left for us to try to figure out the ending.... but this time I never saw it coming. Andy is so down to earth and a nice guy that if he didn't grow up with the senator's daughter, they probably never would have gotten married. I am glad this didn't get in the way of the truth.
JT05 More than 1 year ago
I happened to pick up Open and Shut when my current list of "must read" authors had nothing new. I found an enjoyable story with characters-both two and four legged-that held my attention through the entire read. Many of us wish we had Andy Carpenter's lifestyle but the way he decides to deal with his windfall is both touching and enviable. Andy comes across as a good guy with a sense of humor about himself and life and is refreshing to read. I enjoyed my first Andy Capenter story enough to go back and purchase two more in the series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely could not put this book down! Andy Carpenter's sense of humor is what made the book. As soon as I finished it, I went out and ordered his other 4 books. David Rosenthal is now one of my favorite authors along with James Patterson, Stuart Woods, Phillip Margolin, Janet Evanovich. Harlan Cobin, Robert Crais and Sue Grafon. That's a pretty high ranking for a first book. I do hope the rest are just as great.
jdee01 More than 1 year ago
Just finished #1 & 2 in the series and rate both 4 stars. I just added all the rest (except cannot find #4) to my list to buy. Fast reads, witty, and informative. Gets right to the point and does repeat things over and over. Will recommend to my friends. J.Dee
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. I consider it a perfect summer read. Not so heavy that you need to think a lot, but still with enough suspense to keep you going.
NYer More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book at the airport and found my cross country flight was the fastest ever. I loved the story and the writing. I have recently purchased all of David Rosenfelt's books and love them all. I am so happy to find a new author that I enjoy.
Vic7 More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Can't wait to finish the last one. Hope there is more coming, really loved Andy.
doggies More than 1 year ago
David Rosenfelt does an excellent job of pulling you into the story of OPEN and SHUT! My book club chose this for an "easy" read, but now we call it an "Excellent" read. Rosenfelt has you wondering "who did it" through out the book. You think you have it solved and then there is a new twist. The ending is SO unexpected. Great read!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book if you enjoy courtroom mysteries,witty main characters, and a storyline that grabs you from the first page to the last. I loved every page and just wish it had lasted longer. I can't wait for Mr Rosenfelt's next book.
1unicorn2many More than 1 year ago
I've been looking for another series that would stay interesting and not just rehash the previous story so I started with this one - I love the characters, especially the way the dog is worked in but doesn't take over - terrific!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this murder mystery and upon finishing it, I went on to read five more David Rosenfelt novels! Hs style is great! I love it when Andy goes against the grain of legalese and still comes out the winner! The dialogue is very refreshing and brought many laughs--not something I find in many courtroom dramas!
bearkram More than 1 year ago
i loved this debut book and i plan to start the others in the series soon. writing style was not too heavy but just right
harstan More than 1 year ago
In New Jersey judicial circles, the name Nelson Carpenter is legendary as the former District Attorney earned the respect of the entire state. In Passaic County, Nelson¿s oldest born, defense attorney Andy Carpenter abuses that reputation that enables him to avoid contempt charges due to his questionable courtroom antics that irritate judges and prosecutors, but frees his clients.

Nelson asks Andy to defend Willie Miller in the felon¿s appeal of a murder conviction that the older Carpenter prosecuted. Witnesses stated that they found the accused standing over the murdered corpse of Denise McGregor and Willie¿s fingerprints and blood were all over the murder weapon. When Nelson dies while attending a baseball game with Andy, the latter knows he must honor his father¿s last wish of him. As he begins to become more familiar with the Miller case, Andy is stunned to inherit a fortune and find a seemingly incriminating photo of his dad. Soon someone threatens to kill Andy if he insists on working the Miller appeal.

OPEN AND SHUT is a fabulous legal thriller that is at its best when Andy stays on center stage as a loose cannon attorney. When the subplot involves Andy¿s personal relationships with his wife and his private investigator, it loses an edge though having the sleuth capable of kicking butt is a nice gender bender twist. Overall, the story line is fast-paced providing readers a thrilling ride through the New Jersey judiciary system. Jurors will discover David Rosenfelt¿s debut is quite appealing and sentence the author to providing more tales starring Andy.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Delightful! Well-plotted whodunit with witty protagonist; wry, dry humor is great in any season. Glad I tried this series; bought more.
Shar-Pei-Man More than 1 year ago
Fast paced, easy reading, funny, and griping tale.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Witty and entertaining, whodunit read with the added "realism" of a great Golden Retriever, Tara. Since we also have a Golden, we can identify with Andy's love for a great dog and enjoy the humor of the author in his twisted tales, full of dry and not so dry, humor. Find ourselves reading funny excerpts out loud to each other. Very entertaining!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written. Includes truly gem-oneliners and lol dry humor throughout, sometimes when least expected which makes it even more funny. Rosenfelt is a joy to read. Plot has suspense, strategy, engaging characters, terrific dialogue. The characters and plot evoke thoughtfulness and emotion from the reader. Rosenfelt draws you in completely and gives you a very satisfying read. This is the first book of his I've read and now I will be looking to read All his books!
stunning More than 1 year ago
It was an okay book. It had many unexpecting events take place. The plot took a while to really pick up speed. I have to admit my favorite character is Tara, the golden retriever. :) I hope the next book is better than this one.
scoda More than 1 year ago
When the latest Rosemfelt book made the best seller list, I decided to start at the beginning of the series with #1 first. I immediately ordered the remaining 6 of the series and can't wait for the newest one to be published. Each book is a page turner with a surprise ending. Great reading! It doesn't hurt to have a Golden Retriever of your own!
KathyK More than 1 year ago
I have been looking for different authors to read, since many of my favorite authors are deceased, seem to have retired or are not writing books as frequently as they did. After reading this book, the first in the Andy Carpenter series, I have now purchased three more -- guess no more needs to be said as to how much I enjoyed this book!
Jani8 6 months ago
I have never read any of David Rosenfelt’s books before, but I plan to do so as quickly as I can. This book is just what I like in a mystery – intricate plot, well developed characters, and humor. The hero is a lawyer, Andy Carpenter, who takes on an appeal case that his father asked him to do before he died. How he works it from a chance that the client might be innocent until he firmly believes he is innocent is an amazing journey. It is well worth reading.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Have only been able to locate this one in paperback but it was so worth reading. Recommended to everyone no matter what genre you like this is pretty good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm finding this book humerous and human, well written and un-disguised.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago