×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Operators: The Wild and Terrifying Inside Story of America's War in Afghanistan
  • Alternative view 1 of The Operators: The Wild and Terrifying Inside Story of America's War in Afghanistan
  • Alternative view 2 of The Operators: The Wild and Terrifying Inside Story of America's War in Afghanistan
     

The Operators: The Wild and Terrifying Inside Story of America's War in Afghanistan

3.7 26
by Michael Hastings
 

See All Formats & Editions

The inspiration for the upcoming movie War Machine, starring Brad Pitt, Emory Cohen, and Ben Kingsley

From the author of The Last Magazine, a shocking behind-the-scenes portrait of our military commanders, their high-stake maneuvers, and the politcal firestorm that shook the United States.

In the shadow of the hunt for Bin Laden

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Operators: The Wild and Terrifying Inside Story of America's War in Afghanistan 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Among the real thinkers in the Army there is a motto that the subjects of this book failed to recognize as a truth: Arrogance does not equal competence. This author is a real patriot...he's exposed the Eisenhower wannabes for what they are and what they aren't.
ToolTinker More than 1 year ago
If you want warm fuzzies about the powerful U.S. military and its exalted leaders, pass on this book. It's not for people who equate war with patriotism, security and heroic leadership. But it is fair, based on cobersationsI have had with current and retired military people. The military is its own universe, and Stanley McChrystal is the ultimate insider, not even knowing "what to do with civilians." Example: Hastings writes of McChrystal's contacting a respected author about his definitive book on the Vietnam War. The general asks the author what he (McChrystal) could learn from the author as he prepared to take the command in Afghanistan. The author replied that the U.S. should never have been in Vietnam. That was not was the general wanted to hear and proceeded with on-going, brutal attacks in the Helmand Province. An elite review team advised against even fighting there, where troops were being killed every four or five days.The momentum was there. Our forces would stay and fight. We now know, of course, that even the "great" Gen. David Petraeus did not use the word "win" after he took over the command from McChrystal. The Operators tells us why. It's well-researched - Hasting was there for the strategy and truth sessions - and it will be familiar to people who actually served.
CindyOH More than 1 year ago
I have to admit I could only read so much of this book at one time because I found the behavior of these generals and their subordinates so disgusting. THis was an informative account of the complete manipulation of what went on in Afganistan and how the American people have been lied to so the generals can "play war" at the expense of many American lives. Thank you, Michael Hastings, for again enlightening us! Keep up the great work!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm enjoying reading this book, and it's engaging and interesting. However, I cringe when I read things like, "He texted me it." Just a little more attention to good editing could have gone a long way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Michael Hastings introduces humor to a very morbid and moribund adventure of the US in Afghanistan. This is a must-read for anyone interested in the future of our country.
LisbethDM More than 1 year ago
If you read one book all year this is that book
elect1809 More than 1 year ago
Incredibly smart and bravely devoid of the love fest propaganda one finds in Broadwell's bio of Petraeus.  This is a must read.  Hastings is the man!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
drakevaughn More than 1 year ago
Unfettered access by a young Rolling Stone reporter to a war general’s inner circle - what could go wrong? General Stanley McChrystal received his answer after Hastings scribbled his now-infamous article which led to McChrystal’s forced retirement. That alone was quite an amazing story, but in The Operators, Hasting provided a personal and inside look into his time with the general and the rocky aftermath. Along the way, he documented his travels through Europe and Afghanistan with the general and his team, reporting on their boasting and free-wheeling behavior. Hastings spotlighted a harsh beam onto the war in Afghanistan and the policy-makers task to execute it. At times, his first-person, fly-on-the-wall style came off a bit self-serving, but on the same hand, the reporting was always equitable and top-notch. Hastings untimely death has stripped the world of any future investigations, a tragedy, but The Operators is a worthwhile legacy of his stellar reporting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book gives a close work to the inner workings of politics and the war-machine. One more reason we are not winning these wars, too much political power in the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spare observations on the waste and futility of war. "The strategy is akin to digging a hole in the desert, then filling the hole with cash and dead bodies and calling it a victory."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Revealing...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The condescending tone of the book is unappealing at best. Hastily written and self aggrandizing account of young man's interviews with military personnel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Afghanistan, what a waste of life (our soldiers & their civilans - could give a s... about their so called military)! Couple of Generals wanting their Combat Infantry badges, polliticans with no idea what the f... is going on, and civilian contractors raking in $,$$$,$$$'s at taxpayers' expense! Hastings, you are right on, thanks and keep hammering them. A must read if you give a s... about this country and our children and their children if they get to have any!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like chicken too
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Found this to be a little to liberal for my taste not so sure i buy into all that he says it sure as heck was not worth the $$$ hes charging