×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Opposite of Love
     

The Opposite of Love

4.4 58
by Julie Buxbaum
 

See All Formats & Editions

With perfect pitch for the humor and heartbreak of everyday life, debut author Julie Buxbaum has fashioned a heroine who will be instantly recognizable to anyone who has loved and lost and loved again.

When twenty-nine-year-old Manhattan attorney Emily Haxby ends her happy relationship just as her boyfriend is about to propose, she can’t explain to even her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Opposite of Love 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
BookWorm90210 More than 1 year ago
No matter where you are in your life you can relate to something that happens in this story. I couldn't put the it down.
catgurrrl More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I recommend this book to every one!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book had me reading until it was done. I am a person that gets distracted easily and forget that I was reading a book, well with this book I wanted to read more all the time. I could not put it down and I hope that Julie writes more like it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book should not be characterized as 'chick lit' it is so much more than that I must admit it was what I expected, however, especially as a first novel (please keep writing more), I was blown away it was heartfelt, inspiring, funny, and most of all, hard to put down. By the end of the book, I felt that Emily was someone I would love to know, as a sister, friend, sister-in-law, etc. WHAT A JOY AND DELIGHT THIS BOOK WAS.
bumblebee23 29 days ago
This was a quick read and I enjoyed the story. Parts of it were very relatable to my own life before marriage and career. The major characters were all likable and fun to get to know throughout the book. I felt like I grew with Emily as the book progressed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Debles More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book in all the world. The way Buxbaum creates complete characters, I felt like I knew all of them and loved them all. The characters are very human, with frailties and souls. I could read this book over and over and I have!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really love the wrting of Julie Buxbaum
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didnt expect such an amusing yet moving stoy. Id read it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Julie Buxbaum has you laughing, crying, and rooting for Emily. Everyone can relate to her in one way or another.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not Not-OPPOSITE-Clan's nursurey
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
risuena More than 1 year ago
The author conveys one's fears and how defensive mechanisms are put in place very well. The main character breaks up with her boyfriend before he can propose, fearing the hurt the future may bring. The story feels real; it is very touching, deep, and inspirational. She has to accept and deal with her grandpa's ill health who has been more like a parent to her, she's bothered by her fading memory of her mom, she's irritated that her father is not as involved, and she's not quite comfortable and happy with herself. There are so many levels to this book. It tackles grief, communication, fear, and the journey to find oneself and happiness. It was a pleasant surprise and worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago