×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Origin: A Technothriller
     

Origin: A Technothriller

3.9 37
by J. A. Konrath
 
When linguist Andrew Dennison is yanked from his bed by the Secret Service and taken to a top secret facility in the desert, he has no idea he’s been brought there to translate the words of an ancient demon.

He joins pretty but cold veterinarian Sun Jones, eccentric molecular biologist Dr. Frank Belgium, and a hodge-podge of religious, military, and science

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Origin - A Technothriller 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
Karin Talley More than 1 year ago
Basically it lets the reader see the largely inflated ego of mankind for when they find this thing, instead of leaving it alone, they believe in their superiority. Thinking they can control this demon, they miss alot of the warning signs. He may appear to do miracles but it is all trickery designed to allow his escape out into the world. With their fear of death and wanting to survive, the demon plays their fears against them. By not blowing the place up they allow this demon and his minions to traverse the earth.
Butterfly3DR More than 1 year ago
Origin kept me on the edge of my seat! Couldn't put it down. I've enjoyed every book written by this author (under various names, of course).
KirkusMacGowan More than 1 year ago
Sucked in from the first paragraph is the only way to describe Origin. The first twenty percent of the book is as good as any thriller I’ve read. I couldn’t wait to read more. There wasn’t a clear cut-off point, but things slowed down. Not necessarily in a bad way, we just learn more about the plot and possible blooming romances. A few chapters later, it picked back up again and never stopped. You know those movies when every time something bad happens, something worse happens? If you don’t enjoy that type of movie, don’t pick up this book. I kept thinking, “Oh, man. This really sucks. Maybe they’ll do this or this.” Nope. Konrath kicks you in the stomach with the next twist. No doubt, Origin fits in the horror genre. I’m not a huge fan of horror, but there was enough suspense and storyline to keep me enthralled. I definitely wouldn’t suggest this one for the squeamish. I do have one complaint, and it’s my preference, nothing to do with how the book was written. I wish Konrath had delved deeper into the demon’s history, maybe more about the religious ramifications. I’m just nosy and wanted to see how Konrath would throw things together. Fast read, simple, well worth the money.
Mose1960 More than 1 year ago
As I've come to expect from J.A., the action never stops, the characters are great, and what a character he created here. Definitely one of the most unique bad guys I've ever read. If you like J.A.'s work or are looking for a "can't put down" thriller, Origin is an original you'll love!
mrsgodiva More than 1 year ago
Origin was the funniest gory book I've ever read. The idea of holding and studying Satan is the epitome of man's stupidity. The irony of man playing God with a creature who thinks he's God is so cool. I loved the characters and cheered them on every step of the way. Bub is the ultimate villain.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very silly
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would recommend tgis to anyonr looking for a good, quick, easy to read horror/scifi/comedy book. Odd combo of genres but it works. Bub is one of the coolest villians ive seen in a while. I thought it was a really good story. I, like some other reviewers, wish it had been a bit more in depth on some of the religious aspects brought up.
lthur15 More than 1 year ago
Overall good and interesting book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book.
Lovetoread7679 More than 1 year ago
Not for those who can't stand a "little" bloodshed, but hey, remember Alien? I particularly enjoyed how Konrath showed man's self deception in thinking we are in control and the power and pervasiveness of evil...not just the beast but the evil in all of us that is either conquered or not. Character development was on the shy side but sci-fi-horror lovers will not be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very well written book, with a supernatural twist I didn't see coming. I liked how all the characters were flawed including the "hero" of the story which made him believable. There was mystery and enough suspense to keep me up through the night reading. It gave a new twist on life's origins on our planet and on where our belief system of God and Satan. As been proven in every myth, fable ect.. There is a truth behind it. The only complaint was that the book left off without a complete resolution, maybe the author did so for a sequel book. Otherwise I would recommend this book as a good nail biting fun read, it would even be great as a movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amy Aylward More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It kept me thinking and i changed my mind on what Bub was like five times. I highly recommend this book.