×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Out of Range
     

Out of Range

4.3 57
by C. J. Box
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Joe Pickett novel from #1 New York Times-bestselling author C.J. Box. 

Game warden Joe Pickett returns in a twisting, action-packed tale of greed, power, and murder.

Joe Pickett is attempting to enjoy-all right, survive-his mother-in-law's wedding to a local big-shot rancher when he receives some disturbing news: Will Jensen,a fellow

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Out of Range (Joe Pickett Series #5) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love C.J. Box and his style of writing. I just wish he could write and publish his books faster. Out of Range keeps you in suspense from the first page to the last. Once I picked up Out of Range I found it very hard to put down. I would recommend Joe Pickett Novel to everyone who loves Wyoming or just the out doors. Thanks for the good reading and keep up the good work.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Game Warden Joe Pickett who is based in Saddlestring, Twelve Sleep County in Wyoming is shocked when he hears that fellow game warden Will Jensen committed suicide. Joe¿s supervisor asks him to temporally take over Will¿s territory Jackson in Teton County; although it is not a good time to leave his wife and two daughters. He agrees to the temporary assignment in the hopes that he will obtain a better position and more income....................... Before he leaves, he asks his friend Nate Romanaski to watch his family because they are getting some strange calls that could prove dangerous. A spark ignites between Joe¿s wife and Nate one that they both try to ignore. Meanwhile, in Jackson, Joe is trying to deal with an ambitious supervisor ,an outfitter who doesn¿t adhere to the law and a developer who needs Joe approval to get his project off the ground. In an ominous turn of events Joe is exhibiting the same symptoms that Will experienced before he committed suicide and he begins to suspect that he and Will were set up by a dangerous and ruthless enemy............................ C.J. Box has written some pretty spectacular books over the years but OUT OF RANGE is by far his best work to date. This literary and lyrical thriller is memorable and will be considered a classic. The protagonist is an everyman that people can identify with him even when he finds himself attracted to another woman but like his wife chooses to ignore it. The plot is Byzantine, dark, gritty, almost gothic in tone and will appeal not just to mystery fans but to anyone who loves a good book..................... Harriet Klausner
GranolaGrammie More than 1 year ago
Box's books are not only interesting but educational also. I have learned a lot about animals and the west by reading these books.
DanBru More than 1 year ago
I have really enjoyed all of the Joe Pickett series books. Wish there were more. I have read them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy this series. You wouldn't think it would appeal to a 50 something women but the main character is a real person who has a family, makes mistakes but lives up to his word. The Wyoming setting is beautifully described. Felt like I was there. Enough action to keep things interesting throughout. Start with #1 though because each book carries over to the next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great book as always
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Booker13 More than 1 year ago
I recently started this series and really liked the first ones.  I liked the way the characters grew with each book.  This book I was disappointed in the way he was taking the family.   Without giving too much away...while understanding teenage angst, Sheridan's concerns and pains were NEVER discussed  with either mom or dad.  This was a strong girl who would have voice something to her mother AND Jo realized something was wrong, but nothing was said. I did not appreciate the way he led him to drinking so much in this one compared to the prior ones AND how easily he was cheating was there for him and MaryBeth.  I did not like the  fact he wrote the character to be dishonest in his own rights, but had him going to secretly turn on a friend.  (READ NO FURTHER FOR SPOILER ALERT) BUT it is okay from him to know a murder was not commited BUT was telling no one.  Not to mention his keeping quiet about what REALLY happened to Will kept  his widow from collecting insurance money to help raise her kids.  Too many inconsistencies to the characters this time.  Reading one more and hoping back on track.
pheatherqyll More than 1 year ago
It's true, there are some discrepancies in the Pickett books, but this is NOT a biography and poetic license is allowed. The stories are strong, interesting and mostly creditable. I will continue reading all t he CJ Box books I can find!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved all 14 Joe Pickett novels. One has to allow for some "author's choices" in some of the believability of exploits, scenery, etc., but it all makes for an entertaining read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Silvertipgriz More than 1 year ago
If you like Joe Pickett, you'll like this one, but don't expect the normal situation. He ain't in the boonies in this one! As someone who's worked in the wilds of Louisiana and streets of South Florida, I know exactly how he feels dumped in the tourist capital of Wyoming, and Box creates a winning novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always, another good book by Box! Love the Joe Pickett series- this is no exception! A mystery that keeps readers hanging on until the end!
MexicoDan More than 1 year ago
Slowly working my way through the whole Joe Picket series. Rationing. Some are better than others, but all are worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago