×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Outcasts United: An American Town, a Refugee Team, and One Woman's Quest to Make a Difference
     

Outcasts United: An American Town, a Refugee Team, and One Woman's Quest to Make a Difference

4.1 68
by Warren St. John
 

See All Formats & Editions

The extraordinary tale of a refugee youth soccer team and the transformation of a small American town

Clarkston, Georgia, was a typical Southern town until it was designated a refugee settlement center in the 1990s, becoming the first American home for scores of families in flight from the world’s war zones—from Liberia and Sudan to Iraq and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Outcasts United 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
sumant_neo More than 1 year ago
We are always encountered with media spewing forth details of incidents where people's lives have been torn apart due to war, famines, riots or other similar disasters, but seldom do we come across to what happens to those who pass through these incidents and live on. How life changes for them, and how they adapt to newer surroundings. Outcsasts United is a small glimpse into such a realm. The book is primarily situated in Clarkston, a small city close to Atlanta. Clarkston became a refugee settlement centre during the 1990's. Formerly, Clarkston was a stereotypical small town in America. Hence, for the refugees and the town inhabitants, the collision between the cultures erupting into a struggle for their identities is the central theme of the book. The protagonist is Luma Mufleh, a young Jordanian woman from a well-to-do family and finishes ger education in USA. She arrived in Decatur(a neighboring town) and during one of her shopping trips, she stumbled upon a group of young refugees playing football in Clarkston. This leads her to create a small football program in town. Each player in the book has their own distinct background, which is explained in great detail. After going across these disparities, it is not hard for one to understand the distrust between refugee communities and their hosts. Mufleh acts as a mother, friend, translator and mentor to the children and their families. A set of rules was drawn up that all players were expected to adhere to. Disobediences brought exclusion from the team. Having little experience of coaching, she learns from her mistakes. She committed herself to the teams and expected the same in return. The central theme of the book is the way that football unites a group of different people, from completely different backgrounds. Regardless of color, creed or any other denominator, all are welcomed. It is a simple story of how one human can inspire others, and how that helps others to escape whatever domestic ills they might have experienced. The narrative is from the coach's perspective with the children providing a nice counterbalance along the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where is this rp? Please respond here asap!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Make a better bio someday!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Nakita Rank: Lieutenant Gender: Female Age: 17 moons Animal: Half husky, half red wolf Appearance: Nakita, like the wolf side of her family, has reddish brown fur, with a white underbelly, one black front paw, and dazzling indigo eyes Personality: Cheerful, Calm, Kind, Gentle, Loyal, Generous, Honest, Trustworthy, Caring, yet Fierce, Brave, Couragous, and Willing to Lay Down her Life Crush: None Mate: None Pups: -_- What do you think? Kin: Niagara ((mother, dead)), Red ((father, missing)), and Kodi ((brother, missing)) History: Good luck trying to get her to tell you! Theme Song: Missing by Evanescence ((seriously listen to that song it's awesome)) Quote ((from her theme song)): "Please, please forgive me, but I won't be home again. Maybe someday you'll look up... and barely concious you'll say to no one, isn't something missing? You won't cry for my absence I know, you forgot me long ago! Am I that unimportant? Am I so insignifigant?! Isn't something missing? Isn't someone missing me?" Other: She has abnormally large paws, which give her the upper hand in battle -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Name: Shani ((which means "wonder" in Swahili)) Rank: Fighter Gender: Female Age: Unknown Animal: Lioness Appearance: A golden brown lioness with darker brown flecks, relatively large ears, and sapphire blue eyes. A thick scar slices her muzzle, and another parts the fur on her shoulder Personality: Shy, Kind, Caring, Gentle, Smart, Normally Cheerful, Reassuring, and Trustworthy, but she has a heartbroken side that she rarely shows to anyone Crush: Spark... I'll cheerfully shred your ears if you tell him, though! Mate: None Cubs: None Kin: Doesn't speak much of them History: ASK HER AT YOUR OWNR RISK OF BEING DROWNED BY TEARS Theme Song: Bleed (I must be dreaming) by Evanescence Quote ((it's from the theme song)): "We all live and we all die, but that does not begin to justify you! It's not what it seems, not what you think. NO, I must be dreaming! It's only in my mind, not the real life. NO, I must be dreaming...!" Other: Nothing much -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Name: Blade Rank: Fighter ((I think)) Gender: Male Age: 11 moons Animal: Cat Appearance: A jet black tom with a white chest, white tailtip, and emerald green eyes. He has a V-shaped nick in his right ear, and a large scar runs from the right side of his left eye to his jaw Personality: Quiet, Brave, Reckless, Couragous, Agressive, and Unpredictable, though he has a softer side... Crush: Flutter, it's kinda obvious Mate: None Kits: None Kin: Onyx ((father, dead)), Thornheart ((mother)), and Silverwing ((sister, missing)) History: Will not tell just anyone Theme Song: Numb by Linkin Park Quote ((from the theme song)): "I'm tired of being what you want me to be, feeling so faithless, lost under the surface. Don't know what you're expecting of me, put under the pressure of walking in your shoes! (Caught in the undertow, just caught im the undertow) Every step that is another mistake to you...! I've become so numb, I can't feel you there, become so tired, so much more aware! I'm becoming this, all I want to do is be more like ME and be less like YOU!" Other: He hates what he has become
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Glimmer that Shines at Twilight Gender: Female Rank: Leader Age: 30 moons Species: Tigress Looks: Pale pink tigress with silver stripes, paws, and tailtip. Her eyes are iceblue, tinged with lavender. Her left ear is torn. She has purewhite wings, rimmed with gold, that are a foxlength long. Personality: Talk to her! She won't mind Crush: None Mate: Raven(quit rp) Kits: Melody of Spring Nightingale, Sleet that Pelts Against Mountain, Flutter of Songbird's Wings, and Ashen Sky Other: Nothing much Name: Spark that Flies in Fire Gender: Dude Age: 30 moons Rank: Fighter Species: Lion Looks: Pitch black, with red flecks and tailtip, and pale orange and yellow wings. His eyes are amber Personality: Relaxed, laidback, and loyal, quick to make friends and slow to judge. Horrible when it comes to girls. Crush: Shani Mate: None Kits: None Other: Ask me! Name: Flutter of Songbird's Wings Gender: Female Age: 14 moons Rank: Fighter Species: I dunno, you tell me Looks: Her tail is large and fluffy. Her tailtip is a translucent golden color, just like her paws, which are abnormally large. Her fur is light purple, while her eyes are pale indigo, almost purplish. Pale blue wings are folded at her sides Personality: Quiet and shy, doesn't talk much Crush: Umm… Mate: None Kits: None Other: Nothing much Name: Sleet that Crashes Against Mountain Gender: Dude Age: 14 moons Rank: Fighter Species: I dunno, looks like a tiger without stripes Looks: Purewhite fur with a silvery glow, vibrant blue eyes, pale silver paws and tailtip, and fluffy fur. Personality: See Spark Crush: None Mate: None Kits: None Other: Nothing Name: Melody of Spring Nightingale Gender: Female Age: 14 moons Rank: Healer Species: Cat-ish? Looks: Pinkish purple fur with golden specks, short, fluffy tail, pale golden paws Personality: Talk to me! Crush: None Mate: None Kits: None Other: Nothing Name: Ashen Sky Gender: Female Age: 14 moons Rank: Fighter Species: Tigress Looks: Grayish fur with pale blue and purple stripes, green eyes, and a white blaze on her chest. Personality: Loud, proud, confident, quick to make friends and stand up for anyone. Crush: None, I don't care about guys. Mate: None Kits: None Other: Seriously, nothing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guardian105 More than 1 year ago
Although this book takes place in the '90s, its subject matter clearly resonates even today. For soccer and sociology fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a very quick read with a great mesaage. Coach Luma is a very inspiring individual with a heart for refugees. I ejiyed reading about her journey with the team andthe incredible mission she is trying to accomplish. However i was not exactly a fan of the way the author portrayed the town. I feel like it was slightly jaded and made them look unwelcoming and i am very sure this was untrue of thebtown as a whole. As a whole the book is very inspiring. Go Fugees!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KathrynAnne More than 1 year ago
I was encouraged to turn the page with anticipation throughout this inspiring true story of the Fugees and the coach who taught them the values of team work and self-discipline. The author, Warren St. John, brings the story to life with his simple yet realistic vocabulary, making me want to stand up and cheer whether it be during a soccer game or a heartwarming moment between Coach Luma and her fellow teammates. I especially enjoyed the moments where Luma failed to hide her emotions because she tried to give off such a tough attitude; but, just like a chocolate bon bon, she's a softie. It was hard taking in the obstacles that Coach Luma and the Fugees had to face: the bitterness and discrimination from white residents and differing races, the limited resources in order to escape from their troubles, and wanting to be accepted by society. But Luma was not willing to give up, and as long as she kept fighting for what was rightfully fair, the Fugees had something to hope for. I am still upset with the way the community over-reacted after seeing a team made up of child immigrants, play soccer. The city council should be fired immediately and replaced by people who actually believe in equal rights. Don't get me started with Officer Jordan, who was caught on tape committing police brutality on an African American. By the time I finished this book, it made me think about pursuing the dreams and the goals I have always wanted to achieve because I could relate to the team during a certain game in the book where they said that it was up to them if they wanted to win, "Its not the coach who's playing the game, we are". The way the Fugees grew from underdog status to rising stars is always something to look up to because they got what they deserved and more. What started out as a team, turned out to be a family of different cultures and backgrounds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Faith14 More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing! It provided such insight, but it was so well written. It made me not want to put it down. I had to read this for school, but I would definitely read it again! Such an inspiring story! Do yourself a favor and go buy this book! It's amazing. You will not regret it!
Sophietheunicorn More than 1 year ago
The strong message that I got from reading this book about acceptance and selflessness and involvement was clouded and diminished because of the length of the book and its lack of focus on that crucial point. This is not necessarily a bad thing, since this is obviously the way the author chose to write the book, and since it gave a rare and much-needed look into the lives of these immigrants, but the book would have been much more effective and much more relatable to a larger number of people (could have kept their interest)if it were perhaps a long article, without all of the anecdotal information about the kids and their families.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
W_LaCount More than 1 year ago
I bought this book following my son's freshman orientation in Minnesota. The university staff told us that the book would be required reading for the students and encouraged all of us, parents as well as students, to read the book. I'm glad I did. As the other reviewers will tell you, this is a story about three soccoer teams (sorted by age group) made up of refugees from many war torn countries in Europe, Asia, and Africa and the work of a female Jordanian coach doing extraordinary (though she might not consider it so) work with the help of people she comes in contact with to raise the spirits, expectations, and hopes of the boys who stick it out in her soccer and tutoring program. But the story isn't just about the team or the coach or soccer. It's also about America, becoming American, and the politics of an evolving American community affected by immigration. The story made me think alot about how we Americans treat each other, what life must have been like for our ancestors as they came to this new land and as later immigrants joined them in later generations. This book was well worth reading and perhaps even re-reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago