×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Overton Window
     

The Overton Window

3.6 699
by Glenn Beck
 

See All Formats & Editions

A plan to destroy America, a hundred years in the making, is about to be unleashed . . . can it be stopped?

There is a powerful technique called the Overton Window that can shape our lives, our laws, and our future. It works by manipulating public perception so that ideas previously thought of as radical begin to seem acceptable over time. Move the Window and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Overton Window 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 691 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lifes of the politics and lifes of all sides of the groups involved this truly gives an inside account of many views on many sides of the issues. with glenn becks research and background there will be many charaters that will come to life and most likly be very familer to real people in the political arena. great gift idea for a friend or family member.
steffiebaby140 More than 1 year ago
First, let me say this review is about the BOOK, not the person who wrote it. Whatever your or my feelings about him simply don't matter to this review. So I continue, I really loved this book. It was not the most exquisitely written piece but it is very easy to read and keeps your mind on the plot at all times. Several of the characters came across as a bit one-dimensional, but all of the main characters were very well developed and interesting individuals. The plot combines enough fiction to keep the reader glued to the page, and contains enough fact to give this book a huge scare factor. Though this may be the author's first attempt at writing a thriller, I was impressed with it and will no doubt reread it again soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fictional read, but how could you go wrong with Beck?? As usual, he possesses the insight to see through today's political bull. Think he's crazy? Okay, you are entitled to your own opinion...don't buy his book. But either way please keep in mind that this is not meant to be some kind of exact prediction of America's future, just a warning, eloquently worded, to bring the danger to your attention. Keeping your head in the sand won't help our nation any. Try widening your horizons a bit, you might find that he wasn't so crazy after all.
TrevorScott More than 1 year ago
I don't know how Glenn Beck finds time to write anything, considering his radio and TV shows. This is a good first thriller. I've written more than a dozen thrillers myself, and I wish I had his marketing folks working for me. Beck is the man!
pmhgroup More than 1 year ago
This book will get negatively reviewed by the media. They won't read it, but they will hate it. If they took the time to actually read the book, they still might not like the book, but they could not slam the writing. This book is well worth the read.
OpheliasFlowers More than 1 year ago
Honestly, I enjoyed this book. Putting politics aside, I found it engaging enough that I read it in one sitting. Yes, there were plot holes, continuity issues, and the characters could not have been flatter (there is one attempt at a dynamic character, but it is predictable and not very skillfully done), but the action ensured that I didn't put the book down until it was finished. Within the first three chapters I was reminded of the "Left Behind" Series (which was also fraught with writing issues, but nonetheless held my interest). The right director could use this as the raw material for a great movie. Overall, a fun way to pass a summer afternoon.
Talion More than 1 year ago
I found The Overton Window to have a very good plot and interesting characters. While I did in fact enjoy the book, I believe there could have been much more information to make the book that much more enjoyable. This being the first fictional book written by Glen Beck in this venue, shows promise for someone just getting into this style of fiction. It was easy reading and I enjoyed the lack of foul language and sex that many authors believe they need to write a story. It was interesting to see a story woven with today's politics. There could have been so much more added to this book and it's a shame to let so much detail go to waist, but if you're not into a heavy read and just want a good story, then this is a great book to be sure. I would like to see a sequel and with much more information added, 321 pages is just a bit short for this kind of book in my opinion. Very well written though with great potential!
MongoBrooks More than 1 year ago
Bigger fan of Glenn Beck the TV / radio personality than this book. While a fairly compelling plot, at times it moves along fairly slowly. I think my biggest problem with it is that at some points it oozes cheesiness and camp. The plug for Beck's "Faith, Hope, Charity" campaign is an example of this, as well as the protagonist's romantic interest. It is well researched and strongly supported throughout. Beck has a fine team working for him, without a doubt. While I do espouse the beliefs of limiting government and keeping an eye open to its misbehavior and incompetence, and generally I agree with the author on numerous subjects of discourse, I think that novel-writing is not necessarily Beck's forte. He does better by letting facts speak for themselves... in cases such as these, truth does a better job than fiction at revealing how crazy we've let our country get.
PepperPot More than 1 year ago
This book is worth a read. Glenn Beck attempts to answer the question - "What the Heck is going on with our Country?" He cites documents and references for people to investigate for themselves. Most intriguing is his use of Kipling's poem, "Gods of the CopyBook Headings" as a main pivot in his plot. The Synopsis is this - America, you need to wake up and pay attention to what is going on. Don't believe what people tell you, but check it out for yourself. As your rights are being eroded and the nation's mindset being changed, we could find ourselves enslaved because there is a group of people who believe the world will be a much better place if they were in charge and the little people were their subjects. They are determined to destroy the USA to bring that about and they don't care what they have to do to make it happen. What you see in the headlines can be far from the truth and each person must begin to question - Is this news report trying to manipulate me in to acting in a certain way? The only way to bring about change is if citizens inform themselves on the issues and make sure they get out and vote in elections. Definitely a read to make you think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found Glenn's latest book to be both thrilling and informative. His characters are strong. He could have spent more time on developing the plot, but it is intended to be an easy and quick read to appeal to the masses. Worth the read.
dlkirk03 More than 1 year ago
If you like Glen's other books you should like this one. People who get all up in arms about Beck havening crazy conspiracy ideas won't like this book. It is Beck, it reads like it is from Beck. Sometimes the facts (which are mostly true) seem to take away from the story (kind of seems like the Beck show interrupts the book from time to time.) I think Beck was a little too eager to put real facts in sometimes, instead of telling a story. The entire book is well thought out with a good plot. It will keep you wanting to know more after the first few chapters or so. I like Beck and I like the book. However, I would not recommend it to friends that are not in to politics (even though I think they need to read it most.)
AlabamaButterfly More than 1 year ago
I purchased this in unabridged audiobook since I am a truck driver. I enjoyed the atmosphere created by the speaker. It gave a feeling of being in the action. As for the story itself, it was well done for a first attempt in thriller writing. Regardless of your opinion of Glenn Beck, it's a good book to escape into. No, he's not Clive Cussler or James Patterson. But look back at their first offerings and you see the growth in those authors given time and trial-by-error. Strictly from the view of an avid reader of most anything, I enjoyed the book. It held my interest, made me curious, and got me thinking. All things a good story should do. There will be those who hate it because of who the author is and his political views but if they honestly read the book, it's not all bad.
cage47 More than 1 year ago
The first two chapters promised an exciting political thriller. The rest of the book negated that promise. Beck had an exciting idea but wasn't able to develop characters and keep the plot moving.
scooter67 More than 1 year ago
Even though it is based in fiction, there are many points or scenarios that play out every day in our society. Like Beck said "Don't just trust me, do the research yourself". Probably not as good as a Tom Clancy thriller, but a good shot for an author who publishes mostly non-fiction material. The plot keeps you coming back for more, my only wish is that they would have continued the story a little bit further. This was probably on purpose to put out another book which I will gladly read.
OurHistoryOurHeritage More than 1 year ago
It was hard for me to book this book down! It is full of great NON-FICTION "easter eggs" buried in the text. The storyline is very familiar, and I felt the main characters represent two factions of our nation. Beck did a wonderful job putting this together!
TexSean More than 1 year ago
This and Patriot are both really good books.. I was surprised how good this was. good "fiction-but based on some facts" book where the usa is on a path to economic destruction..
KrissyKiernan More than 1 year ago
Not what I expected but it was pretty good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed Glenn Becks first fiction novel. I hope there is a sequel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Unfortunately, I fear most if this is true.
BuddyFF More than 1 year ago
The plot was great and I liked the interplay of the characters. The story was compelling and I wanted to read more. This was a great book and I hope to see more from this author.
Rickster2010 More than 1 year ago
I just finished this book and found it to be an interesting work of "faction". (fact and fiction) This book points out that some things that we would NOT normally tolerate, like being groped at the airport, is now acceptable due to fear from another 9/11 type of attack and the hope of safety that the government hopes to provide. After a major event or catastrophe, we give up certain liberties to remain safe. Read this book with an open mind and consider where we are now vs. what we would have put up with from the government 30 or 40 years ago. Consider these words from one of our founding fathers: Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety - Ben Franklin
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It really gets you thinking. I could hardly wait to find out what happened next.
Sam_Benade More than 1 year ago
Okay, first of all I want it to be clear, i'm not a liberal blogger who never even read the book who just wants to give Glenn Beck bad ratings because I don't like him. The truth is that I usually love Glenn Becks books, I watch his show every day and listen to his radio while at work. I very much like Glenn Beck. This is why I have to be very very honest, this book truly to the strongest use of the word sucks. I'm not kidding, it simply sucks. You sit there reading getting exited thinking "Okay, here comes the good part" then it just gets written off as nothing, then at the end of the book your sitting there confused like "what just happened??" Glenn Beck always says the truth will set you free, that's why I can't lie just because I like Glenn Beck. This book truly sucks. For a great political thriller, you should read Brad Thor.
Trollogre More than 1 year ago
Generally good, but the ending was a let down.
Silas_Dogood More than 1 year ago
I am big fan of Glenn Beck's non-fiction titles due to their excellent information and witty humor woven throughout. I was really looking forward to reading this book as I thought it would be a thrilling look into Glenn's paranoid (but too often correct) foresight into American society. After reading the book I was disappointed, perhaps because I had such high expectations, with the overall plot and the with the character development. That being said, THE OVERTON WINDOW reminded me (from a literary standpoint) of LIONS OF LUCERNE by Brad Thor - the idea was good but it was obviously his first plunge into the fictional thriller genre. Brad Thor's books dramatically improved after the first two and now Thor is one of my favorite fictional writers. I know that Glenn has a sequel planned for next year. I fully expect see the same improvements that I saw with Thor's books.