×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Owl Babies
  • Alternative view 1 of Owl Babies
  • Alternative view 2 of Owl Babies
     

Owl Babies

4.4 27
by Martin Waddell, Patrick Benson (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Never has the plight of young ones who miss their mother been so simply told or so beautifully rendered as in this tale of three baby owls who awaken one night to find their mother gone. Where is she? When will she be back? What scary things move in the night around them? Stunning illustrations in full color.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Owl Babies 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
onlygranny More than 1 year ago
I bought this for my 2 year old granddaughter. She loved the baby owl and chimed in when the littlest owl said I want my mommy!. She too understands that Mommy will be back when she goes to work or on vacation. This book is a good reinforcement of that fact.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 2.5 year old loves it, and it has prompted role playing of me taking her to pretend school and then swooping in to get her, a recommended activity from a friend. Very recommended, and conversation started to help prepare for preschool
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story and images! Parents and children alike love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very sweet story with some good repetition. My 12 month old son enjoys it and likes looking at the pictures of the owls.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a favorite with children. It is an excellent read-aloud for shared reading. Children love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dadoftwo25 More than 1 year ago
Three little owls do the best they can together until mom sows up again. Makes for an anxious time before the happy ending. A really adorable story and realistic character emotions. Your kids will enjoy this one.
snugthejoiner More than 1 year ago
My son loves the story and gets very excited when owl mother returns. The illustrations are beautiful. A very nice piece of work.
KMCmommy More than 1 year ago
Sarah,Percy and Bill are adorable. This book is best when you give each baby its own voice. This book is perfect for the under five crowd who can relate to Bill "I want my Mommy!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OsaES More than 1 year ago
It is normal for children to feel scared when a parent/adult is not around. This is true when a child starts preschool. They are always wondering if mommy/daddy wil return. This book helps a child learn how 3 baby owls feell when their mommy leaves the nest in search for food. A wonderful book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I gave this book to my nephew a few years ago and it quickly became a favorite of his. I now buy this book for any new moms as a shower gift.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Waddell is a great thinker and writer. 'OWL BABIES' taught us about writing. We learned not to put rising tension first and to have a soft beginning. Mr. Benson helped us draw far away and close up pictures. The little owlet Bill is a cutie. He sticks together with his brother and sister.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of my Kindergartners' favourite books each year! They will all chime in with little Bill, 'I want my mommy!' This is sa sweet book that is sure to please ANY person, big or small.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of my daughter's favorite books! (She's 3 1/2 years old) She absolutely loves the different expressions on the owls' faces and truly relates to the story. Funnily enough, As I pause between each page to let her take in the illustrations, she has taken to verbally reassuring the smallest owl, Bill, that his mother will in fact come back and that his sister and brother will protect him in the meantime. Reading this book to her always sets the stage for a wonderful bonding moment between us. From the mother's perspective, the story is simple, heartwarming, and it's a quick read (nice plus when I'm trying to speed up bedtime!!!).
Guest More than 1 year ago
Here is a simple story about 3 baby owls worried about their mother. When they wake up to find her gone, Sarah and Percy have lots of questions. Where did she go? Will she come back? Bill has only one thing to say, 'I want my mommy,' and he says it over and over again. My 2-year-old son can relate to the story so well, and to hear him repeat Bill's words with such conviction is endearing. We first encountered Baby Owls on 'Onemorestory.com,' and I have since bought the book and even a baby owl to go with. I'm planning to give a copy to his daycare for newbies who are wondering if their mothers are coming back.