×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pacific Crucible: War at Sea in the Pacific, 1941
     

Pacific Crucible: War at Sea in the Pacific, 1941

4.0 25
by Ian W. Toll
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Both a serious work of history . . . and a marvelously readable dramatic narrative.”—San Francisco ChronicleOn the first Sunday in December 1941, an armada of Japanese warplanes appeared suddenly over Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, and devastated the U.S. Pacific Fleet. Six months later, in a sea fight north of the tiny atoll of Midway, four Japanese

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pacific Crucible 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderfully told story with viewpoints from both sides. It was fascinating to have the Japanese view as well as the American. Having served in the Navy I was surprised by the Japanese approach to damage control and the lack of plan and training. I read 6 Frigates, enjoyed it, Mr Toll has been added to my list of favorite story tellers along with David McCullough, Shelby Foote, Stephen Ambrose and Jean Edward Smith
sainthelenaislandman More than 1 year ago
A spectacular book by one of America's finest naval historians.  This beautifully written and meticulously researched history of the run-up to WWII from both sides of the Pacific is thrilling and extraordinarily educational.  A must read.
Rob0NY More than 1 year ago
Before I get to the content, the nook version is TERRIBLE if you are reading on the ap. Instead of foot notes, there is hot linked text. WHile it's easy to avoid clicking by accident  on an actual nook, I read most of the book on the nook ap and was constantly being vaulted into the end notes. Total hassle and the ap even froze up on occasion. Rotten UX. But.... The book is totally worth the trouble. Toll does an outstanding job taking you through strategy and the key personalities on each side and then diving right into the action with riveting detail.  The result is both highly informative and a page turner.  Definitely gave me a great feel for what was already somewhat familiar ground as well as raised some new ideas. I strongly recommend the content and Toll is to be commended for an amazing job.
rickr2d2 More than 1 year ago
This writer's eloquence on the Pacific War in WWII is the equivalent of Shelby Foote's writing on the Civil War. The book reads like a novel and gives an enormous amount of info on the critical first two years of the war. Any true understanding of the respective cultures should start with this book. It clearly and cogently explains the planning as well as the environment that the US and Japan worked in to create the the course of events that culminated with Pearl Harbor and Midway. A terrific read.
Niz More than 1 year ago
This is a very well written and engaging story of the early years of the Pacific Campaign. Ian Toll's story telling is comparable to Stephen Ambrose and David McCullough, two of my favorite story tellers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable but Conquering Tide better read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Same rules, same vote stuff. Just change date and topic. Thetheme is to write one diary entry, has to be funny.
In-Quest More than 1 year ago
The author covers Pearl Harbor, December 7 1941 through the Battle of Midway, June 4-7 1942. As the books title indicates this six month period was a severe, searching test or trial for the US Navy in the Pacific. We took a lot of punishment but we handed out some to. The Japanese tested our metal and found out we were not going away like they had hoped. Well done Navy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book provides an excellent account of the political and military actions and strategy from both the Allied and Japanese prospective. It points out how blunders and brilliant maneuvers on both sides eventually effected the final outcome of the war.
PDBentz More than 1 year ago
I found Pacific Crucible an informative and well paced read. While there are numerous books regarding individual aspects of the battles from Pearl Harbor through Midway, this book provides a great overall look at the first crucial days of the Second World War in the Pacific. Toll provides enough background information to allow the reader to feel well informed on events from both sides of the conflict.
JohnMcLellan More than 1 year ago
A must read to understand the WWII Pacific war.