×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pack of Lies (Paranormal Scene Investigations Series #2)
     

Pack of Lies (Paranormal Scene Investigations Series #2)

4.3 27
by Laura Anne Gilman
 

See All Formats & Editions

My name is Bonita Torres, and eight months ago I was an unemployed college graduate without a plan. Now I'm an investigator with the Private Unaffiliated Paranormal Investigations team of New York. Pretty awesome, right?

The Cosa Nostradamus, the magical community, isn't quick to give up its secrets, though. Not even to fellow members. Not even when it's in their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pack of Lies (Paranormal Scene Investigations Series #2) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In New York City, a mob of humans assaults the mortal companion to a ki-rin. When the dust settles, all the attackers are either dead or near death. Bonita Torres of Private Unaffiliated Paranormal Investigations (PUPI) leads the inquiry into the deadly incident at a time when anger is high between the humans and the fatae and the Casa Nostradamus members refuse to talk to cops. At the same that Bonnie and her team scrutinize the deadly scene, she and her boss Benjamin Venec struggle to control their attraction for one another. Each wants the other, but both understand a non professional relationship between a superior and a direct reporting individual is trouble. The second Paranormal Scene Investigations urban fantasy (see Hard Magic) is a terrific "Electric Apple" police procedural that comes out of the gate at full speed and never decelerates as the PUPI team struggles with the magical community closing its ranks to outsiders. The Gilman's Gotham comes across as real due to little things like Pink Floyd while Bonnie is a super lead investigator and her teammates on the case (Pietr and Sharon) add depth. Readers will enjoy astute Bonnie's first person account as she has come a long way since her college days, which she will remind readers were seemingly just yesterday. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Readingisvital More than 1 year ago
I found it interesting enough to want the sequels. Para-Police protocol with a little sexual tension...pretty Good!
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
I like this series. This is the second book in this series but the third one I have read in the last two days. PUPI has now been open for 8 months. They are all working well together as a team. Still a lot of people don't want them around afraid of what they might find. Ian is excited about a case they just recieved. It is new and the first one they actually get to the scene before the evidence gets smudged. Unlucky for Bonnie she is the best of gleaning and remembering everything so she gets to the scene. It was a attempted rape and a murder of the rapest and friend was hurt. The Ki-rin was the girl's companion and he killed and injured the attackers. Bonnie has a hard time gathering the evidence for once and she keeps looking at males different for awhile. The case should be a closed one easy but then the wounded said she provoked him. A case of she said/he said. The Ki-rin is a member of the fae and a rare cousin of the unicorn. He cannot be around someone who is not vigin and just by being attacked loses her companion. Their is already tension between the fae and the humans talents and the mood is getting worse and worse. They need to find out who is telling the truth and who is lying to them. Bonnie and one of the Big Dogs Ben Venec are reading each other more. they are comming in with words not just the images the others get. If one of them gets their shields down a little the other is drawn in. Their is a stronger attraction building up that neither wants. I really like the interaction of all the characters it seems real to me. It is a clean easy read that keeps your attention. I will read more from Laura Anne Gilman
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago