×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Paddle-to-the-Sea
     

Paddle-to-the-Sea

4.3 8
by Holling C. Holling
 

See All Formats & Editions


A young Indian boy carves a little canoe with a figure inside and names him Paddle-to-the-Sea. Paddle's journey, in text and pictures, through the Great Lakes to the Atlantic Ocean provides an excellent geographic and historical picture of the region.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Paddle-to-the-sea 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book years ago (1982) and remember it as if it were yesterday. In third grade (1974) I had the priviledge of viewing the film in school - and both book and film are fantastic! One describes and one shows, the scenic areas of Canada, the five Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence River and into the Atlantic Ocean. Both book and film also describe and show all of the adventures along the way. A great tale that should be revived!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book in every respect. Wonderful story, great pics!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My five year old son was introduced to this book over the summer. I got it for him and we've read it several times. We decided to have it be his birthday present for friends this year since we liked it so much! I love the geographical nature of the books especially since we live in Wisconsin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a book that I read as a child and 62 years later, have never forgotten. So far, my children and grandchildren have read this book and have loved it as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Have you ever wanted to learn about the world and other people beyond where you live? In the book Paddle-to-the Sea, a Caldecott Honor Book in 1942 that is just what a young boy from Nipigon country in the Canadian wilderness yearned to do, but he knows he must stay home and help his father. So, he carved a twelve inch canoe with a wooden model of an Indian inside it and calls it Paddle-to-the-Sea then frees it to undertake a journey to the Atlantic Ocean in his place. Traveling through all five Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence River, Paddle-to-the-Sea four years later reaches . . . . . Get ready for a great adventure and learn what happens to Paddle-to-the Sea along the way and see all the historical pictures and the natural of science wrapped up in this unforgettable story read it for yourself. Children will enjoy hearing and reading about the exciting adventures and enjoy the colorful and detailed illustrations. The author and illustrator Holling C. Holling was born in Jackson County, Michigan in 1900. For many years, Holling C. Holling dedicated much of his time and interest making books for children. His wife Lucille Webster Holling works with him on many of the illustrations in his books. Other books you might enjoy by this author: Seabird, Tree in the trail and Minn of the Mississippi. Holling C. Holling, Paddle to the Sea, Boston, Massachusetts: Houghton Mifflin Co, 1969
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story is about a young Indian boy who lives in Nipigon and how he carved a toy boat from wood. The toy boat he names 'Paddle' is about to flow down Lake Superior after a great ice storm melts. The boy knows that even though he has to stay at home, Paddle will have great adventures. The illustrations show different scenery as Paddle travels down the river. This story is very colorful and has detailed illustrations. Children will enjoy hearing and reading about the exciting adventures that Paddle has, and will enjoy the different pictures that show the places he has gone.