×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Palace of Impossible Dreams
     

The Palace of Impossible Dreams

4.3 26
by Jennifer Fallon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Eternity is a long time to be watching over your shoulder...

The Tide is turning, and the Immortals who have walked the world for eons are once again coming into their powers and stepping from obscure boltholes to take control once more.

The very mortal lady Arkady knows of their plans but holds out little hope of being able to stop them. Branded and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Palace of Impossible Dreams (Tide Lords Series #3) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exceptionally well written by an exceptional writer. The concepts being explored in this series are intriguing. This is not for people who just want to read a shoot 'em up escapism type of book. Enjoyable if you like to think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the second series by Jennifer Fallon that I have found myself pulled into her writing. Lion of senet book series was the one that started me hunting for her as one of my favorite authors, shes a close second to R.A Salvatore as my favorite. she caputures you with the characters an their predicaments an how they manage to pull through....wether its a long plot to be exposed or just a love longing for another. I love it all hence why she another author to my list!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kanoots More than 1 year ago
** spoiler alert ** This series is terrible! I was sucked in for the first two books by reviews that lauded the merits of the series, only to be disappointed each time. By that point, I felt I had already spent enough time in the story to warrant finishing it, and so here I find myself at the end of book 3. I purchased the first 3 as ebooks, but decided I would not spend another dime on the Tide Lords and borrowed The Chaos Crystal from my public library instead. My beef with The Palace of Impossible Dreams is the same as the other two books: no real conflict and flimsy characters. I don't care, for example, for either Declan or Cayal and wonder what the attraction is for Arkady. She suddenly realizes in this book that she has loved Declan since they were children, but the development of the plot doesn't actually support this. That is to say that at no point in time before this revelation did I ever believe she was interested at all in Declan. The only character I still have some esteem for is Warlock. And maybe Stellan. Note (3/2/12): I guess, by what happens at the end of the series, that none of it really mattered, anyway, so why invest a whole lot in the character development.
cgirl98 More than 1 year ago
This installment was a bit slower than the last 2, as it is just a buildup to the final installment. So it works as a bridge to the next book. But even with all that said, there was still plenty that happened to keep you interested and to keep the story moving. Keeping track of all the different motivations and plots can get confusing, but it stays interesting. Can't wait for the last book. By the looks of thing...I should not expect a "happy ending."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WarmWaters More than 1 year ago
Wow, I read this book in 2 days. It was great! The different situations that Arkady gets herself into amazes me, but she fights her way through each and every one of them. The tension between Cayal, our Immortal Prince, and Declan Hawkes, the beloved Spy Master, is humorous at times as they both long for Arkady's love. However, I think Cayal's love is more lust than love; not quite sure yet. Anyhoo, this book is great with lots of adventure as the immortals are seeking to basically rule the world, twists and turns as new secrets are revealed, and of course the hope for a love to suceed between an immortal and a mortal. Loves it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was an amazing addition to the series. If you loved the first two books then you will not be disappointed with this one. I even went as far as ordering The Palace of Impossible Dreams and The Chaos Crystal from Australia.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Intrepid but obstinate Arkady remains married to Stellan, the heir to the Kingdom of Glaeba, but their relationship for practical purposes is in name only. She focuses on one issue; destroying the immortal nasty Tide Lords, who have one objective: rule the world. Arkady's strongest ally in her attempt to end the Tide Lords constant intrigue is spymaster Declan Hawkes; though his prime motive for supporting her is not altruistic but instead he admires and desires Arkady. Ergo he tries one failed attempt after another to bring down the Tide Lords. At the same time, Declan stubbornly makes his tries to win Arkady by defeating her enemy; ironically his rival for his lady is not her husband but Tide Lord Cayal who courts Arkady while also considering suicide if an immortal can kill himself; as he sees her as his only anchor to live. Inside the Time Lord haven, their human-beast slaves the Crasii plot revolt from their masters as they want freedom. The third Tide Lords fantasy (see The Immortal Prince) is an engaging entry although as with The Gods of Amyrantha the overarching theme does not move forward very much. The story line is loaded with subplots in which the best ones involve the big power control schemes of the three prime groups competing for dominance. Some fluff events especially in the harem feel more of a detractor, but the fascination remains with comparing the mortals, the human-beasts and the immortals as they share so much in common yet continue as enemies because each wants to own the world. Fans of the saga will enjoy the return to the Fallon mythos. Harriet Klausner