×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Paladins of Shannara: Allanon's Quest (Short Story)
     

Paladins of Shannara: Allanon's Quest (Short Story)

4.1 48
by Terry Brooks
 
The legendary hero Allanon takes center stage in the first of three gripping new stand-alone eBook short stories set in the world of the fantasy-fiction phenomenon that is Shannara—by beloved New York Times bestselling author Terry Brooks.
 
The history is thus: The once-Druid Brona, seduced by his pursuit of dark magic, was forever

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Paladins of Shannara: Allanon's Quest (Short Story) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
The_Speakman More than 1 year ago
The Druid Allanon has long been one of my favorite fantasy characters. The original Shannara novels -- The Sword of Shannara, The Elfstones of Shannara: 2 (The Sword of Shannara), and The Wishsong of Shannara: 3 (The Sword of Shannara) -- are some of the best epic fantasy available and it is largely due to Allanon. He is dark, powerful, and mysterious, a great combination that has led many fans like myself wanting to know more. Terry Brooks has finally given us more. ALLANON'S QUEST takes place before The Sword of Shannara, when Allanon has the same responsibilities but he's a bit younger -- a bit untried. I loved the twists that Terry threw into the story, and getting an entire short story from Allanon's Point of View was fantastic. Anyone who loves the original trilogy and the Druid in particular will want to read this! And at $.99, it is completely worth it and much more. It even makes me want to re-read the original trilogy! I have no doubt I won't be the only one who wants to do that after reading this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well writen and leaves you wanting more! I recommend reading this if you want to know what happens prior to the start of the sword of shannara and if you have not read it start here makes me want to reread the classic! Probably will ! Allanon is by far my favorite druid and I know the rest of you fantasy readers will love him. Great job Terry keep the stories coming!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Allanon is a great character in the World of Shannara. He is a powerful druid that has the weight of the world on his shoulders. This short story is a prequel to Terry's first novel the Sword of Shannara and the author never disappoints. If you haven't read Terry Brooks Shannara novels you are missing out on wonderful stories set in a magical world. I highly recommend this and all of Terry's novels. Great stuff!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im bias. Theres nothing of his i dont like. The kingdom series is his best!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This short story is awesome. Is a great addition to the Shannara timeline, if you like Terry Brooks then you will love this.
ric52 More than 1 year ago
The search for Shea Ohmsford by Allanon was given additional depth by Terry Brooks in the form of a short story, and I found it enjoyable, and easily read in one sitting. It reminds me of recollections by past generations of the reading habits of a different time, when their reading material, especially fictions, was given in small doses in the various newpapers and periodicals of the time. It was prudent to supply only a chapter at a time to the public, and keep them coming back for more of a popular author. The short story helped me read something new and fresh by Terry Brooks, and inform me of a new series being written presently by him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great short prelude to Sword of Shannara. Typical Terry Brooks. Great story from a great storyteller.
judywarn More than 1 year ago
Nice short story,my first intro to Terry Brooks
uulemnts More than 1 year ago
A lot of fun. Makes a great prologue to The Sword of Shannara.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is great i always had questions about things and this answered them i had to re read sword after words thank you for all your great trips i have taken in yout books i recommend this to anyone who follows the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JohnnyREB1977 More than 1 year ago
After years away from Terry Brook's Shannara series, I decided recently to rebuy the original trilogy for my Nook and reread them. Much to my surprise I found a new trilogy of short stories by Mr. Brooks - The Paladins of Shannara. I did some quick research into what each was about and bought them as well, reading each short story alongside the original three books. The first short story, Allanon's Quest, is both the best of the three and the worst. The good portion of the story lies in the fact that even after so many years away I easily fell back into the world of Shannara and its mythos. I eagerly traveled alongside the dark Druid as he searched for the object of his Quest. I could not help smiling the entire time as I turned the pages on my Nook, waiting to see what happened next. The major issue of the story lies with continuity as it applies to Sword of Shannara. The Skull Bearers, for instance, don't have the same "aura" they held in the original work, and Allanon's ability to detect them is off. Then, there is Shea's mother - alive in Sword and dead in Quest. These things are quite jarring if you're a longtime fan of the original book and a believer in maintaining accuracy in the world's history. However, if you can get past those issues, the tale is a fun read.
36frdpk More than 1 year ago
Wish brooks added just a little more to this one just enough to keep it going not enough to sustain a longer series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Makes a nice bit info
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This took me WAY back in time and I will reread the Sword of Shannara series. If you have not read it, buy the bundle! I still have mot in hard backs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have looked at the maps and after reading the books want to travel the way the maps direct to find the land where the Gypsy Morph traveled to find the land where Shannara takes place.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago