×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Pale Blue Eye: A Novel
     

The Pale Blue Eye: A Novel

4.3 33
by Louis Bayard
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the critically acclaimed author of Mr. Timothy comes an ingenious tale of murder and revenge, featuring a retired New York City detective and a young cadet named Edgar Allan Poe.

At West Point Academy in 1830, the calm of an October evening is shattered by the discovery of a young cadet's body swinging from a rope just off the parade grounds. An

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pale Blue Eye 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
KirstyHaining More than 1 year ago
The story is set in 1830 at the fledgling West Point Academy. A body is found desecrated and a retired policeman is called in to investigate discreetly. Edgar Allan Poe is a secondary character in the novel. The mystery solution has been "done" before, but I didn't see it coming and it caught me by surprise - hard for a book to do these days. A pretty good book. I recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Pale Blue Eye is an interesting story, but just too long.The main character development is good, although I am really not a Poe fan. In too much of his work, I really had a hard time understanding what Poe was trying to say. (Perhaps you need to be high while reading Poe to understand much of it, since he was high while he was writing much of it.) The ending of The Pale Blue Eye is certainly interesting; however, while the ending makes sense, there are not enough clues throughout the work to give the reader a real chance to come to that conclusion. I find this type of ending in a mystery less than satisfying. Unless you are a huge Poe fan, I would give The Pale Blue Eye an average rating at best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved it so much I ran out and bought Mr. Timothy as soon as I finished this one. Clever, well-written, and enjoyable up until the last word. Goosebumps, the whole shebang. I am buying it as a Christmas present for the avid readers in my family.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Cleverly written. Engaging characters. Wonderfully vivid imaging and movement that will get you to read this brilliantly written work of literary art in a weekend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The spirit of Edgar Allen Poe must be haunting Louis Bayard in his THE PALE BLUE EYE, or Bayard is some kind of a genius of the literary fiction. If that is not enough, this story pulls, leads, and spirits the 'Reader' through a nail biting mystery in 1830'3 West Point Academy with Cadet Edgar Allen Poe. The writing style oozes Poe. The atmosphere haunts the reader exactly at perfect pitch with the time and place always. The mystery twists at the end like the final turn of the knife blade in a well planned murder. The beat, beat, beat of the 'Tale Tell Heart' and the love of 'Annabelle Lee' should be written 'nevermore', but Louis Bayard breaks the rules, and the 'Reader' is the winner with Bayard's brilliant writing and story telling. THE PALE BLUE EYE is eerily memorizing!! Not to be missed by readers and book groups alike.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the moment I read the first sentence on page one, I was hooked. The story, the writing style, the development of the characters, the pacing --all are outstanding. Other reviewers have called this book 'mesmerizing' and I could not agree more strongly. If you are looking for a book that engages your imagination from the start and holds you in it's grasp until the very last word, then The Pale Blue Eye is for you. I assure that you won't be disappointed. This is truely a great 'read'.
Adaptoid More than 1 year ago
The prose was beautiful and wholly intelligent, the characters well developed and the story rich in detail and rewarding to the end. Highly recommend.
Preserved-Killick More than 1 year ago
Give Bayard great credit - he can craft beautiful worlds out of the past with just a few sticks of imagination. Pale Blue Eye might have dragged just a hair in the middle (might just could have been me) but it rode fast at the end. I'm not entirely sure I completely buy the mother character, and I had to give the ending a bit of time to grow on me, but it was all greatly enjoyable. Looking forward to more from this fine writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed "The Black Tower" and thought it was very good, but after reading "The Pale Blue Eye"....I couldn't put the book down. Two different narratives from two entirely different personalities - Landor and Poe.....the two characters compliment each other - one retired constable and one poet/cadet. The setting at West Point wsa a great creative way to tell the story. The ending? I've been surprised by many endings of novels, but not like this one! Totally unprepared for it!!
Galina More than 1 year ago
Louis Bayard writes unlike any other out there, with his layered character descriptions and ingenious imagination. Plus, in this novel, Poe couldn't be more Poe. An amazing book I'd recommend to anyone.
magggs More than 1 year ago
Bought this book on a whim as I usually dislike mysteries that attempt to clumsily use a known historical personage as their detective, but that was far from the case with here.Poe is a very vivid presence, and quite believable, but it is the disillusioned old man who befriends him who is the main character of the book. The excellent writing makes this stand out as a novel that is independent of the genre and just simply a truly original read. The tone ranges from somber, to macabre to a kind of febrile humor that somehow works without straining the sense of time and place, and the plot is nothing if not tortuous.Definitely a 'tale of the grotesque and the arabesque.' Well worth a read for anyone who has ever worked their way through the works of Edgar Allen Poe, or anyone who's looking for something a little bit different from the usual cookie cutter historical mystery.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel, so expertly written as the narratives of two very different men, Gus Landor and Cadet Edgar Allen Poe, is nothing less than riveting. Victorian murder mysteries are seldom so compelling with an ending both surprising and logical. Gothic excellence. The sentence structure, details and terms of the time are expertly woven. The author certainly gives us a history lesson as well as entertaining the 'Reader'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must say that this book is one of the best I have ever read. This novel puts other top sellers of today to shame. The writing is lyrical and flows with pure beauty. It manages to bring the characters to life with a depth that is very rare and tell a story that is suspenseful with twists and turns that will have your head spinning while bringing the beauty of the written word to life at the same time. I have been a huge fan of Mr. Bayard since his early works like FOOL'S ERRAND. There has always been something special about his work - his intelligence, his true love of his characters and the display of the obvious good heart he possesses. This is a complex author who is immensely gifted. THE PALE BLUE EYE takes place in the 1800's and the writing is equal to that of the true classics. Do yourself a favor and read this special book. Something so intelligent and entertaining is hard to come by. I thank Louis Bayard for enriching my life and giving me another world to escape to for a while. I honestly believe this book is one that will always be a part of me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The spirit of Edgar Allen Poe must be haunting Louis Bayard in his THE PALE BLUE EYE, or Bayard is some kind of a genius of the literary fiction. If that is not enough, this story pulls, leads, and spirits the 'Reader' through a nail biting mystery in 1830'3 West Point Academy with Cadet Edgar Allen Poe. The writing style oozes Poe. The atmosphere haunts the reader exactly at perfect pitch with the time and place always. The mystery twists at the end like the final turn of the knife blade in a well planned murder. The beat, beat, beat of the 'Tale Tell Heart' and the love of 'Annabelle Lee' should be written 'nevermore', but Louis Bayard breaks the rules, and the 'Reader' is the winner with Bayard's brilliant writing and story telling. THE PALE BLUE EYE is eerily memorizing!! Not to be missed by readers and book groups alike.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My fav book by this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
theokester More than 1 year ago
Let me preface this by saying that I'm not an avid reader of mystery novels in their pure "detective" form. I've read most of Sherlock Holmes. I've also read numerous "juvenile" mysteries over time (Hardy Boys and the like). I've also read numerous short stories including the "first" detective story, "The Murders in the Rue Morgue" by E.A.Poe. That said, I'm a big fan of a good mystery that really puzzles and gets you pondering. I've also always been a good fan of Poe and the themes and tones in his stories. So, on reading the "back of the book" blurb for "The Pale Blue Eye", I knew I had to read it. I would heartily recommend this book to any fan of a good mystery or of late romantic or gothic era literature from the 18th and 19th centuries. The descriptions and characterizations are exquisitely presented through wonderful use of language. The intrigue and details of the mystery are very entertaining and engrossing and make for an immersive read. My one caution would be to those of a more squeemish nature. The climactic confrontation scene is a bit gruesome. I physically shuddered at one of the descriptions. It wasn't much more gruesome than something from a prime time CSI or Law & Order show, but it was definitely a bit over the top considering the rest of the novel. Still, if you're a fan of Poe, mysteries, or early American literature, I think you'll enjoy this dark mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago